We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
36
47
25
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
47
25
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnearby chateauthis lovely hotelweddingcommentsregionsignbasepresentation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Came in January 2016, the cuisine was excellent BUT the Chef is gone and now the food is really not good: meat and potatoes far too salty, fizzy Mont Blanc (out of date?) which made me ill all night, the tiramisu was enormous, no finesse in the presentation . The boss is still there, no professionalism, no customer service. The waiter was very pleasant. We should have read the comments (in French) before to come again... We did not try the hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Maroclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais24170, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Relais du Perigord Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good morning. We are sorry you had a bad experience of our restaurant. We try to do our best but sometimes we are overwhelmed and our words do not correspond to our way of wanting to be. We will be more careful for future reservations in order to satisfy our guests. Wish you a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We all decided to try the 26€ menu and were glad we did! Three great courses of decent sizes - the salmon carpaccio salad was presented very prettily, and tasted just as well too, judging by the clear plates. The cèpe soup was a little salty due to the lardons, but the duck confit was lovely. The chocolate dessert was excellent too, while the waiter was attentive. We were not disappointed!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais24170, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Relais du Perigord Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good morning. We are happy you had a good meal in our restaurant. We tried to do the best for you and it is just great you appreciated. Wishing you the best for this summer ending.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in July16 to attend a nearby wedding. Situated in a small town where there are a couple of restaurants/shops and a large carrefour! Really liked this hotel. Nice swimming pool and room was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast selection and the relaxed nature of the hotel. Had lunch here on one day and the food was good. Staff pleasant and listened to my rusty french! Good place to use as a base if travelling in and around the region.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Londontraveller1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is a good hotel, and convenient if you're on a bicycle tour. Staff are very helpful and friendly and there's a pleasant swimming pool in the garden at the back. That said, I was a little disappointed by the style and condition of the building and rooms. The hotel feels just a tiny bity old-fashioned, and the last makeover is beginning to look a bit tired.

Food is okay but not spectacular (a choice of duck or duck on the fixed menu).

The hotel looks out over a car park but views to the rear are better. The village, sadly, is dead, but there is an excellent restaurant in the village if you want variety.

Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the rear - unless you like car parks!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais24170, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Relais du Perigord Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Many thanks for your feedback about your stay Mr Bager. It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Relais ! We plan to do some improvements to the hotel during the coming months but it's a huge house! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

A large group of us stayed here for a weekend when we attended a wedding in a nearby chateaux. Lovely little swimming pool and a good amount of space to enjoy the sun outside even with quite a few of us. Room was a little smaller than I expected and bathroom could have been better lit. However my friends shared a much larger room so do ask when you check in! Friendly staff and very easy to find. There is also a large supermarket within walking distance so after a slightly disappointing breakfast on the first morning, on the second we popped down there to pick up some bread and cheese and salady bits for a picnic breakfast by the pool. A much nicer option I think!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ElyS378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais24170, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Relais du Perigord Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thank you for your nice feedback Ely! We were delighted to welcome you and your friends for this wedding weekend. We hope to see you again at the Relais in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews