We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in capsule”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capsule & Sauna Century
Ranked #42 of 74 Speciality lodging in Taito
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The counter is opening 24 hours, so its a good place to stay if you coming in on a late flight. Location near JR Ueno station, just 5-8 minutes walk away.

Put your shoes into locker downstairs and go up to 3rd floor. Check in is easy if you book from agoda, booking.com, etc. The capsule is standard size, clean. However its not suitable for large luggage as the personal locker is really really small. You can put them at shelves near main counter though.

Their bath is good, had a good soak in the hot bath and relax in the sauna. Convenient store just around the corner. Ameyokocho street just a street away. Lots of eatery shops nearby.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BruceYeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016

We had to give this a go while in Tokyo and myself and 2 friends spent our last night in Japan staying in this capsule hotel.

The location is very close to Shibuya crossing but is located up the dodgy end of the main street and you'll find walking too and from the location at night will require you running the gauntlet of street touts trying to offer you massages and what not.

Aside from that, it was a great experience, consider it similar to staying in a hostel. The capsule experience itself would change form person to person. Mine wasnt particularly great because the plastic capsule turns into a sauna if the fan inside doesnt work...which mine didnt. Also the paper thin mattress doesnt add much to the comfort at all, then again, that was expected. I woke up to find a Japanese chap passed out on the floor underneath my capsule! He must have had a big night! But this gives you an idea of the type of accom this is supposed to be.

Bathing is another experience all together as it is conducted in a large open shower room where there are no private stalls. Just strip down and place your clothes and towel in a locker and walk in to find a free stool and shower head to start bathing yourself. The bathing facilities were very clean and well maintained.

All in all, it was a great experience. But as i said, it was similar to hostel or dormitory accommodation so trying it once is probably enough for me!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Got there on my 1st day , check in from 12, was perfect after long flight i took a nap, u can go out and come back as u wich and very quickly !
Capsule is big enough, even for big guy ( i m 6.3 ), hostel is clean, staff speaks english and Will help u for everything if u need.
Big public shower, have to be naked and everyone make his own toilet, sauna, 2 big baths, and all cosmetic products available.
Ueno is à Nice spot with a big park ( with national museum, art museum , a zoo, etc ) at 5 minutes by walk.
Well it was a nice experience . Price unbeatable (25€)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maxpomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this for my first 2 nights in Tokyo. Small locker area for shoes on ground floor then lift up to the reception area. Staff speak a little English but we both managed to get our points across!

Capsule was as expected, very clean and nice sheets and bed.

Sauna was exceptional, large and clean again - nice way to ease your way into traditional Japanese bathing!

Vending machines everywhere for drinks, packet food is also sold to make up yourself with the free hot and cold water.

Most negative thing I can say about the place was that the lift really did smell, other than that really good value for money hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ashtroturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What I liked:
Amazing place to experience a capsule hostel and public hot spring bath. Great value for the money. You have access to public baths with sauna, tv in your capsule, clean sheets everyday, electricity to charge your electronics, vending machines for drinks and food, noddles at acceptable prices, clean cloths to sleep in. Staff was always polite and respectful. Place is mainly for Japanese men. Location was good, very close to metro station, places to eat.

What I disliked:
A lot of smoking in the hallway. Staff did not speak any English but they were nice and polite. No instructions where the showers were, how to use the vending machines and so on. Light sleepers should avoid capsules as they are not sound isolated and noise can easily wake them up.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrei_petrescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna New century
Ueno, Asakusa
Dandy
Dandy
#30 of 74 in Taito
142 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Capsule & Sauna Oriental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
ENAKA Asakusa Central Hostel
Oak Hostel Fuji
#2 of 27 in Sumida
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule & Sauna Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule & Sauna Century

Address: 6-8-1 Ueno, Taito 110-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price Range: RM75 - RM277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capsule & Sauna Century 1.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Capsule & Sauna Century reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capsule & Sauna Century Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing