We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Zoo Melaka
from US$152.57
More Info
from US$144.88
More Info
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
14
44
59
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
44
59
25
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visiting this zoo on 27th August after checked online the ticket price and operating hour. After 2 hours driving, reached the main entrance of the zoo saw the ticket price is higher than official website price.

Check with the staff, they explained the price is include tax (why they never mentioned on website?). Unfortunately, due to Hari Raya, the night safari is not operating, but the ticket price remain the same. Since i've been driving hours to come, so i bought the ticket.

From the moment i entering the zoo till exit, there were lots of mosquito, please be prepared.

Many animals were sleeping and many cages are empty. Couldn't find hippopotamus, rhinoceros, bears... the most i seem are deers. It took less than 1 hour to walk and visit all the animals, including taking photos. I saw few zoo keeper smoking in the park, I thought zoo should be a smoking-free zone.

I wouldn't advise you visiting this zoo until all the improvement and upgrades are done.

If you insist to visit, prepare antipruritic!!

Date of experience: July 2014
6  Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A respite for school holiday kids from the city; some exotic animals imported from neighboring countries and Africa. Activity areas are limited but adequate. Ample parking for visitors from outstation

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Choonfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ticket charged RM15 exclude 6% GST & 12.5% surcharge is not worth it. Most of the empty cages on the grounds in repair. There is nothing interesting. I advise visitors to visit to the National Zoo or the Zoo Taiping because it's worth the money. At Zoo Malacca just tired of walking but the animals exhibited mediocre. Most see there are cow, monkey, deer & tiger only. No snakes, bird or interesting animal there. Useless.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Irmahasnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last visit was more than 20 years ago. Remembered it as even better than Zoo Negara then. Went to Zoo Negara 2 years ago and was pleasantly surprised at how well the national zoo was kept then. But Sadly, can't say the same about this zoo. There was a huge crowd at the entrance and massive jam at the parking entrance as cars were lining up. Chose to park opposite the road and walked over via the underpass. Entered at 10 am. Price of ticket was 15 for adults and 5 for kids without taxes. They allowed water bottles but not food and they checked the bags on entrance. My girl was looking forward to the bird show but the show was not on. No notice on why it is not on as there were no announcements. This despite it being peak season and school holidays and a working Monday.

The whole place appeared the same like 20 years ago... And it really looked the age, fences and cages were rotted and rusted. My girl learnt that there were animals called "closed for maintenance". Trees were also not properly trimmed. We were almost hit by falling branches right in the middle of the road near the amphitheatre where the bird show was supposed to be.

Funnily, there were scores of zookeepers and staff, more concerned of asking for your money to take photographs together with the python than taking care of the zoo. Many areas were just the same sad story. The great tiger had a big building declaring it's presence but the whole building was so run down and smelly with bat droppings on the stairs and the rooftop. The rooftop is a great vantage point to see the big cats but was so dirty and messy that it is such a waste. The fact that there were zoo staff selling ice cream and drinks within the same building but is oblivious of the sad state of the building that they were using tells the story of this zoo. I get the feeling that no one cared. As long as the ice cream business is good, the place can rot and decay.

The map said there was a place for elephant feeding but again there was none. My girl was obviously disappointed although there were other animals to keep her occupied. The playground at the entrance was also run down, and dangerous with cracked plastic and rusted and broken parts. The mammalian house and the reptile house were in ruins and not opened, just like many of the other enclosures.

Really disappointed as the zoo has great potential, a great place, extremely strategic location and environment with plenty of opportunities to make it into one of the better ones around. They certainly cannot complain about lack of visitors as when we left at 12 +noon, there were still many more waiting to enter and the queue at the ticket counter was few hundred meters long.

Date of experience: June 2014
3  Thank melakaG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Last visit was more than 20 years ago. Remembered it as even better than Zoo Negara. Went to Zoo Negara 2years ago and was pleasantly surprised at how well the national zoo was kept then. Can't say the same about this zoo. There was a huge crowd and jam at the entrance as cars were lining up. Chose to park opposite the road and walked over via the underpass. Entered at 10 am. Price of ticket was 15 for adults and 5 for kids without taxes. They allowed water bottles but not food and they checked the bags on entrance. My girl was looking forward to the bird show but it was not on. No notice on why it is not shown, no announcements. Even though it is school holidays and a Monday. The whole place appeared the same like 20 years ago... And it really looked the age, fences and cages were rotted and rusted. My girl learnt that there were animals called "closed for maintenance". Trees were also not properly trimmed. We were almost hit by falling branches right in the middle of the road near the amphitheatre where the bird show was supposed to be. Funnily, there were scores of zookeepers and staff, more concerned of asking for your money to take photographs together with the python than taking care of the zoo. Many areas were just the sane sad story. The great tiger had a big building declaring it's presence but the whole building was so smelly with bat droppings on the stairs and the rooftop, supposedly a great vantage point to see the big cat was so dirty and messy that it is such a waste. The fact that there were zoo staff selling icecream and drinks like hot cakes but is oblivious of the sad state of the building that they were using tells the story of this zoo.
The map said there was a place for elephant feeding but again there was none. My girl was obviously disappointed although there were other animals to keep her occupied. The playground at the entrance was also run down, and dangerous with cracked plastic and rusted and broken parts. The mammalian house and the reptile house were in ruins and not opened, just like many of the other enclosures.
Really disappointed as the zoo has great potential, a great place and environment and plenty of opportunities to make it into one of the better ones around. They certainly cannot complain about lack of visitors as when we left at 12 +noon,there were still many more waiting to enter and the queue at the ticket counter was few hundred meters long.

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank MelakaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews