We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
47
16
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
16
4
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Little rural hotel, very homely. It is in the seaside and the view from the top of the hill is breathtaking. Rooms are big and very comfortable. We celebrated New Year's Eve there with our friends and was a special celebration because the dinner was delicious and the party was very fun, all was perfect, the manager is very kind and the staff are very professional. We'll come back again!!!

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed in El Babu in Nov 12 for a weekend having seen it in 'Alistair Sawdays Special Places to stay'. First of all it is very easy to find, 2 minutes off the A8 Motorway, whether youre coming from direction of Santander or Oveido. It is in a small hamlet of converted farm buildings in Caravia, about 1 minute drive from the beach, and while it has no sea views, its views of rolling countryside and mountains are pretty spectacular.

From the photos on the website etc, you get the impression it has been converted to a high standard and I suspect when it was first completed, 10 years ago, it might looked that way, but it hasnt stood the test of time too well and looks tired & cheap and poorly finished in parts. It isnt helped by the huge amounts of IKEA throughout the rooms and the rest of the hotel.

Another slight gripe is that the fire in the lounge doesnt kick out much heat and on one very cold night it wasnt even on! Should have been...

Breakfast is a simple but perfectly satisfactory affair, buffet style and using decent quality products. A place like this could probably ramp up the breakfast a bit though and take more advantage of showing off the lovely local produce from this fabulous area in my opinion.

I liked this place however, it is a lovely, airy, light environment and the service is friendly, homely and B&B style. Furthermore, other hoteliers in Spain could learn a lot about the basics of customer service and approachability from the owner here.

My issue, if I have one is price, because for 100 euro per night, in rural Asturias, you can probably do better, as there are some fabulous hotels in the area in a similar price range.

However, if you get a good rate,and want somewhere in this corner of the region(Caravia beach, Mirador el Fitu both a few minutes in the car, Ribasdella only 10 minutes away) then you do could much worse than give it a go.

PS We were given a restaurant tip by one of the team here and it was one of the few times Ive thought 'Wow, great recomendation'. The place is called El Molin de Mingo in Peruyes. I've reviewed it seperately and I would urge you to go if in the area.

Room tip: We were on the top floor in room 5 which had lovely views and a large window to let them flood in!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoundhayParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

El Babu is a charming and nicely-managed hotel located in the beautiful Sierra del Sueve in Asturias, 30 minutes walking distance from the nearest beaches. El Babu represents all you could ask for a summer break if you are a little bit tired of "plastic hotels": It is small (7 rooms only), the rooms are very comfortable, clean and all share a beautiful view over the "prado". The common areas (the living room, the terrace and the dining room) are modernly decorated and have that simplicity that makes you fill at home.

The hotel management (Pilar, Pedro and Irene) is just great. They are very friendly and they will guide you in all kinds of activities that you can enjoy in the area, which are endless: routes to the local villages, horse riding, trekking, surfing, piano concerts, dinosaurs museum... The best of the best is the food that is served at breakfast and dinner. Pilar has proved to be one of the best chefs in the area. She has managed to create elaborated dishes out from the local products... and if you are around on a Saturday, don´t miss the barbacue prepared by Pedro!!

It is not secret that we have been going to El Babu for the last 8 years... and we will come back the next one!!

Jesus Gutierrez

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

What a great find!
We have friends who have been coming here for the last 8 years so decided to tag along and see why they kept coming back.
The hotel is a little off the tourist track and is situated about a half hour walk (with kids) from some of the nicest beaches I have been to in Spain. Crystal clear sea. Beautiful cliff walks. Fantastic scenery. The staff are friendly and bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you need. Breakfasts and diners are copious and full of local produce.
All in all not sure I should really be recommending this place as it is a secret that should be kept for oneself and ones friends!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMcCullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

El Babú is simply marvellous.
As an American who has been living in Spain for the last 12 years, I have done my fair share of traveling around the country, and I can honestly say that El Babú counts among my favorite places to stay.
First of all, Asturias has the benefit of being a gorgeous region still unspoilt by tourism. If you're looking for something off the beaten path in Spain, this is a great option. It's about a five-hour drive from Madrid, but there are also trains and cheap flights to the Asturias airport.
The hotel itself is charming rustic farmouse restored with lots of glass to let in views of the Sueve mountains (in fact, the hotel takes its name after one of its peaks, El Babú). The rooms are very spacious and the beds are so comfortable they regularly have people ask where to buy one just like it. And the great room downstairs has a fireplace and plenty of sofas for reading, listening to music or just sitting by the fire.
As for the food, Pilar is a brilliant chef who only buys the best, fresh products and cooks them to perfection. There is a set dinner menu which is a great option if you prefer to stay in, although there are also a number of excellent restaurants in the area. For breakfast they serve freshly-squeezed orange juice and eggs (any way you like), along with cheeses, coldcuts, fruit, homemade baked goods and more.
La Espasa beach is just minutes away, and there are several others within 15-20 minutes from the hotel (La Griega, Vega, Arenal de Moris).
There is also great hiking in the Sueve or the Picos de Europa, horseback riding (Pedro will hook you up with a horse), surfing and other nearby attractions like the Jurassic Museum, Tito Bustillo cave and the cities of Gijón and Oviedo. Bilbao (and its Guggenheim Museum) and Santander are both reasonable day trips if you have time to fit them in.
Although you may just find it hard to leave El Babú...

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_in_Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews