We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
38
19
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
19
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesone nightlake brunnerbedroom cottagea real gembeautiful place to stayshared facilitiesshower blockkitchen facilitiesglow wormsnice locationstayed nightsdouble bedlovely placearthurs passwekabirds
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2016

A wonderful place that is close to all you need but still far enough away to be away from it all. The lady that runs this place is one of the nicest people out! She gave great suggestions for hikes around the area, I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends! Also has GREAT outdoor area/playground if you have young kids and it's cool to see the Weka's roaming around.

Room Tip: Cottage's are cozy
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bdelaney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This place is okay if you need to stop while passing through. My view might be coloured by being initially served by someone who smelled of alcohol, and seemed a bit brusque with it, but I have to admit that the person who showed us to our cabin was polite and helpful to a fault. The cabin was serviceable enough, although having the main bed out in the living area and the kids' bunks in a separate room was a novel approach. Check the security of guard rails on the top bunks before letting young kids sleep in them. Also, the windows had no screens, which isn't great on the west coast of the South Island, which has no shortage of midges, mosquitoes, sandflies and biting insects not yet named. As the cabin also had no air conditioning, you could leave the windows open and get eaten, or shut them and sweat. Still, that was summer, and staying in spring or autumn, without kids along, would have been completely different. We staid in outwardly similar cabins at Akaroa the night before, and Franz Josef the night after, and they were both far superior inside, although both more expensive, so perhaps I'm being harsh.
On the up side, the cost is modest, especially for the number of people a cabin will hold, and the complex is very handy to the lake, and also handy to the Arnold River if you're keen on fishing. I caught a 20 inch trout next to the first bridge towards Greymouth before the family woke up in the morning, and one can't complain about that. Lake Brunner is definitely worth going to, and this place will get you plenty of beds at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The map gives the appearance that the complex has river frontage on the Arnold River, but it doesn't, that I could find.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Quiet and relaxing. We stayed in one of the cottages. Didn't even know there were other people around. It is only a little way out of town. You have the option of driving in for food or can self cater. It is a great place to stay. The owners are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend. Good value for money.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SuzW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a long journey and managed to get a family motel like cottage for the night. Rooms are comfortable and cosy. The fridge was our only annoyance it clunked and made awful noises when trying to sleep. Highlights was hearing a morepork(owl) in the night. Its a quiet spot camping sites look great we wiuld look at returning to camp. The hosts are welcoming and informative.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank malcolmnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Just returned from spending 3 nights here. We really enjoyed our stay. We had booked a powered site for a tent but on arrival was given the option to stay in the grassed section and run a power cord from the power boxes. The grounds are immaculate and facilities excellent and clean. The hosts are very nice and welcoming. We will definately be back. A must stay for all travellers to Lake Brunner ☺

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank keentraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews