We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mattf1120...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I could not believe the quality of this cottage. We arrived on a cold evening but were met with a warm and cosy interior which was beautifully designed inside. The Sheep Shack contains everything you could wish for in a holiday cottage, with fully equipped kitchen, log fire, comfortable sofas, TV/DVD/music system, and 2 modernly designed bathrooms. We stayed just 2 nights but were considering calling in sick to work so we could stay longer!
All in all a wonderful cottage, and for a much cheaper price than many other similar places. Cannot find anything to fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail inside - everything you could possibly need was supplied
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75KT
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bags of character, great location”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in a great location for walking Kinder Scout and enjoying the Peaks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave d
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, amazing”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Impressed with the amount of space and layout. The sheep shack has been developed to the highest standard. We stayed over our wedding and even extended our stay. The surrounding area is beautiful with several walks and even bike rides if you're feeling more adventurous. The local town is a short walk away with a few very nice places to eat.

Everything has been thought of, from the teapot to the bbq equipment. There is even a dishwasher, the washing machine, dryer and iron! So if you get soaked on a walk or just decide to stay longer and run out of clean clothes there is no need to worry!

Its the perfect place to get away and relax. We will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general quality of everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellyk198...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable weekend retreat!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at The Sheep Shack with my partner and our 8 month old son.
The property is spacious and modern but at the same time cosy and comfortable. It is well equipped, providing everything you could need for a stay with a real home from home feel.
Fantastic location if you are after a quiet secluded area, a nice base to explore from. Definately follow the directions supplied as SatNav takes you down the wrong road.
The village itself has a few pubs, a small local butchers, a grocery store and a corner shop.
Booking was easy with fab communication from Michael, and a nice welcome too. Would definately recommend for couples and small families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing