We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect peaceful getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Farlands Holiday Cottage is the left-hand wing of the impressive Farlands House.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farlands Holiday Cottage is the left-hand wing of the impressive Farlands House.
Fantastic walking from the door! (Photo taken from Heron's Rock, a 30 min walk.) Kinder Downfall (4-5 hours return) in Summer . . .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Farlands Holiday Cottage is the left-hand wing of the impressive Farlands House.
Fantastic walking from the door! (Photo taken from Heron's Rock, a 30 min walk.)
Kinder Downfall (4-5 hours return) in Summer . . .
. . . and in Winter.
The dining end of the lounge.
Walking from the door . .  putting the world to rights!
Lantern Pike (3 hours return)
Kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, new oven and hob, fridge with freezer compart.
Bathroom with shower (downstairs).
The cottage bell!
We have a smallholding with chickens . . . an orchard . . .
. . . turkeys (before Christmas!) . . .
. . . and a large veg garden. Tours available.
Kinder Reservoir from Kinder Downfall.
Bedroom 1 - double bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsWils
Dorking
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I, plus some friends, have just returned from a wonderful stay at Farland's cottage. This place is ideal if you are looking to get away from it all and be amongst some of the most stunning scenery imaginable.
The cottage is well equipped - we stayed in to cook on NYE and found everything we needed in the kitchen. The beds are comfortable and the cottage is warm and cosy with plenty of firewood supplied by James to keep us going (along with eggs from his chickens!). There was also plenty of hot water and a powerful shower which was very much needed after our trek up to Kinder Scout (thanks both :-) )
It's a beautiful place and James & Sarah are the perfect hosts. To see what James has achieved in his garden and to see his eco friendly approach to running the cottage is inspirational and we shall definitely be returning soon!
There is plenty of information provided in advance (and even more when you arrive) in terms of places to eat, walks (guided by James or not) and other attractions. We ate at a local pub on the first night (a 10 minute car journey and great food at the Lamb) - but the place is so peaceful that we were reluctant to venture too far from the peace and comfort of our immediate surroundings.
Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Kerr2...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend of splendid rural isolation”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

With the grandparents looking after our children, my wife and I had the chance to spend a few days walking in the Dark Peak. The cottage was an excellent base for this, being so close to Kinder Reservoir and the surrounding hills. James made us feel very welcome, and the coal fire soon had the cottage nice and toasty. The cottage had everything we needed at the end of a long day in the hills (i.e a hot bath and a comfortable bed!) we will come again hopefully and bring the children next time as the second bedroom is plenty big enough for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tvs2012
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was a very pleasant short stay for a wedding in Upper House. It is well provisioned (dvds, kitchen utensils, games, books, guides) and comfortable. The location is good for access to good walks. About a 25 minute walk into town, or a short drive. Twin and double beds a good option. Owner extremely friendly and helpful. Nice grounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of significant windows, but to be expected in nature of property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronFa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for a Peak District weekend”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We wanted somewhere near Glossop for a weekend away from London. Farlands Cottage ticked all the boxes of picturesque surroundings, on the edge of the village, but yet tucked quietly away, with only the birds to disturb us.

James gave us heaps of information before we arrived, essential stuff like directions & how to get a phone signal, but also that we could pre-order eggs, fresh from his chickens! The information provided in the cottage is like a mini-tourist office for Hayfield and the Peak, with everything from walking routes, to the best pub meals and cake shops - of which we sampled and agreed with!

On arrival James was on hand to conduct a guide around the cottage (and the eggs), helpfully pointing out that it would be much colder than London and we'd probably be best to leave the heating on, even if we made use of the basket of logs for the open-fire. He was right!

Having ruled out alternative accomodation on the grounds of reports of uncomfortable beds, I can confidently say that, even after a 5-hour hike to Kinder Falls and back, you'll sleep well here. We found everything we needed in the kitchen for a great Sunday breakfast - with a fresh supply of eggs and our boys loved visiting the hens and playing football on the substantial lawn.

Even though the cottage is next door to the owners we had complete privacy and both James & Sarah were very friendly, hospitable and more than tolerant of all our boys' questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space & easy access to the footpaths, without needing to drive
Liked least: Towels could have been softer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckywoma...
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Farlands Cottage is at the end of a long and beautiful lane, up from the pretty village of Hayfield, and it sits right at the foot of Kinder Scout, near the Kinder reservoir. Now, we are not Walkers (with a capital W) but have been utterly beguiled by the on-the-doorstep nature of the hill walks you can do from this property. It is so lovely not to have to get into a car, but wander out and up, and the next thing you know you can't see any sign of human habitation, just the wildness and beauty of the northern Peaks. James, the owner, was hugely helpful in suggesting routes for our wanderings. The cottage itself, one end of James' impressive house, is set in an amphitheatre of mixed woodland, so the birdsong is just lovely in the mornings. It is comfortably furnished, nothing fancy, but all that you need. It can be a bit dark inside, so we loved having a wood fire burning (yes, in August!) and James supplies you amply with fuel. The nearby pub is great for food too. All in all, a really nice place to stay, and the location is pretty unbeatable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pillows!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing