We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$248
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
99
162
56
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
162
56
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantminute walkrecommend this hoteloff seasonkrk islandshellfishfew kilometersbody lotiondays half boardfresh baked goodsspecial thanksconference roomlots of sea urchinscleaned every dayroast meatsromantic staycoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We had just one night there, more than enough. !
Parking place is just a vague piece of waste land with no security
We had to leave early, before 7:00 am. The lady at the reception explained that having a cup of coffee , a croissant and jam, orange juice before 7 was impossible and we had to cope with it, (How can that be that a hotel guest cannot get a tray with this in his room ??? - when the room is billed at 137 euros ? )
The price of the breakfast was included in the 137 euros and it was impossible to withdraw it from the booking .. figure out. I wanted to leave a complaint about this and was told it was impossible .. good procedure to get into continual improvement.
There is no restaurant, just an vast room with buffet where you cannot book a table on the terrasse (there is a pleasant view on the terrasse on KRK, only interesting thing in that hotel). You have either to wait or be there very early otherwise it "cantine mode"
They actually are only interested in big groups of japanese or chinese people rather than couples. The dinner was expensive and not interesting, The wine was not at the right temperature and breakfast a kind of battle to get to food.
Finally we wanted a room with a view, that finally we did not get. The room itself ("DELUXE") has a very small bathroom and overall is average
expensive, unpleasant, not at service of customer and bad quality overall. We hated this stay. Find a better place anywhere near is not a big deal. This hotel is counting on its reputation and we have the feeling having been stolen. Not speaking about the fact we had to cancel the ferry at 7 on the morning and find another - not very pleasant - solution for the rest of the local visit. Be very careful when you book - if you still wish !!! - and ask for all details. Never more. One the worst experience in our 12 days trip in Croatia.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere ! look at the pics for a luxury room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ormizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragutinBozic, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Ormizd,
thank you for choosing Valamar Koralj and for valuable input. We work hard to deliver memorable experience for our guests and we are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met.
We will definitely use your feedback to learn and improve.
Warm regards,
Dragutin Bozic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I recently spent three days at this hotel, an ideal place for a peaceful stay.
The room was most clean and comfortable, overlooking a pine wood. There are also rooms overlooking the sea. In the morning I woke up hearing the birds singing. Its location is the best of all. It is a 15-minute walk by the sea from the small town of Krk. There is a swimming pool in front of the hotel, just above the sea, a small bay actually, lined by the beach. For both breakfast and dinner there was a very rich choice on the-eat-as-much as want basis. You'll love this hotel if you like walking, swimming and cycling.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pine wood are quieter than those overlooking the swimming pool and the sea, where one can hear the sound of water.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kora909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragutinBozic, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Kora 909,
Thank you for choosing Valamar Koralj for your recent stay here in Krk and for sharing your thoughts here on tripadvisor. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Dragutin Bozic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel on superb location, 10 minute nice walk from Krk town. Very positive of this hotel is:
- Appearance of the hotel in general: love all the corners, stairs and design of the pools. Although I know it is maybe not very good for disabled and people with strollers.
- The staff: all are very friendly and professional.
- The food: we had breakfast and dinnerbuffet and both were outstanding. Lots of choice and everything very delicious.

Points for improvement:
- hotelrooms (especially bathrooms): somehow they don't match with the appearance of the hotel. Rooms need to be updated. Bathroom is very small and however it is clean, they need to be updated as well ( e.g. shower curtains).
- Wifi is unstable. On popular times wifi is extremely slow.
- In our rooms with seaview (311 and 312) we heard running water of the swimming pool all night long. Was quite noisy, made it a little difficult to fall asleep.

This was out second time in this hotel and hope to return once again!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragutinBozic, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Ellen1984,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Sincerely,
Dragutin Bozic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

For a 3 star hotel, this hotel is a very good standard.

Below is some information on what I thought was good, not so good and some information for those of you that are considering going with a baby.

GOOD

The staff are fantastic. Everyone is friendly and go out of their way to help.

When you leave you are given a free drink at the bar and a voucher for 15% discount on your next stay.

The buffet food is very good for a 3 star hotel. There's lots of variety and plenty of food. There's a table filled with about 15 different types of dessert. The food here is a much higher quality than the restaurants in Krk. The buffet us great for kids.

If you don't fancy eating the buffet, then you can book to eat in their Taverna (set menu) just outside the hotel, near the beach. This an 'al fresco' restaurant in a lovely location within a small woodland area.

The view from the pool and bar/lounge is fantastic.

The hotel and facilities are well maintained and clean.

This is a great place for kids (not babies), with loads of fun activities by the beach, a kids club, a kids play room and a great play ground.

The beds are very comfy.


NOT SO GOOD

The cleaning in our room was a little adhoc. Our beds were always made and the cleaning lady was very sweet, but she didn't always replace the dirty glasses, once left our door unlocked and forgot to take our laundry to the cleaners.

She also kept filling up our room with towels, each day we seemed to get more and more.

The laundry service wasn't great. As mentioned, the cleaning lady forgot to take it, so we had to wait an additional day, then when we did get it back we had someone else's underwear in there!

The thing I found most annoying was by 8am in the morning more than half the sun beds around the pool had been 'reserved' by people with their towels, by 9.39/10am you haven't got a hope in getting a sun bed by the pool as there aren't enough beds for the number of hotel room/guests.

It's very frustrating to want to sit by the pool, but can't because all the sun beds are covered in other people's towels without them actually being by the pool.

There are signs asking for people not to do this, but it's not policed or respected.

The buffet room feels like you're eating in a large canteen and its indoors. On a summer holiday it's much nicer to be outside eating, with a pretty view. There are some window/balcony tables, but theyre very limited.

The beach is open to the public and you have to pay to use the sun beds there (you don't pay at the pool).

The beach is made up of narrow-ish stepped terraces down to the water.

We paid to use the sun beds one day, but because it is a public beach, some local teenagers came and set up camp at the foot of my sunbed (literally), playing loud music - not ideal if you have a baby or appreciate a little bit of space.

The spa is separate from the hotel, so you can't charge it to your room - you have to pay cash.

BABY

The main problem is that there are steps to everything, the restaurant, the beach and the pool, meaning you can't take a pram/pushchair to any of those locations.

I have a 10 month old and when on holiday the only peace and quiet I get is when she has her naps during the day. Before going to this hotel, I had day dreams about lazing by the pool/beach whilst she snoozed in her pram, but because of the steps, this wasn't to be.

To the restaurant you can take a lift up to the back of the restaurant, but there are still 7 steps to get in.

The pool is not set up for babies at all. It's not accessible with a pram without having to go down many steps and through a foot bath.

The pools are 3 small pools linked together, each one in a different level with more steps between. The main pool has water cascading down into the floor next to the pool, so the floor there is very slippery and wet, so no good for crawling babies/or babies playing on the floor either.

As mentioned above, people lay their towels on the very limited sun beds early in the morning to reserve them and the ones away from the wet floor, near the main pool, are the first to be 'reserved', so even if you take your baby to the pool area without the pram, it's almost impossible to get a sun bed in an area where your baby can play on the floor - they'd have to sit on the sun bed with you the whole time. There no room to just lay a towel on the floor by the pool (if the beds are all taken).

To get the the beach there are also steps. We did carry our pram down to the first level of the beach (the beach is made up of several stepped levels to the water) and sit there, but unfortunately for us some teenage locals set up camp right next to us and were very noisy so our baby couldn't sleep. The levels that make up the beach are narrow, so they get quite crowded.

There are high chairs in the restaurants but not in the lounge/bar/cafe area.

The buffet is brilliant for feeding a baby. Loads of variety - just a shame it doesn't open until 6.30pm.

There are no changing mats available in the rooms, although if you ask, the staff will give you a disposable changing mat.

The hotel charges 5 euro a night for a baby bed/cot. I think this is a complete rip off.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragutinBozic, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Carla K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Dragutin Bozic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent, set in a beautiful rocky cove overlooking clear waters but a 10 min walk into Krk town, pretty historical town, cobbled streets and lots of restaurants etc. The hotel is set on different levels with lovely interconnecting pools although be warned that guests get up early to put towels on sun beds that they then didn't use all day ( didn't think that still happened! ) rooms were on the small side, basic but comfortable, we were slightly disappointed not to have a balcony as we had paid extra for a sea view but many of the rooms didn't have balconies, something we've taken for granted before. The bathroom was small with a dreaded shower curtain but shower was powerful and toiletries were a good touch. The room was kept super clean by the maid who always had a cheerful smile. The restaurant, in our opinion, set this hotel apart from other holiday hotels as the food was excellent, breakfast and dinner presented a huge choice all freshly prepared, dinner included a Croatian dish each evening which we enjoyed. Restaurant staff, as indeed all the staff, were friendly, efficient and so pleasant, they all seem to enjoy their jobs. This is a good hotel for a weeks relaxing holiday in a lovely location, a 30 min easy transfer from the airport is an added bonus.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Teashopfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragutinBozic, General Manager at Valamar Koralj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Teashopfan,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Dragutin Bozic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews