We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nothing to be excited about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing to be excited about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The room is typical size Tokyo hotel room. Definately need to upgrade from the standard room to deluxe if you have slight claustrophobia. The room is just similar to any standard budget hotel room and the rate is not not considered a budget hotel room. The hotel isn't that close to the JR station and u still need to roam a little to find the hotel. It's roughly 5 mintues walk from the hotel from door to the JR station entrance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    2,101
    358
    57
    27
See reviews for
864
1,797
537
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently spent 10 nights in this hotel, as a base for exploring Tokyo and were very happy with it. It is very easily accessible from the Shinjuku Station (Southern Terrace exit) even if you have luggage with you.

The room was a reasonable size and everything was clean (as is the standard for Japanese hotels). We had a twin room with king-single size beds. The room had internet access and there was a small bar fridge, which was very handy to keep some breakfast supplies in. There is a basic room service menu and an Italian hotel and a bar on site. We didn't make use of the breakfast service in the restaurant as we found they finished too early for us (last order at 9.30 am). I think this is due to the hotel being primarily a business one, but after being out sight-seeing for up to ten hours per day, we found it hard to be ready for breakfast at that time.

The staff were very helpful and courteous and they allowed us to store our luggage for the afternoon after checking out. My only complaint, which is a very minor one, is that the bath towels were paper-thin, so it was hard to recycle them for the next day. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again, keeping in mind the location as depending on the purpose of traveling to Tokyo, some areas seemed to be more easily accessible from Tokyo station.

Room Tip: I would get the room with the king single size beds (not the regular single beds), if choosing a twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Sunroute is one of those places that everyone on TA loves, and if you cruise through the reviews, you can see one after another extolling its virtues (great location, clean rooms, good rates...), including one from me from a couple of years ago.

I stayed on a brief work trip layover last month, was a little let down on the second visit. Since I was by myself and only there 2 nights, took one of the small, least expensive rooms. Wow, small room! OK, it's Tokyo, but the room was so small I was challenged to function in it, and that's being by myself! Opening any bag required moving at least three things out of the way to clear a space, packing was kind of like human tetris. Book one of the small rooms at your own risk.

I also thought the hotel seemed kind of, I don't know, cheap this time. Didn't let me check in early, didn't even look to see if rooms were available. No plug adaptors available, you have to buy one. Room seemed a little more worn out than last time (though to be fair -- still spotlessly clean).

Would still recommend -- the location across the street from Shinjuku Station can't be beat and the price is still pretty good for Tokyo.

Tip - if you're flying into Tokyo, get the N'Ex / Suica card at the airport -- gives you R/T express train to the airport (faster / cheaper than cab) plus a highly discounted transit pass, a great deal. And plan ahead on how to get to the hotel from the station, or else you WILL get lost (South Terrace or South exit are best if coming from JR).

Room Tip: Beware the smallest rooms, they are *really* small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The location of this hotel can't be faulted - right by a metro station, a minute from Shinjuku station, smack in the middle of the Blade Runner-esque Shinjuku district... There is a convenience store directly opposite to get supplys, plenty of restaurants in the vacinity and lots of shops if that's your thing.

The hotel itself is pleasant and clean with welcoming and friendly staff. My room was barely big enough to contain the double bed in it, but that's pretty standard in Tokyo, and it was made up for by having a toilet which had more crazy features than you could possibly need!

In summary, if you want good value for money in a great location, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We decided to stay in this hotel because of its excellent location near subway and rail transit and department stores. This was our first hotel stay in Tokyo so we can't compare it with others. It is a well kept modern hotel with helpful, friendly staff and good on-site Italian restaurant. There is an excellent varied Japanese and American buffet breakfast. Very small standard queen room required adapting to it. We had a very quiet room with a good view from 14th floor. Wireless internet in lobby didn't always work. They tend to attract a young adult clientele. We would return to this hotel but try to get a bigger room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price range (per night): RM544 - RM980
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing