We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Llanidloes
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fully licensed restaurant
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I ordered a small takeaway the other night. After repeating myself atleast five times I got my order in. The guy on the other end of the phone was having difficulty understanding me due to the fact his English was very bad. Once I got my meal home......... yes you guessed it, It was wrong. I said to my Wife I'm not phoning back and going through the same palava. Very, Very disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fablious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Having seen that the restaurant had improved their food hygiene score to 5 stars, we decided to order a takeaway.
First impressions on opening the packs, were that the products were only lukewarm.
The Onion Bhaji's had been cooked more than once and as such did not show any sign of onions, they were hard and completely inedible. Whether the Tandoori King Prawns and Naan Breads had ever seen a tandoori oven is doubtable, and both seemed as though they had been reheated. The onions in this dish were hardly cooked. The King Prawn Karai was tasteless and the sauce resembled a left over stew, not the rich tasty sauce envisaged.
Extremely disappointed and will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was a meal we enjoyed with our children, which they chose for us. The staff were great and I would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I've never been inspired to write a review before, but in the interests of saving even one person from parting with hard earned cash here, I feel its my duty to say something! The Poppadoms were flaccid and not freshly cooked with horribly processed chutneys and sauces, the two mains - a Dupiaza and a Dhansak both appeared to be cooked in the same sauce which was wildly over sweet, the pilau rice portion was reheated, small and indifferent and the saag paneer was so sweet our gums ached. The house wine was also sweet having been told it was dry, and I think watered down (thank goodness! the only thing that made it palatable as it turned out). When asked if everything was ok we said it wasn't which inspired a bit of unintelligible mumbling about Dansaks being a sweet and sour dish - this didn't explain the rest of the food or where the 'sour' part had gone...oh wait found it...it was hiding in the unapologetic bill produced despite it being clearly visible that over half the meal was untouched. Couldn't get out of there fast enough. If you are in the area and dying for an Indian there's a really decent one in Rhayader - worth the extra 15 - 20 mins in a car without a doubt!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsDeWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived in the area today so first visit to a local eatery, we found the restaurant welcoming and the staff friendly without rushing us. We had our drinks while we waited for the food to arrive and when it did we were very surprised. Everything was freshly cooked, piping hot and delicious. This has to be one of the best Indian meals we have had and we left feeling very full and satisfied

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank waggers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

Newtown, Powys
Llanidloes, Powys
 
Llanidloes, Powys
 
Llanidloes, Powys
 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing