We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$105
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Stays Asakusabashi(Asakusabashi)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$217
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
K's House Tokyo(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agora Place Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$193
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sakura Hostel Asakusa(Asakusa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
3
12
18
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
18
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We had to give this a go while in Tokyo and myself and 2 friends spent our last night in Japan staying in this capsule hotel.

The location is very close to Shibuya crossing but is located up the dodgy end of the main street and you'll find walking too and from the location at night will require you running the gauntlet of street touts trying to offer you massages and what not.

Aside from that, it was a great experience, consider it similar to staying in a hostel. The capsule experience itself would change form person to person. Mine wasnt particularly great because the plastic capsule turns into a sauna if the fan inside doesnt work...which mine didnt. Also the paper thin mattress doesnt add much to the comfort at all, then again, that was expected. I woke up to find a Japanese chap passed out on the floor underneath my capsule! He must have had a big night! But this gives you an idea of the type of accom this is supposed to be.

Bathing is another experience all together as it is conducted in a large open shower room where there are no private stalls. Just strip down and place your clothes and towel in a locker and walk in to find a free stool and shower head to start bathing yourself. The bathing facilities were very clean and well maintained.

All in all, it was a great experience. But as i said, it was similar to hostel or dormitory accommodation so trying it once is probably enough for me!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Got there on my 1st day , check in from 12, was perfect after long flight i took a nap, u can go out and come back as u wich and very quickly !
Capsule is big enough, even for big guy ( i m 6.3 ), hostel is clean, staff speaks english and Will help u for everything if u need.
Big public shower, have to be naked and everyone make his own toilet, sauna, 2 big baths, and all cosmetic products available.
Ueno is à Nice spot with a big park ( with national museum, art museum , a zoo, etc ) at 5 minutes by walk.
Well it was a nice experience . Price unbeatable (25€)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maxpomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this for my first 2 nights in Tokyo. Small locker area for shoes on ground floor then lift up to the reception area. Staff speak a little English but we both managed to get our points across!

Capsule was as expected, very clean and nice sheets and bed.

Sauna was exceptional, large and clean again - nice way to ease your way into traditional Japanese bathing!

Vending machines everywhere for drinks, packet food is also sold to make up yourself with the free hot and cold water.

Most negative thing I can say about the place was that the lift really did smell, other than that really good value for money hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ashtroturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What I liked:
Amazing place to experience a capsule hostel and public hot spring bath. Great value for the money. You have access to public baths with sauna, tv in your capsule, clean sheets everyday, electricity to charge your electronics, vending machines for drinks and food, noddles at acceptable prices, clean cloths to sleep in. Staff was always polite and respectful. Place is mainly for Japanese men. Location was good, very close to metro station, places to eat.

What I disliked:
A lot of smoking in the hallway. Staff did not speak any English but they were nice and polite. No instructions where the showers were, how to use the vending machines and so on. Light sleepers should avoid capsules as they are not sound isolated and noise can easily wake them up.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrei_petrescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Location : Good! Take the train to UENO station and head to Exit 5 or Central Gate Exit. The hotel is 2 blocks behind the OIOI mall. (2 mins walk)
Wifi : Avaiable. Low connection in capsule.
Cleanliness : Just OK considering the value paid.
Personal Opinion : Suitable just for 1 day stay. Easily distracted by the noise of other capsules during sleep. Need to check out everyday for room cleaning.

Step by Step Guide for Check In :
1. Lock your shoe in the shoe locker in Floor 1. Take the key and head to Floor 2 for the receptionist.
2. Exchange the shoe locker key with you Capsule Locker key. It's the same number with your capsule room. Minimal English spoken at receptionist.
*Special arrangement is needed if you check in after 12 midnight.
3. You may put the big luggage at Floor 2 near the receptionist. You may put the smaller bag in Locker room at Floor 2.
4. You need to pass back the Locker key to receptionist to exchange with your shoe locker key when you leave the Capsule. *Remember your Capsule/Locker key to get it back when you return.

Public Shower is at Basement 1. Access from Floor 2.
Power Supply is provided in the capsule

Room Tip: There are special room with only 8 Capsules per room for much quiet and comfortable stay. Expect to be more expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KahongLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews