We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailall sortspamelabedluxurywildlifebathroom
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My mom and I stayed at Merzie Meadows for a couple of nights and used it as a base for exploring the surrounding Kent countryside. Pamela is an absolutely lovely host and completely makes you feel at home. She has 2 bedrooms – ours was very light and airy with gorgeous views out onto the landscape gardens in the back. The bed was very comfortable. If you’re after peace and quiet and fresh air, look no further – you’ll get an excellent night’s sleep here. Modern, newly renovated bathroom with great shower and nice soaps and toiletries. Great breakfast too – super fresh eggs from her own hens! The food is organic and locally sourced.
Pashley Manor Gardens, Scotney Castle, Sissinghurst and Knole are all beautiful places to visit and are within 20-30 min drive away. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality Pamela! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a beautiful garden! What a beautiful house!
Truly relaxing place, so quiet and seems far away from the world. breakfast was delicious and hosts were very helpful and welcoming. The decor of the rooms is really thought through and luxurious - this is one of the places where you feel pampered and taken care off. The room we stayed in - Terrace Suite - really is a suite. With amazing bathroom and proper power shower - pleasure! The only drawback is that the bed faces this amazing swimming pool with beautiful view and obviously you want to have the courtains opened to admire it. However breakfast room is at 90 degrees to that room and if you want to lazy around in bed - better draw curtains down, as the inside of the room can be quite well visible by other guests.
Pamela was an amazing host, you can feel that she loves the place and spends her time making it beautiful for her and other people to enjoy. She recommended also great little pub with really good food. The whole area is very picturesque and worth visiting - that's Kent for you I discivered:). If you need a place away from it all - this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaudiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Merzie Meadows in the Honeysuckle room for three nights towards the end of May 2012. Our room was so beautiful and clean. The garden was idyllic and accessible through sliding doors directly from the bright and spacious room. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and we discovered that the mattress was actually hand made.

Pamela and Rodney were so welcoming and couldn't have been more accommodating hosts. They took great care in ensuring we were happy with everything to do with our stay. It really was refreshing to have such genuine and personal service.

We had our breakfast in a lovely sun room and a wonderful range of options were available. We particularly enjoyed starters of fresh mango smoothie and yogurt with red berries, followed by fabulous Full English cooked breakfast. It is a really peaceful place and a perfect spot for couples and romantic breaks. A really good pub is just 5 - 10 minutes driving distance for dinner. We took full advantage of our National Trust membership as there are many places in the surrounding area to visit.

This was a real country home experience. There was wildlife to see at dusk including bats and an owl swooping across the surrounding fields. My husband loved the view of the night sky due to the lack of light pollution. We'd definitely stay again and will be making a recommendation to our friends. What a wonderful place to stay for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfisher05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was my first return to Kent in 38 years,upon arrival we were greeted by Rodney my wife and I were very tired after many hours of travel we were immediately made very welcome by both our hosts.
The setting for this home is wonderful very peaceful and quite, with picturesque gardens.Our breakfasts were wonderfully cooked fresh every day with a variety of options.We were treated like royalty every thing you would need for a vacation is provided.It was very hard to leave our suit at the end of our stay Rodney & Pamela went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They both work very hard to provide there guest with clean comfortable accommodations.
We will without doubt return to Merzie Meadows.Mary misses her Wilbur.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The suite, garden and location are indeed very nice and comfortable.
But after having read the previous reviews,and the friendly email we received on booking, we perhaps expected something a bit more personal.
On arrival Pamela greeted us kindly, remarked that we must be tired after our long journey, asked us immediately to move the car and then rushed us off to our room, explaining all details about light switches, closing the curtains,etc.and immediately asked us all sorts of questions about what we wanted for our breakfast, menu in hand.
I suggested I would tell her shortly, because we still had the luggage in the car,we were tired, needed to use the bathroom and were dying for a cup of tea. Besides I needed other glasses to read the menu. She said she would read it out for me, and continued.
Perhaps she was just trying to be kind, but we felt a bit rushed.
Perhaps also because we had experienced a different reception at all other B&Bs we stayed at and that it was our last B&B, the most expensive one by far 110 for the 1 night, and the only one we were not offered a cup of tea first, let alone with something nice to go with it.
Furthermore check in time after 5 also seemed very late.
And then the double bed had a slight dent in it. Not too bad yet, but enough to make it less comfortable.

To end on a positive note, Pamela had booked us into a nice restaurant and breakfast was fresh and nice.

Room Tip: The garden room is a suite and very private.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews