We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, peaceful, warm hosts, 10 minutes from Galway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caheroyan House and Farm
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Barbara and John are lovely, warm, and experienced hosts who take pride in this magnificent manor home and it's surrounding property. Our room was large and comfortable, bathroom was again,large, very clean. Barbara & John were gracious hosts and very eager to help with directions, suggestions, and comments! This home is a short 10 minute train ride into Galway, which is a must for those who stop here.
The house is situated well off the road but marked by a sign and driveway. Breakfast was excellent, and was served quickly and efficiently. While there was free WiFi, the only room in the house where you can access the service is in the dining room or the parlor. The house is a huge stone structure which apparently interferes with the signal. However, you can definitely get free wifi and are free to spend as much time as you wish in the parlor or dining room with your internet devices! A great place for a relaxing stopover on your travels!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maidstonedesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016

From the minute we arrived to Athenry we experienced the incredible amount of kindness and welcoming vibe.

John was so kind to pick us up from the train station upon our arrival and even went through the trouble of taking us to Galway when our stay in the farm was over.

We stayed a week in the Clarin Cottage, a 2-bedroom cottage. we would of preferred a larger one as we were 4 adults and the space was a little small but the bigger ones were booked.

The farm is so peaceful and quiet, yet it is located with-in a lively village with direct access to transportation, large supermarkets, and restaurants.

John And Barbara instantly make you feel at home and part of the family, we experienced many activities on the farm and John was so kind to let us with-in and further explain all what was going on.

It is definitely a place that will always stay in our hearts.

Room Tip: wifi is available only in the main house but everyone was always welcome to come in and access it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Barn cottage which was just behind caheroyan house. The land is beautiful and quiet (just what we wanted). They have lovely grounds to walk around and horses and donkeys to feed. Barbara was so nice and was there if we needed anything. The Barn cottage was everything you can expect for a country cottage. Thanks for a lovely week Barbara keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place is amazing! So beautiful and peaceful, it was a great break from the busy city. Barbara and John take great pride in owning this property and this is evident by the way they describe the history of the building and ensure that all of your needs are met during your stay. We stayed for 4 nights and were very comfortable in our spacious room. The breakfast that is served in the morning is delicious, farm fresh ingredients cooked by Barbara herself. Both Barbara and John are very knowledgable about the area and can answer any questions you may have. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SomervilleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

we rented two rooms from the july the 23 2016 thur aug 1 2016 we had one breakfast only three of us of seven that stayed at the home . had too make a appointment for that the two cottages where DIRTY the only word I myself had too clean cobweb down my sister inlaw helped by doing the living room area . the water too the shower was not even worth talking about no pressure at all . this was not my first trip too Ireland and wont be my last it will be my last too this place and also no heat so many things . I will say the owner at the end did not charge us the electric I would have been more then happy too happy too pay if the pictures and the place matched .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sgretza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athenry hotels
1.4 km away
Raheen Woods Hotel
Raheen Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Athenry
415 reviews
0 km away
Caheroyn House
Caheroyn House
#2 of 2 in Athenry
3 reviews
0.8 km away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Athenry
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caheroyan House and Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caheroyan House and Farm

Address: Caheroyan Road, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Athenry
Hotel Class:4 star — Caheroyan House and Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing