We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average meal”
Review of Zinzi Restaurant

Zinzi Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu. Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Four of us ate here tonight and we all agreed our meal was average. It was ok. It nothing special and we have had better food. There was lots of choice for starters, probably too many options, and not that many main options! The curry was ok, but again tasted like a curry sauce from a jar, rather than a proper curry. The burgers were ok but not very hot and fell apart easily. We appreciate these were homemade and hence maybe didn’t bind together as well. The waiters were very pleasant however, and were working hard.

Thank ejmills6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Group Operations at Zinzi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear ejmills6,
I would like to thank you for your review regarding your dinner at Zinzi. I have personally had a meeting with our Head Chef regarding your chosen dish and we are appreciative of your input.
Regards
Julie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Having read so many sparkling reviews of Zinzi, we were disappointed to find that the food was simply ordinary - it was not bad, just unmemorable and we will not be returning there.

Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Group Operations at Zinzi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Simon G,
Thank you for your review regarding your dining experience at Zinzi. It is of the utmost importance that we receive feedback from our guests in order to improve on our offering.
Regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were staying at Tsala as part of a 3 week trip to South Africa and had booked to eat at Zinzi to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived the lights had all been turned off for an hour in support of an Earth eco movement in Australia! We consequently couldn't see the menu properly or our food when it arrived. Our starters were ok although nothing special. I had chosen the vegetarian risotto as a main course and was unable to eat it as it was so oily. When the lights did come on I could see that there was a big puddle of oil that the rice was sitting in. My husband had the chicken curry which was just ok. Altogether although the setting is beautiful and the service was good we left very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hilaryseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Communications Manager at Zinzi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear hilaryseymour,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Zinzi Restaurant experience - we greatly appreciate your feedback and concerns. Our Group Operations Manager will be responding to you directly via your personal email address.

Kind regards,
The Zinzi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

When I booked, I specifically said we'd like to spend a half hour having a drink on the patio before going in for dinner.
Fifteen minutes into said drink on the patio, and drink barely touched, we were ushered to our table. From then on we were hurried, as though there was a race on you get rid of us. We had barely finished our starter when the main arrived. Truly the most bizarre service. When it came to paying, however, everything slowed down.
We have eaten at Zinzi previously and never experienced anything like this.
The food is very good. The setting is lovely. Wine by the glass is regrettably limited. Service is, well, just odd.

Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Communications Manager at Zinzi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear kalgran,

Thank you for your review of Zinzi Restaurant - we greatly appreciate your concerns and feedback.
Our Group Operations Manager will be responding to you directly via your personal email address.

Kind regards,
The Zinzi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Good food in a very nice setting. Attentive staff and plenty of choice on the menu. They do "small plates" so you could do a tapaz style meal if you prefer, rather than the traditional three courses.

Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Communications Manager at Zinzi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear SherbutFizz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal at Zinzi Restaurant. Our Small Plates are a recent introduction to our Zinzi offering and have been very popular. We hope to welcome you back to dine with us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Zinzi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zinzi Restaurant also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Zinzi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing