We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for elderly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel is very strict on checking in time. We reached earlier than 2pm, was told to come bk at 2pm.
We booked a double room and a triple room.
Rooms are small but have everything you need. They provide shampoo, conditional, body soap, toothbrush etc. coffee, tea and daily bottled water.
Centralized aircon, one room was super cold, the other was super hot. When I called the front desk about the room, they offered to bring a table fan. The chambermaid did not allow us to stay in the room when she’s about to make the room. Asked her if she can come bk later, she said No.
The walking distance is manageable for youngsters but not elderly. Only pro is there’s a airport bus stop in front of the hotel.
Family mart on the first level operates 24hr.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank CTJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear, CTJL

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are sorry to hear that the air conditioning in the room wasn't suited your conditions.
Unfortunately, it is central controlled as you've mentioned earlier.
And some of the guests feel it is a little far from the station to the hotel is true.
Regarding to preparation of the rooms to check in before 2 pm is sometimes very critically strict because of housekeeping situations. It really depends on the room sales situation a day before. Again, we apologize that we were not able to provide the room before 2 pm.

The housekeeper said that she won't accept your request without considering at all is such an embarrassed thing to know. We will investigate the case here and aim to improve the services in the future as well.
Your comment will help us to reconsider how we're supposed do the services to our guests. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences here with us. We hope you will come back someday and stay with us soon.

All the best to you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Room - we stayed in a twin room on the 24th floor. Neat, clean and all the room amenities you might want. Tea and coffee making facilities/fridge/t.v (Japanese channels with exception of BBC news) The space was teeny tiny - but that wasn't a problem for us. We don't travel with big suitcases so the size wasn't necessarily an issue - if you do have big 30kg + suitcases, you're actually going to struggle to fit into these rooms. My teenage son would bang his head getting in the bathroom. There are no wardrobes or drawers for clothing - just hangers.

The problem with the rooms was the heat. After one night of sleeping in oppressive heat and humidity my sons asthma was triggered. We were told that we could not open the windows - after politely complaining - they allowed it to be open for one hour only. My son was starting to struggle to breathe - even with his inhaler - so I had to speak with a number of staff members - who came up to inspect the room etc. I was really distressed by this stage - because I could see that unless we could get some fresh air - get the room temp / humidity down my son would need up in a hospital emergency department.
They finally - reluctantly let us keep it slightly open - in return we had to promise that if it rained or became too windy we'd give them access to the room to shut the window.

Staff - some of the staff were terrific, helpful and friendly and others - some of the women on the front desk were pretty abrasive.

Location - loved the location. It's quiet, near a lovely park and only a 10 minute walk to Shinjuku station.

Good bits - if you signed up to the free membership you'll get an extra hour on checkout. The limo bus from Narita airport does pick up and drop offs at the hotel.
The check out was automated - put your electronic keys into the machines and ways you go.

Bad bits - the hot, airless rooms. If you are susceptible to colds (both of us ended up getting sick) or other respiratory conditions such as asthma - I wouldn't stay here.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank clambstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Proximity is good. All amenities complete except fridge. Hard for 2 persons with 2 large luggage. But hotel is modern and clean. Cant adjust the room temp though, although at 24c at November is very good for me.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Uxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear, Uxela

Thank you very much for staying with us.
Our hotel is very convenient if you are coming from both Narita or Haneda airports.
Limousine buses from those airports come to the hotel directly and it stops right in front of the entrance. The room is a little tiny if you have more than 2 large bags with you. The rooms are all designed for stay with little bags, although we could have stored your bags at the front desk if you needed. We have luggage storage at the front desk as well.
As you mentioned earlier, the room temperature is all central controlled and you cannot adjust it individually.

All the best to you,

Front Desk Staff : R.Toyoshima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Actually my 3rd time staying here. Last stayed 2 years and i think they just did some refurishments so hotel now looks better. We stayed room for triple 5nights. Its a simple '4 stars' kind with most necessity good enough. Clean and good location. Convenient store within the building and about 10 mins walk to shinjuku station.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gifoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The hotel is very conveniently located about 15 minutes walk from Shinjuku Station and is on the Airport Limousine bus service route, so getting there from Narita is easy.

The rooms are small but clean and well appointed, but then again most hotels in Tokyo have small rooms

Internet was free and fast and the breakfast served was good.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlddogHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,015 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,521 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: RM435 - RM918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTELS DISCOVER OUR HOTELScroll down to read text WELCOME TO SHINJUKU WASHINGTON HOTEL MAIN Shinjuku Washington Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Shinjuku, one of the Tokyo’s most popular and active locales,next to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and close to shopping and entertainment venues. Looking up to the skyscrapers, the hotel is the ideal location to explore the delights of the city. The sophisticated environment of our three restaurants and bars makes it the best place to dine for two, family, friends, business associates or organizations to gather and celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN and Fastbooking so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing