We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value basic hotel”
Review of Via Inn Asakusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Via Inn Asakusa
Ranked #28 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Comfortable, serviceable, fantastic convenient location near the best major temple and shopping in Tokyo. Staff are helpful, lifts work well, hotel is quiet and breakfast perfectly adequate. Recommended budget choice.

Room Tip: Unimportant, you'll hardly be in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 186338SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2015

After travelling around Japan and finishing in Tokyo I was initially less than impressed with the Viainn and with Tokyo in general. It all looked a bit tired and basic. However it does grow on you (Tokyo and the hotel). There was an English speaker on the desk which is really helpful and the staff are obliging both on the desk and in the restaurant. The rooms are small I was in a single I could have swung a cat but only just. There was wifi and the location is great. The nearby department store (part of the station) has a ground floor food hall which is ideal to pick up some takeaway.
I wish there was a bit more detail about getting to the airport from the hotel desk who seemed unsure. There is a direct train on the Asakusa line but the line is only accessible from a particular part of the station and down several flights of stairs. So a bit tricky. Overall good value.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of the temple. But even street facing are quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Helpful staff - let us check in an hour early (pretty unusual for Japan) because we looked a bit hot and bothered after negotiating the subway system at the end of a 13 hour flight. Room was small but perfectly formed : capsule type bathroom had everything you could want and the bed was very comfortable. Best of all we asked for and got a room at the back looked right out at the Sensoji temple. Fantastic view! And considering the roadworks at the front of the hotel a blessing from the noise point of view as well. Great breakfast, efficient luggage forwarding, umbrellas on loan, 5 mins from three subway stations. A great place.

Room Tip: Go for the back "with temple view". The road at the front is pretty full on, and was being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank crookhamcommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We stayed only one night at this place (as we planed to take the train to Nikko the following day).

Overall we had a pleasant stay. The hotel is very clean and the furnishings look good and new. Good size bottles of toiletries are provided and there is also free packets of coffee and tea available for taking in the lobby area. It is in a pleasant area, about 5-10 min walk to Asakusa Station and with Sensoji temple and lots of eateries nearby.

Cons:
1. The rooms are small (with a small double bed) with hardly any floor space to open up the luggage.
2. wifi only at lobby area
3. There is direct train to Haneda Airport from Asakusa Station but note this station does not have elevators getting out to the ground level. Problematic if you are carrying a lot of luggage.

Overall: still a great place that is value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliacP4382FE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Stayed at the Via Inn for three nights at the start of our Japan vacation and couldn't really fault it for what we got. Had a room on the 10th (top) floor which was a good sized twin with a great view of the temple area. The beds were some of the most comfortable we've had and very welcome after a long flight and touring around Tokyo. The bathroom was also good with a slightly small 'tank' style bath shower. Couldn't stretch out but great when filled with hot water! Staff were very friendly albeit with limited English - but as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. Breakfast was fine - buffet style choice, I would say this would probably get a bit limited after a few days as there wasn't a lot of variety but was fine for a couple of days. What else? Location was great, not as manic as say Shibuya, only a short (10 minute) walk to the nearest subway station and the wifi worked! Oh, and be careful when you're walking on the local pavements - you'll be sharing with cyclists who, in my very limited expereience (!) will not be looking out for you - I was pretty well ridden into on the 2nd evening which could have been nasty! But nothing to do with the hotel of course - overall, I'd recommend the Via Inn and would love the chance of visting Tokyo again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 155 in Taito
336 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
Hotel Keihan Asakusa
#24 of 155 in Taito
295 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Hokke Club Asakusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Smile Hotel Asakusa
Smile Hotel Asakusa
#101 of 155 in Taito
119 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Asakusa Central Hotel
Asakusa Central Hotel
#32 of 155 in Taito
162 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#27 of 155 in Taito
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Inn Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Inn Asakusa

Address: 2-33-7 Asakusa, Taito 111-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 155 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price Range: RM 224 - RM 741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Inn Asakusa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Via Inn Asakusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Inn Asakusa Hotel Taito
Blue Wave Hotel Asakusa
Via Inn Asakusa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing