We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
73
22
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
22
5
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a great way to experience the way Japan used to be, futons and tatami. It is also just a surreal place, so simple, clean, quiet. Epitome of Japan. A wonderful couple runs it. They are fluent in English and extremely helpful in assisting you on your adventures. Kenichi has tons of good suggestions and advice about travel in Japan.
Also- it is in a great neighborhood, near a few streets where you can see how locals really live, quaint stores, a huge temple, schools and a park. But it is also very close to the huge shopping/more touristy area of Asakusa.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sznd126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are looking for the experience of a traditionnal and authentic japanese bedroom, try this ryokan in the Asakusa area, well described by MrThrill.
It is run by Kenichi and Fusako who live on the 2nd floor. They are very helpful and give precious pieces of advice.
The booking and payment in advance process might be awkward but safe and it is worthy. You won't fall from your bed.
Let's support traditionnal family value small businesses on a cultural mission.

Room tip: Only 3 identical rooms in this quiet area of Asakusa, just dip in the Japanese culture and have a nice sleep.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2012

that was my first visit to Japan and my friend who lived in Japan told me aboutn this place and Im so glad I did come as I enjoyed this elegant Japanese Hospitality. The place was clean and close to everything you would need. This Hotel told me about trip advisor and now Im writting reviews on trip advisor. Thank you staff for assisting me and for your greast hospitality. The place is so clean

Room tip: Ask the receptionist about the tourist attractions as they are well versed on the tourist places to visit
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelCuzUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in October 2011. We were originally going to Japan in May 2011 but due to the tsunamai in March and subsequent travel warnings we decided to postpone until September. Unfortunately the ryokan requires you to pay in advance and doesn't offer a refund if you vary your dates unless they are able to rebook the room. I'm not complaining, I knew the fine print when we first booked but you need to be aware of it.
Okay,the nuts and bolts. The ryokan is in Asakusa, a not too touristy part of Tokyo. The local metro station, Tewaramachi, is about a 10 minute walk away. The ryokan is on a quiet street but is also a 2 minute walk from Kappabashi-dori, a kitchen-ware, restaurant supplies street about 1 km long and full of great stuff for your home or as souvenirs. The ryokan is run by Kenichi-san and Fusako-san. They are nice people who speak good English. Kenichi appears reserved at first but once you get to know him and he,you the laughs flowed. Fusako is a bit shy but very friendly.
The room we stayed in was small with little space for our mountain of baggage and souvenirs. The futons are a bit thin and the pillows small but probably authentic. The bathroom facilities are shared between 3 rooms. Upstairs where the bedrooms are is a toilet, urinal and handbasin. Downstairs is a communal room for eating or whatever, a shower and 2 handbasins. The shower is a push-button type which you need to keep pushing if you want.There is no running hot water in the handbasins. There isn't coffee/tea making facilities or a fridge which would both be assets.
Anyway, we liked staying there very much. The hosts, the location, Kappabashi-dori and numerous eating places made it feel very comfortable for us in a city that we struggled to keep up with. Any criticism is minor.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here for 10 days in december of 08

was such a beautiful little place.

it's incredibly basic - don't expect room service and a bar fridge

but i'm pretty sure for this price the only other accomodation available in tokyo is a backpacker dorm or a capsule hotel.

the walls are paper thin so bring ear plugs.

we had to bang on the wall because a snorlax next door kept us up with his snoring.

we also had the wall banged on us one night when we came home really drunk - whoops!

it's incredibly clean and the design is so beautiful and minimalistic. in such a gorgeous area of tokyo, i can't wait to go back.

if you have back problems be warned that this place is traditional japanese tatami matt beds and the pillows are stuffed with rice!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hollyequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews