We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”
Review of La Trinquette

La Trinquette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

But excellent food. Depends whether you are willing to wait.

We waited a long time for our order to be taken, our plates to be taken away, water. Much of a dampner on an otherwise perfect visit to grandcamp Maisey.

Go for the marine restaurant near the beach bar instead

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A very good menu and well executed dishes, no doubt about that. However, we were seated outside on a rather chilly evening. It was the only table left, so we knew to wrap up. However with a reservation for 8pm it was 20 minutes before our order was taken and 30 minutes before we got our drinks. It felt very much like we were being ignored.
And with four children in the party this did not make for a harmonious meal. I would suggest that if it is too much of a stretch to serve outdoors then just stick to regular indoor tables.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Dropped in to this restaurant on the way back to Cherbourg. Good choice. Though the restaurant specialises in seafood, the rest of the menu is equally good. Four of us had three courses each and they were all excellent. Good value wine list and friendly service. Highly recommended. Probably a good idea to book in high season.

1  Thank DorsetDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois G, Propriétaire at La Trinquette, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks DorsetDarcy,
François.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The food was excellent and the people were friendly. We had the three course menu and all five of us were happy with the variety and high quality, which was no small feat! Fish soup was very good with a hint of spices to add a bit of heat.

1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois G, Propriétaire at La Trinquette, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks Brian.
All the team Trinquette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stopped in at La Trinquette for a final family lunch after a fortnight of memorable culinary experiences (mostly pretty-good-to-excellent) on our holiday in France. We chose it because of the the TripAdvisor rating as #1 in Grandcamp-Maisy (which we picked as the 'last' town before heading for the ferry at Cherbourg). We were, emphatically, NOT disappointed.

The dining room, with a pleasant sunny terrace at the rear, is far more stylish than the unprepossessing front of the restaurant might suggest - a really calm atmosphere, with plenty of space. This setting is complemented by a low-key, but nonetheless very warm welcome from the front-of-house team.

The scope of the menu is just what you might expect from an establishment sandwiched between the the rich pastures of The Marais & the plentiful waters of La Manche. Value is pretty good too, with a wide ranging and fairly-priced wine-list offsetting a broad choice of uber-fresh and accurately prepared classic dishes. We opted for the 4-course 'Menu Liberte', which lived up to its billing splendidly.

Particular favourites/treats were the delicate blue lobster, the perfectly-cooked sole meuniere, the luxuriant cheese course and the rich-but-dainty profiteroles ... all highly recommended, as, enthusiastically, is La Trinquette itself.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois G, Propriétaire at La Trinquette, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017
Google Translation

Thank you Simon
François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Trinquette also viewed

Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
 
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
 

Been to La Trinquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing