We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Le case del merlo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Primavera Dell'Etna(Zafferana Etnea)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airone Wellness Hotel(Zafferana Etnea)
US$112
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Esperia Palace(Zafferana Etnea)
US$150
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etna Hotel(Giarre)
US$100
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Palace Hotel(Mascali)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Hotel Oasi(Fondachello)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Terra dei Sogni(Fiumefreddo di Sicilia)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fondachello Village(Fondachello)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
37
32
10
10
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
32
10
10
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsshadowhoneycoastdishesangelataorminacheesehostseaetnawine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

we stayed here for most of our stay in sicily,but very much doubt we will ever return.

When we arrived, we wer welcomed with a delicious dinner and the waitress, forgot her name, a very young girl, was lovely, she really took care of us, but this is wer all the hospitality stopped, and we never met this lovely lady again during our stay.

however the problems then started, at dinner we wer asked to hand over our passports, which would be returned in the morning, this was an utter lie! the passports remained at the owner and wer not even handed back on our departure - we had to turn back for these.

Our room, was minute, compared to others staying with us, it had an exact space for just a double bed and a wardrobe, this was linked to another bedroom, we had no air conditioning and neither a fan or television. (a fan was later brought half through our stay after complaining a few times), one morning all rooms had no warm water, our shower drain was blocked, and upon departure when i was checking the room, the amount of dust/fluff under the bed along with a pouch left behind by another guest behind the bedside table.

then came breakfast time, ham, cheese, bread, milk, cereal, eggs, occasionally an egg tart, honey, fruit & powdered orange juice. the problem was that either the place was on full occupancy, but whenever something finished at the breakfast table this was never replenished, we would get this to the attention of the staff, it would eventually get replaced after a good 10-15min, and still if something else finishes it once again remains empty! this really was ridiculous.

Anyways, you can get my gist from above...

it really is a great pity, if only the staff are more attentive, rooms thoroughly cleaned,
and owner a little bit more welcoming...

sorry for this review, but we all wer really disappointed as we do expect basic standards.

Room Tip: ask for one of the larger room with wifi as not all have wifi
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPantò P, Proprietario at Agriturismo Le case del merlo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Gentle lord,
I'm sorry you had all these disadvantages, but all our rooms have ventilation, and the breakfast is very cautious, when something is missing, it is immediately stocked.
The girl who serves at the tables is present every night, so I do not understand why you have not seen her anymore !!!
The only tourist who forgot the documents, and had to go back to them, was a lord who only stayed one night !!!
So I think this review is false.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

we stayed 2 nights in this magnificent stay, 20 minutes from the chaos of the coast and 2à minutes from the top of the Etna. impeccable, fresh rooms, magnificent breakfasts with out of the oven cakes, huge swimming pool to admire the coast and the Etna while beating the heat. We also dined here and enjoyed the home made treats. a perfect hideaway and the owner is simply adorable

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuditta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely quietly situated agriturismo in the shadow of Etna. Views down to Taormina and the coast are stunning, as are the views behind to Etna.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool was great, not heated but fine for summer and plenty of loungers around the deck.
Food was all very nice though no choice of dishes, other than at breakfast time when was a help yourself set-up. Wine from their vineyard very good and reasonably priced.
At €78 per night plus €22 for a 3 course meal we thought it represented good value.
You can also book a half day tour of Etna via Angela, the host, for €55 which we enjoyed and included collection and return to the accommodation.
We only had one hiccup where your passports are taken on arrival and meant to be returned on payment & checkout so can easily be forgotten about, luckily we remembered before leaving but some other guests were half way to their next stop when the host realised she will had their passports. Only another slight annoyance was an abundance of dogs loitering at meal times. They were well behaved but effectively begging for food.
Some pictures from around the agriturismo below.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lora_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This agriturismo is in a calm location, that's how we like it. You can still enjoy the peace and quiet here. The views around the agriturismo are great.
It's ideally situated to visit Mount Etna.
Our room was spacious and had a nice terrace to spend the warm evenings.
The swimmingpool is the perfect place to refresh and relax and has beautiful open views of the surrounding countryside.
We were treated very friendly and hospitable by everyone working there.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saraI22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Agriturismo at its best. An idyllic setting in the shadow of Mount Etna with stunning views of Sant'Alfio below and Taormina in the distance. On a clear day you can see the Calabrian coast.
Isolated, so a car and sat nav essential (a confident driver to cope with the numerous hairpin bends up the mountain also helps...), but well worth the drive.
Angela is the perfect host (aided by the wonderful Tina and Nunzia) and you can be assured of a typically warm and friendly Sicilian welcome and nothing will be too much trouble during your stay. Rooms are spacious, clean and very well maintained. The freshwater pool was a few yards from our room and mostly deserted - adding to the feel that we had a villa to ourselves ( but without a 0 on the end of the bill).
There is no choice at dinner but that's all part of the experience and the food is stupendous. Four courses (primo is always sublime home-made fresh pasta) with wine at a fraction of restaurant prices.
Do visit the excellent little shop in Milo where the young couple who run it will insist you sample the superb local produce. Don't leave without the balsamic onions and some ridiculously cheap local wine in two litre plastic bottles!
Real Sicily and highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank phili_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews