We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and hosts”
Review of Merzie Meadows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merzie Meadows
Ranked #2 of 4 Marden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights either side of our god-daughters wedding which was close by. We were given a great welcome by the hosts and Wilbur, one of the dogs.
Accommodation is lovely, breakfast is lovely, garden and setting lovely. LIttle touches of luxury including flannel, Moulton Brown in the bathroom and iced water at night. The bed seemed a little soft at first but slept wonderfully. Pamela is keen to look after your every need. She was more than helpful when I first enquired, sending me names and numbers of local taxi's so that I could get prices for transport to and from the wedding.
You really are made to feel welcome in their home. We had the suite, which is very spacious. My only surprise was that there are only bath towels provided not bath sheets, which I am used to but a small niggle.
We watched the wildlife running in the garden whilst we had breakfast the last morning. idyllic.
Would definitely stay here again should the need arise - we have friends in the area, so not usually necessary. Would recommend to anyone visiting Kent, lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: House all on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MytripsLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

My mom and I stayed at Merzie Meadows for a couple of nights and used it as a base for exploring the surrounding Kent countryside. Pamela is an absolutely lovely host and completely makes you feel at home. She has 2 bedrooms – ours was very light and airy with gorgeous views out onto the landscape gardens in the back. The bed was very comfortable. If you’re after peace and quiet and fresh air, look no further – you’ll get an excellent night’s sleep here. Modern, newly renovated bathroom with great shower and nice soaps and toiletries. Great breakfast too – super fresh eggs from her own hens! The food is organic and locally sourced.
Pashley Manor Gardens, Scotney Castle, Sissinghurst and Knole are all beautiful places to visit and are within 20-30 min drive away. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality Pamela! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a beautiful garden! What a beautiful house!
Truly relaxing place, so quiet and seems far away from the world. breakfast was delicious and hosts were very helpful and welcoming. The decor of the rooms is really thought through and luxurious - this is one of the places where you feel pampered and taken care off. The room we stayed in - Terrace Suite - really is a suite. With amazing bathroom and proper power shower - pleasure! The only drawback is that the bed faces this amazing swimming pool with beautiful view and obviously you want to have the courtains opened to admire it. However breakfast room is at 90 degrees to that room and if you want to lazy around in bed - better draw curtains down, as the inside of the room can be quite well visible by other guests.
Pamela was an amazing host, you can feel that she loves the place and spends her time making it beautiful for her and other people to enjoy. She recommended also great little pub with really good food. The whole area is very picturesque and worth visiting - that's Kent for you I discivered:). If you need a place away from it all - this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaudiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Merzie Meadows in the Honeysuckle room for three nights towards the end of May 2012. Our room was so beautiful and clean. The garden was idyllic and accessible through sliding doors directly from the bright and spacious room. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and we discovered that the mattress was actually hand made.

Pamela and Rodney were so welcoming and couldn't have been more accommodating hosts. They took great care in ensuring we were happy with everything to do with our stay. It really was refreshing to have such genuine and personal service.

We had our breakfast in a lovely sun room and a wonderful range of options were available. We particularly enjoyed starters of fresh mango smoothie and yogurt with red berries, followed by fabulous Full English cooked breakfast. It is a really peaceful place and a perfect spot for couples and romantic breaks. A really good pub is just 5 - 10 minutes driving distance for dinner. We took full advantage of our National Trust membership as there are many places in the surrounding area to visit.

This was a real country home experience. There was wildlife to see at dusk including bats and an owl swooping across the surrounding fields. My husband loved the view of the night sky due to the lack of light pollution. We'd definitely stay again and will be making a recommendation to our friends. What a wonderful place to stay for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfisher05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was my first return to Kent in 38 years,upon arrival we were greeted by Rodney my wife and I were very tired after many hours of travel we were immediately made very welcome by both our hosts.
The setting for this home is wonderful very peaceful and quite, with picturesque gardens.Our breakfasts were wonderfully cooked fresh every day with a variety of options.We were treated like royalty every thing you would need for a vacation is provided.It was very hard to leave our suit at the end of our stay Rodney & Pamela went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They both work very hard to provide there guest with clean comfortable accommodations.
We will without doubt return to Merzie Meadows.Mary misses her Wilbur.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Merzie Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merzie Meadows

Address: Merzie Meadows Hunton Road, Marden TN12 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Marden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marden
Price Range: RM 464 - RM 491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Merzie Meadows 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merzie Meadows is unique and has its own special charm with conservation areas that draw the most interesting birds into the garden. Whichever room has been chosen both have lovely views over the grounds and garden and offer a good deal of peace and privacy being contained in separate wings of the house. Convenient for London, ideal for longer stays, recommended in Alastair Sawdays "Special Places to Stay" British Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing