We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dhow that never sails”

Imani Dhow Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bamburi
Price range: US$6 - US$53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Our Imani Dhow is a so-called Zanzibar Jahazi that was built over 45 years ago. In the past it weighed about 90 tons and on its way between Zanzibar, Dar-es-Saalam, Tanja and Mombasa it transported diverse products like cotton or corn and many more. Under the skilled hands of her former Bajuni Crew of 16 sailors it became a just beautiful sailing ship. Imani means "trust" and our dhow paid this trust back during her active years and survived all storms and dangers. Today the Imani Dhow is home to our great kitchen crew who will enthuse you with culinary highlights. Here you will enjoy award-winning à la carte fish dishes, fine seafood in diverse variations and also international cuisine. A warm welcome aboard!
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Venue - A static traditional zanzibari jahazi dhow that has been placed in the middle of Severin Sea Lodge's garden.

Menu - just about a handful more items than the adjacent Safari Bar (also in the middle of Severin Sea Lodge's garden), with the exception of a few more seafood mains.

Overall - nice concept, good food, reasonable pricing and you can leave the antiemetics behind as seasickness is definitely not on the menu :)

Thank REA-Eastafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Imani Dhow Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for visiting our Imani Dhow and your Kind Review.
We would be happy to welcome you again on board!

Captain & Crew of Imani Dhow at Severin Sea Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

They put a smile on my face! I love to eat (it shows). The food was fresh, the waiters were friendly, the atmosphere was homely with the succulent aroma of surprises to come all over!! Their seafood should be your first choice- loved, loved the calamari!! A must do!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruwy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

You should dine in this old original dhow. Lovely surroundings and great food. Their seafood is great and I'd recommend you to try the Kenyan red wine - i was surprised how good it was.

Thank Familien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Imani Dhow Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Vedstedfamilien,

Thanks for choosing our Imani Dhow for your dinner. We are pleased that you liked the fresh seafood and the Kenyan wine.

Did you know that this wine comes from Naivasha, in the heart of Africa’s Great Rift Valley? Lying along the equator, the grapes enjoy the warmth of the invigorating sun. We are sure you could taste this in the nice flavor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on board!

James Owiti
Resident Manager Severin Sea Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

All the time i'm in mombasa i have dinner in Imani Restaurant, and for me is always the best. Excellent food and great atmosphere.. Chef Christine and all the staff are very kind and nice with all the guest. Thanks all and i hope to see all of you soon.

Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Restaurant Team at Imani Dhow Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Rosa,

Thanks a lot for your kind review about our Imani Dhow restaurant, located in the garden of our Severin Sea Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on board!

Your Imani Dhow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Is this worth 5k? Check the photo I've attached and decide for yourself. This is a seafood platter for 1. 2 fat nice prawns, calamari which was a joke, a piece of fish (nice) and a lobster. Just grilled, no flavour of garlic butter as claimed. The platter for 2 looked better, at 8k, judging by the photos the couple having it were taking. Also, the business of having to wear trousers is a bit dated... there were 2 other tables, doubt anyone would have been insulted.. had to wear a kikoi. Anyway, other seafood dishes might well be good. No crabs available at the time of visit. Veg samosas were ok, had spinach

Thank BlackM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imani Dhow Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Imani Dhow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing