We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the 1st day ! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capsule & Sauna Century
Ranked #41 of 74 Speciality lodging in Taito
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Got there on my 1st day , check in from 12, was perfect after long flight i took a nap, u can go out and come back as u wich and very quickly !
Capsule is big enough, even for big guy ( i m 6.3 ), hostel is clean, staff speaks english and Will help u for everything if u need.
Big public shower, have to be naked and everyone make his own toilet, sauna, 2 big baths, and all cosmetic products available.
Ueno is à Nice spot with a big park ( with national museum, art museum , a zoo, etc ) at 5 minutes by walk.
Well it was a nice experience . Price unbeatable (25€)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maxpomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this for my first 2 nights in Tokyo. Small locker area for shoes on ground floor then lift up to the reception area. Staff speak a little English but we both managed to get our points across!

Capsule was as expected, very clean and nice sheets and bed.

Sauna was exceptional, large and clean again - nice way to ease your way into traditional Japanese bathing!

Vending machines everywhere for drinks, packet food is also sold to make up yourself with the free hot and cold water.

Most negative thing I can say about the place was that the lift really did smell, other than that really good value for money hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ashtroturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What I liked:
Amazing place to experience a capsule hostel and public hot spring bath. Great value for the money. You have access to public baths with sauna, tv in your capsule, clean sheets everyday, electricity to charge your electronics, vending machines for drinks and food, noddles at acceptable prices, clean cloths to sleep in. Staff was always polite and respectful. Place is mainly for Japanese men. Location was good, very close to metro station, places to eat.

What I disliked:
A lot of smoking in the hallway. Staff did not speak any English but they were nice and polite. No instructions where the showers were, how to use the vending machines and so on. Light sleepers should avoid capsules as they are not sound isolated and noise can easily wake them up.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrei_petrescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Location : Good! Take the train to UENO station and head to Exit 5 or Central Gate Exit. The hotel is 2 blocks behind the OIOI mall. (2 mins walk)
Wifi : Avaiable. Low connection in capsule.
Cleanliness : Just OK considering the value paid.
Personal Opinion : Suitable just for 1 day stay. Easily distracted by the noise of other capsules during sleep. Need to check out everyday for room cleaning.

Step by Step Guide for Check In :
1. Lock your shoe in the shoe locker in Floor 1. Take the key and head to Floor 2 for the receptionist.
2. Exchange the shoe locker key with you Capsule Locker key. It's the same number with your capsule room. Minimal English spoken at receptionist.
*Special arrangement is needed if you check in after 12 midnight.
3. You may put the big luggage at Floor 2 near the receptionist. You may put the smaller bag in Locker room at Floor 2.
4. You need to pass back the Locker key to receptionist to exchange with your shoe locker key when you leave the Capsule. *Remember your Capsule/Locker key to get it back when you return.

Public Shower is at Basement 1. Access from Floor 2.
Power Supply is provided in the capsule

Room Tip: There are special room with only 8 Capsules per room for much quiet and comfortable stay. Expect to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KahongLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would like to start and point that i wanted to try a capsule hotel for the experience and not for any budget related option.

First the location of this hotel in Ueno is just perfect! located within the Market in Ueno close to many shops, excellent to change from the usual city hotel.

Concerning the cleanness of the hotel, i have to say that it is on the acceptable level knowing the price i paid 2700 Yen.

But then all the good point for me ends here. The hotel had a really strange and oppressing feeling, because of the nature of the customers and the unfriendliness that you can feel.

The capsules were really not well ventilated and the tv had only adult movies on it.

For the same price or less i had an unforgettable stay in Khaosan world in Asakusa, which is absolutely not comparable !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZicoElMouddene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna Oriental
Ueno, Asakusa
Dandy
Dandy
#29 of 74 in Taito
141 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna New century
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
The Nell Ueno Okachimachi
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule Net Omotenashi no Yado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule & Sauna Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule & Sauna Century

Address: 6-8-1 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range: RM86 - RM261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capsule & Sauna Century 1.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Capsule & Sauna Century reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule & Sauna Century Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing