We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
McDonaghs B&B(Athenry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
37
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic getawayhouse is beautifulbreakfast was excellentperfect locationbarbarapropertyhostscerealwedding
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

From the minute we arrived to Athenry we experienced the incredible amount of kindness and welcoming vibe.

John was so kind to pick us up from the train station upon our arrival and even went through the trouble of taking us to Galway when our stay in the farm was over.

We stayed a week in the Clarin Cottage, a 2-bedroom cottage. we would of preferred a larger one as we were 4 adults and the space was a little small but the bigger ones were booked.

The farm is so peaceful and quiet, yet it is located with-in a lively village with direct access to transportation, large supermarkets, and restaurants.

John And Barbara instantly make you feel at home and part of the family, we experienced many activities on the farm and John was so kind to let us with-in and further explain all what was going on.

It is definitely a place that will always stay in our hearts.

Room Tip: wifi is available only in the main house but everyone was always welcome to come in and access it
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Barn cottage which was just behind caheroyan house. The land is beautiful and quiet (just what we wanted). They have lovely grounds to walk around and horses and donkeys to feed. Barbara was so nice and was there if we needed anything. The Barn cottage was everything you can expect for a country cottage. Thanks for a lovely week Barbara keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place is amazing! So beautiful and peaceful, it was a great break from the busy city. Barbara and John take great pride in owning this property and this is evident by the way they describe the history of the building and ensure that all of your needs are met during your stay. We stayed for 4 nights and were very comfortable in our spacious room. The breakfast that is served in the morning is delicious, farm fresh ingredients cooked by Barbara herself. Both Barbara and John are very knowledgable about the area and can answer any questions you may have. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SomervilleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

we rented two rooms from the july the 23 2016 thur aug 1 2016 we had one breakfast only three of us of seven that stayed at the home . had too make a appointment for that the two cottages where DIRTY the only word I myself had too clean cobweb down my sister inlaw helped by doing the living room area . the water too the shower was not even worth talking about no pressure at all . this was not my first trip too Ireland and wont be my last it will be my last too this place and also no heat so many things . I will say the owner at the end did not charge us the electric I would have been more then happy too happy too pay if the pictures and the place matched .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sgretza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Barbara and John were so warm! Just took the time to talk to my friend and I about their beautiful property, the farm & animals. The whole property was beautiful. Our "tour guide" was a duck who walked with us down to see the horses, donkeys & cattle. We spent 2 nights with Barbara & John who treated us splendidly! Barbara is an excellent cook! Breakfast was so good. John helped us take out suitcases up and that was really appreciated as well. GO THERE - YOU'LL LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Our "twin" room was very comfortable & clean.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindaaU5337XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews