We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
76
244
66
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
244
66
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sensoji temple asakusa station tokyo skytree minute walk business hotel non smoking nakamise street extra space short stay bed was comfortable location is great free wifi family room three nights single room japan proofing
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2008, having already spent 10 days in Japan, staying in Hilton Hotels. This is not in the same class as the Hiltons, but is clean and comfortable.

The first room we were given was a smoking room, so we asked to change and were given what turned out to be a room for disabled guests. It was therefore bigger than usual, but lacked a full length mirror! The bathroom was also bigger, though there was no way a disabled person could have used the shower.
Yukata robes and slippers were provided, but only 2 green tea bags, not enough for a night's stay, and no coffee. There wasn't much drawer space, though the hanging space was fine. The toiletries were adequate for a short stay.

The location, right beside the Senso-ji shrine, was good and it was only a few minutes' walk to the Asakusa and Ginza subway lines. There was an internet cafe just down the road and shops and restaurants around.

The hotel staff have very limited English, but the local tourist information office isn't far away and they can help with your questions.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in this part of Tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

After doing quite a bit of searching, we were having a hard time finding a place in Tokyo that would accommodate our family of four. Blue Wave Inn was a great find for us. We stayed for three nights in a quad room -- believe they only have one in the hotel -- with four twin beds. The room was actually quite a nice size and even had a terrific view of the Senso-ji temple complex. In addition, we found the location to be very excellent for us and very convenient -- just a couple of blocks from the Asakusa subway stop. All in all, an excellent hotel for us and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Very nice hotel, good value for money.

We booked only a few days before arriving and for a discounted price, but they gave us a wonderful room with view over the temple on a high floor. The room is not big but the beds are extremely comfortable and there is no noise at all. The furniture is new and modern.

The location is OK, close to the subway in a quiet neighborhood. If it's night life what you are looking for, this is not the place for you, it's far from Shinjuku and taxis in Tokyo are expensive, but if you are traveling with your family, or in Tokyo mainl for sightseeing, it's perfect.

The only two remarks I have, are that the breakfast is quite poor (for western people, it's rich in Japanese food), and that when we used the teacups once they never were changed. But, I mean, it's peanuts...

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yashodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed five nights at the Blue Wave, which we chose because of location, price, and reviews. We made bookings online but when we arrived, they had us booked for one night instead of five! The reception clerk leafed through a few pages and then gave us a triple room for all five nights. This meant we had far more space, including a sitting area, and we were very pleased. The room was clean, furnishings were new and it was quiet. Bathroom was small, as were all the bathrooms in the hotels we stayed at in Japan. The hotel is about a 3 block walk from the subway and the area restaurants. We took breakfast on some of the days and it was fine.
The big drawback for us was the lack of computer access, as we had not brought a laptop. There was no computer available for guests and when we asked, we were directed to a nearby internet cafe which never seemed to be open when we passed by. Although not a particularly friendly place, we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ETal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

The room was alright, not anything special. It was clean, the beds were comfy, and our room had a pretty nice view of the pagoda, which is one of the big draws of Asakusa. I would consider the desk staff to be about average for anyplace but Japan, where service is generally extraordinary. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Asakusa Ginza line station, which is 3 stops away from the major Ueno station which connects you with everything. We booked there because it had a family room with four beds. If you need that kind of accommodation, then I'd recommend you stay there. If you can get by with a normal room, then there are probably better places you can stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RaglandTTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews