We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mokkaz
Brisbane

Convenient location, nice rooms and extremely helpful owner-hosts!

Review of Tokyo Ryokan
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 May 2013
Highly recommend staying here in Tokyo. Its a cosy ryokan located in 5-10 mins walking distance to sensoji temple, lots of good eateries and public transport. The owner-hosts (Kenichi and Fusako) were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable - even helping research onsens for us at our next stop in Kyoto! Will definitely stay again when we're back in Tokyo - Ronnie and Fi
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 776
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 568
  • Agoda.com
    RM 552
  • Expedia.com
    RM 872
0.6 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 641
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 576
  • Agoda.com
    RM 475
  • Expedia.com
    RM 575
0.3 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Entrance at the Apa Hotel Asakusa-Kuramae
RM 227
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 314
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 274
  • japanican.com
0.2 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 664
  • Hotel Website
0.4 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
■Panda Room(パンダルーム TWIN)    広さ:25.0㎡                     ベッドサイズ:1,200×1,960mm 2台
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 742
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 279
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 373
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JR上野駅(広小路口)から徒歩約3分。
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 334
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Tokyo Ryokan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Taito
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
74
22
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
22
5
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Clean and simple, surprisingly quiet, as I think anyone who stays there understands that the walls are made of paper. We found it to be a super location, close to the metro, and in a great walking neighborhood. Our best experiences in Tokyo were found right there, especially the small, local onsen just a few blocks away. And the hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly, Kenichi speaking very good English, which helped quite a bit in our introduction to Japan. His instructions for finding the place were spot on and easy to follow, and the shrine next door made for an easy landmark when we occasionally got lost in our wanderings. Would absolutely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikslush
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is my third visit to Japan and I chose to stay at the Tokyo Ryokan because I want my daughter (14) to have an authentic Tokyo experience, one you won't find at hotels. And we weren't disappointed.

The ryokan is located right off the Kikusui Dori, which connects to the artery of Asakusa- Asakusa Dori and Kaminarimon Dori (where the popular Kaminarimon Gate awaits). The convenient Ginza line is about 4 minutes walk (Tawaramachi station), and the massive Asakusa station is a good 8-10 minutes away, which connects you to both Haneda and Narita Airports and the JR train system. Behind the station is the pier where you can hop on water bus, one of its many lines is shaped like a space craft designed by an animation master, perfect for a visit to the futuristic Odaiba Aqua City. And from many corners of the immediate neighborhood you can see the Skytree building, which is walkable in 30 minutes time.

Among the numerous tourist attractions, hidden in the traditional lanes and valleys are the dining treasure of what I like to call the Sake/Tapas bars, typically run by a single female host, with very small number of seating from 6-12 people. The intimate dinning experience is homey, authentic, warm and pleasurable. The host knows everyone that walks in her door, and is very welcoming to new comers. Her offerings are limited to the freshest and best local ingredients, with high quality sake (or beer) to pair with each dishes. We found such a treasure on our first night eating out right off the Kikusui Dori less than 50 meters from the ryokan. The place doesn't have an English sign (to be expected), but has a small English menu posted outside. It is covered by tasteful bamboo fence with maples planted around to give a seasonal decor. The host was charming and warm, and after some gesturing, she figured out I wanted hot sake, and suggested a most delicious sake for me to try. The food was fresh and delectable to my sensitive palate. There was some singing going on between her and two other female patrons, as they enjoyed a TV broadcast of a traditional Japanese ballads singing competition. We enjoyed the non-pretentious intimacy and was more amused than being annoyed. And if you are more into larger eating places, you will find so much options right along the Asakusa Dori and Kaminarimon Dori that it would be impossible to try them all even if you live here for a year.

The ryokan was everything you would expect from looking at the website, and much more. For every minute we spent in Kenichi and Fusako's home, there was peace and tranquility in the most care-free manner. My 14 year old daughter thought they were (and by extension all Japanese people) the nicest people she had known. The cleanliness of the space was impeccable, permeated in the gentle scent of Sugi-Japanese Cedar-that was used for all the wooden surfaces of their lovely home. The bedrooms (three) are small and clean with tatami mats which Fusako wiped and tighten up every day when we were out and about. There is no sound insulation, but all the guests that were here during our stay were courteous and considerate as if we were in some kind of secret pact out of respect for the owners.

With only three rooms to offer, advance booking is highly recommended, and if you are lucky enough to get in, expect an unusual and authentic Tokyo experience in the best possible form.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kc4travel_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We loved this ryokan, the hosts are so friendly, they had so many tips & recommendations, even walking us to a restaurant one night. It's a quiet place to stay with only 3 rooms right next to each other separated by paper walls. Please note to bring all your own toiletries & even soap. Lovely place, would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Quite, traditional, cool and clean environment.
Fusako and Kenichi are a marvelou couple, very helpeful on tips about almost everything. To find a place to have a western breakfast, the closest onsen, good restaurants in the neighbourhood.
Only three rooms, so do not expect to find fuss and teenagers running around.

Room tip: The rooms are not heated in the winter, so be aware about that.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I decided to stay in this ryokan after reading all the comment here. And I glad I did choose this. First of all this is a beautiful traditional Japan house build by modern architect/ designer with all the ease of modern life in mind. Yes it is small but you got to try to know how it feels to life in a japanese house, sleeping in futon and tatami.

Located in Asakusa area, old Tokyo area with lots charms. Lots of nice traditional eating shops around. A perfect setting to end our holiday in Japan. Kenichi-san the owner could not be more helpful. He treated us like old friends who invited us to stay in his house. He even walk us to find taxi in a nearby streets and even instructs the taxi driver to deliver us to the right side of Ueno station, then bid us good bye. Like old friends. I will come back for sure.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arieflaksono
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews