We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranmore Lodge Hotel(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Coach House Hotel(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
McDonaghs B&B(Athenry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
37
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic getawayhouse is beautifulbreakfast was excellentperfect locationbarbarapropertyhostscerealwedding
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during a trip to Ireland. The owner, Barbara, was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and quiet and the farm is a short walk to the centre of town. Breakfast was terrific -- if you stay, make sure to have the white pudding. You won't feel hungry till late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a great start to our first trip to Ireland. It is within easy walking distance to the castle and church. There is a small river that runs through the property and a man made fish pond. The property also has the ruins of an ancient circle fort. Be sure to bring some hiking boots or something waterproof to get through the grass pastures. The room had a nice view overlooking the farm, a comfortable bed, and good shower. The breakfast area and lounge were decorated with antiques and family heirlooms. A peat moss fire warmed the common rooms. The breakfast was well appointed with classic Irish breakfast choices. There was also delicious homemade currant jam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apademak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Caheroyan was an unexpected delight as, at the time of booking, I didn't appreciate quite what a wonderful place it is. The location is just a short walk from the centre of Athenry, and the house and grounds are an absolute delight. Our hostess was very welcoming and helpful, and the rooms were probibly the most spacious and best decorated of all the B&Bs we stayed in in Ireland. As we were cycling from one end of Ireland to the other, we only stayed one night, but all wished we could have stayed longer. At the end of the trip, the breakfast here was unanimously voted the best we'd had, both in terms of quality of ingrediants and quantity. Barbara makes excellent jam, jars of which we would happily have purchased.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerantflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This B&B is just amazing. The place is wonderful. Our room was very tidy and with a balcony. It is very quiet and you could walk quite easily into town.
I especially liked the fact that everthing was enviromental frienldy (e.g. solar panels) and that the family uses local products. I stayed in a cpuple of B&Bs in ireland and the UK, but the breakfast was the best I have ever eaten. Our host was very friendly and open too and it was lovely talking to her.
If you are ever coming to Ireland and want to stay in a "special" B&B please go there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Beautiful house with wonderful flowers outside and lovely farm land surrounding it. The rooms are modern, spacious and tastefully decorated. The beds are comfortable and the peace and quite of the countryside affords a good nights sleep. It is a short walk from Athenry train station and the town of Athenry and has plenty of car parking spaces. The owner is most friendly and cooks up a fabulous breakfast to personal order. Definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Clare158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews