We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Edenbrook Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lairds Lodge Country Estate(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$855
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$53
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden's Touch(Harkerville)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
524
51
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
51
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerplunge poolour honeymoongarden routetree houseforest canopyfloor to ceiling windowsliving roomon stiltsvervet monkeyscomplimentary portbreakfast was delicioushuge bathroomthe wood burning stoveplettenberg bayfrom start to finishout of this world
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

WOW WOW WOW. The two nights my husband and I stayed at Tsala on our honeymoon were a definite splurge as the stay here cost more than our return flights from London! However, it truly was a special experience and was such a treat during our honeymoon.

The room was enormous, with a separate lounge area (with complimentary mini bar), huge bathroom, balcony to the front and sun terrace with plunge pool (too cold to use which was a shame) to the rear. The views were spectacular as you really are right up in the tree tops. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had – the selection of fruits, juices, breads, cereals and pastries was excellent and high quality and then there was also the option to have hot breakfast cooked to order.

The service throughout our stay was what truly sets Tsala apart. Nothing was too much to ask. On our first night we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Zinzi and were each brought a glass of Amarula after our meal to toast our recent wedding. I hadn’t heard of it before so asked the waitress what it was and made a note. After dinner on our second night (also delicious, over at Hunter's Lodge) we returned to our room to find candles alight throughout the room. When we walked into the bathroom there were candles all around the bath and a bottle of Amarula with two glasses by the side of it. I was speechless. It is a level of service I don’t think I'll ever experience again.

If your budget allows, I would highly recommend Tsala.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEW135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

It is always so wonderful for us that we get to share in the making of special memories during people's honeymoons and we are delighted that you choose to make Tsala part of this special time in your lives. We hope that you will be back to celebrate some anniversaries with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a road trip of the garden route and it was the highlight of the trip! The most stunning location, beautiful rooms and lovely staff!

We were greeted with a glass of homemade iced tea which tasted amazing then shown to our room which was gorgeous, comfortable with incredible views!

We are at their restaurant and the food was delicious, breakfast was also lovely.

The only thing I wish we changed was to stay longer!

They added so many sweet touches with a bottle of bubbly in our room when we arrived and a candle light bath with glasses of amarula waiting for us after dinner.

If your spending any time in the area I highly recommend a night or longer here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank c0lleenmarieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

So glad that we could help make your honeymoon special and we look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights at Tsala - on our arrival, the staff were incredibly welcoming and well informed about the local attractions.

The room was absolutely stunning - large, comfortable, impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. There was a fully stocked complimentary minibar (& ground coffee which was a plus!), and as it was my birthday, the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of champagne and a gift, which made it all the more special.
The plunge pool was a little cold (to be expected for the time of year!) but still a treat nonetheless, as was the outdoor shower. We had wonderful views from the balcony, and enjoyed a lovely meal at Zinzi's restaurant. Breakfast was equally as delicious and there were a whole host of options available.

There was plenty to see locally - we visited Robberg nature reserve where there are a number of beautiful nature trails - we did 'the Point' trail which took you around the perimeter of the reserve, where the landscapes were stunning and we were fortunate enough to see plenty of wildlife (there are hundreds of cape fur seals along the coastline).

Would definitely recommend Tsala!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Debbie K we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be back to celebrate more special birthdays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

If you go to South Africa you have to stay here 3 nights in one of the most amazing places I have stayed. Your private lodge is fabulous with private plunge pool. Great staff great food. Don't leave your door open or the monkeys will in it's some experience to see them up close. There is an elephant sanctuary across the road well worth a visit .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Srgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thanks so much for your review! We are so delighted that your stay was special and we look forward to having you back to celebrate many wedding anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing place to stay.. unusual and exotic. We were a family of 6 with 4 older children. They had the most beautiful treehouse sleeping 4 with kitchen and wonderful views. Ours slept two and was equally exquisite- Very sleek, sophisticated and all mod cons. Attention to detail was second to none including lovely handwritten quotes at the end of the day. Karin and Zeb provided valuable information about restaurants and places to go and the rest of the staff were superb. We are pretty extensively travelled and the whole family agreed that the breakfast was one of the best we’ve ever had. Didn’t see the monkeys but heard they were cheeky anyway! The gardens were extensive and extremely well maintained - Went to the elephant sanctuary, monkey world and bird world.. all worth visiting. An usual and fabulous place to stay. Thanks everyone at Tsala!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Tourbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you Tourbutton! It is always extra special for us when we have a family with us that we can share the wonders of Tsala with! We hope it is not the last time we see you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews