We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,349)
Filter reviews
2,349 results
Traveller rating
1,189
981
150
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
981
150
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchen minute walk the sofa bed hot plate marunouchi line shinjuku gyoen national garden serviced apartment laundry room subway station main shinjuku good size japanese hotels stayed here for nights quiet area family mart spoke good english lots of restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 2,349 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We're from New Zealand, after reading reviews about the size of Japanese accommodation, we were plesantly surprised how spacious the apartment was, only the bathroom was Japanese sized with heated toilet/washlet (an electronic toilet seat that uses a water cleansing system, like a bidet but hands free). We were travelling with another couple and managed to get apartments next to each other. There were plenty of cupboard storage, excellent lighting and plenty of it, power outlets that are easily accessible without moving furniture. Bathrobes and slippers were provided including shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and toothbrushes. Daily housekeeping to change bedding and towels including tea towels. If you accidentally leave your bathrobe out it will be changed as well. Small kitchenette with microwave, fridge with mini freezer, cooking hob, cutlery and dishes, pots and pans. Friendly front desk staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. There is a coin-operated laundry on site. It's only a 10 minute walk to Shinjuku. The nearest subway is 500 metres, the Shinjuku-gyoemmae station on the Marunouchi line. A real bonus was free wifi. The hotel is very secure, to access your floor you need to use your room card key in the lifts, the same key is used to operate the power in the room.
I would have given it five stars but the head board, the shelves above the basin where you would put toiletries and the bedside lights were quite dusty, the room could do with a thorough clean between guests.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jezebellenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This is our first time staying at Citadines Shinjuku because it has a kitchen, it’s Shinjuku location, and a great price for the 3 of us sharing same room. We booked very early, about 11 months before arrival and got a great rate. About CAD$290 a night all service charge and taxes included for 3 adults without breakfast.

The room was large enough for 3 adults with a king bed that was absolutely comfortable on the form side with an European duvet. Crisp linen and everything smelling fresh and clean. Our adult son slept on the sofa bed with 2 extra mattress toppers and duvet which he didn’t seem to find too uncomfortable.

The kitchen with a bar fridge, one stove top, kettle, toaster, and microwave came in so handy for making breakfast or nuking up bento boxes. There were 3 of everything from plates to wine glasses along with dish soap and rags given.

The air conditioning is fantastic as it can provide both AC or heat and was very quiet.there was also enough lighting g and outlets for charging our devices. There was a tub along with shower and the Toto toilet with its washlet like bidet and heated toilet seat are a plus.

Despite some people criticizing the location, we actually loved its location and here is why:
1. 2 minute walk to 7/11 convenience store that sells fantastic meals, hot croquettes, desserts, and coffees that is excellent for 100 yen or 150yen for a large. The ATM machine also worked well without any problems using our Canadian bank card. The food quality of their meals are good and great selection.

2. 3 minute walk to a Lawson’s 100 where almost everything is 100 yen before 8% tax. Here, the selection and quality of prepared meals are not as high as 7/11, but buying non meals are great. Small butter 100 yen, jam 100 yen, soba shout 100 yen, eggs and fresh bread 100 yen, chubby European wieners at 284 yen for 8 of them. It is so convenient buying small sized everything here for just 100 yen like salt/pepper, and small bottle of Japanese mayo and wasabi.
There is no need to go to a super market and pay more money for the same items and they only have large portions.

3. 5 minute walk to a very large and new western type super market that has very high quality of cooked meals, cheeses, bakery, meats, and produce, they open at 10am and closes late at 11 pm.

4. 2. minute walk across the hotel to a take out restaurant called ORIGINS that sell many Japanese and Chinese deli items by weight and fresh to make bento boxes at very reasonable prices.

5. many great little restaurants nearby like Yatsunoya chain, little soba joints, and cafes.

6. 10minute walk to the nearest metro station, Shinjuku Gyoemmae, and a 15 mi Ute walk to another station called Shinjuku Sanchome.

7. 20 minute walk to the main Shinjuku Station.

The staff here all speak English and everyone is so helpful and polite.

We used the washer which it automatically includes detergent for 300 yen a wash and the dryer does not dry clothes enough despite putting in 200 yen for one hour. Replacing the dryers with more efficient and more powerful ones would be perfect.

There is a tiny gym with new treadmills but we did t use it because after having walked 6 to 8 hours a day, my feet were already killing me.

There is a flat screen TV with many Chan else but only with limited English channels but there are movie channels in English.

The room is extremely functional with many shelves, closets, and it is designed so that there are many places to put all your amenities.

We love the Citadines Shinjuku and we will certainly return here to this property and we highly recommend it to all those who want a great value and a little kitchen.

Thank you so much for an awesome stay Citadines

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

A hotel with just the basics - including a small lobby. But in a very good location, roughly a 5-minute walk to/from Shinjuku-Gyoemmae subway station. Our room, which included a kitchenette, was very clean. Comfortable beds, and modern décor. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Not much in the way of amenities, but if you need a nice clean comfortable place stay in Tokyo, at a reasonable price, then this is it. (didn't opt for breakfast so no comment on such)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

First thing travellers need to know and accept is that rooms in tokyo unless money is no object, are generally much smaller than usual. Once you get over that fact you cant go wrong with this place. The room was good quality and had everything you needed. The bathroom fantastic with good pressure and cold water...a fact i love. I can waste so much money on bottled water but no need to when can drink straight out of tap. Breakfast was fantastic and we loaded up so much each day there was no time wasted on finding something to eat for lunch. The staff were fantastic and were very kind to us after a long flight. Smokers can have a smoke in the foyer off the street so you dont feel like an outcast. The bed was comfortable and pillows not too bad...a bit soft for my liking though being a side sleeper. The location is perfect for first timers..its a safe area without doubt and golden gai is right behind the hotel ...over 200 small bars..do nt worry perfectly safe and fun to visit. Yes you get your bogans but nothing to worry about in the slightest. Overall good value for money and great location about 10mins max from either the south or east exits so you can easily wheel your bags there...every second person is wheeling a suitcase around it seems!! So many options for drinks or dinner you are spoilt...even kfc and burger king if you really need something familar within a couple hundred meters..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank friedlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Great room, nice kitchen facilities, short walk to the train station (10 minutes) - LOVELY staff, always super helpful, efficient and well mannered. The only thing that let me down here was the bed. Super uncomfortable - otherwise I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lunawitchnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews