We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value diving anywhere in the world?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best value diving anywhere in the world?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at Two Fish Bunaken on an off-season 50% buddy discount offer, in a budget room. Overall our experience was excellent, and to get 6 nights accommodation full board plus 11 quality dives, all for 300 euros per person is exceptionally good value for money (can that be beaten anywhere?)
- The diving was much better than expected (perhaps we were lucky with the weather during the wet season) - fantastic wall dives, vis 15-25m, great corals, black and whitetip sharks, loads of turtles, eagle rays, mandarin fish - much better than the best of what Thailand had to offer for us this year during their high season
- The accommodation was fine based on our expectations and it was great value for money (we had been backpacking through Thailand for a month before this, so a not-so-nice bathroom floor and slightly damp bedsheets - tough to deal with in wet season, plus some motorbike noise outside - were par for the course. If you are on vacation, perhaps better to take one of their bungalows instead - it's probably worth the extra money)
- The staff were fantastic and the organisation exceptionally good. Our dive guide Jhon was a really nice guy and very competent. We didn't have to do any of the legwork ourselves, equipment all set up for us and ready to go. The instructors who manage the resort on a day-to-day basis - Liz and Brendon - are really nice people and exceptionally good at their jobs (If I ever decide to do instructor training, I would definitely go find Brendon and hopefully he will still be at Two Fish!). I liked Brendon's presentations in the evenings which were very interesting.
- The food was excellent, tasty and plenty of it. The restaurant, bar and other buildings are nicely presented.

I hope we have the opportunity to go back in the near future, I would definitely choose Two Fish again!

Room Tip: The budget rooms are fine for backpackers or those on a very tight budget, if I was returning on hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    97
    17
    16
    5
See reviews for
25
113
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I spent seven nights at Two Fish Bunaken in January.

All the transfers from the airport to the resort were seamless, a sign of good things to come.

The welcome we received was friendly and informative. We stayed in a superior cottage, our cottage had a double bed, two single beds, en-suite bathroom, two fans, mosquito repellant, tea and coffee and a veranda with hammock. The room was very clean, with towels and bedding changed every two to three days. Food was very good, and it was nice to get a taste for local food, though we believe some of the spice has been taken out to accomodate western palettes. One thing worth trying are the breakfast specials that are local dishes, steamed cassava is not one of the world's great dishes, but the Manado porridge was pretty tasty.

All the staff could not do enough for you, they were really friendly and the owners Tina and Nigel were always on hand if you had any queries. When we left the new managers Brendan and Liz had just arrived and seemed friendly folk.

Now for the diving. All the dive guides are local Indonesians, their knowledge of the dive sites was first class. The dive guides also look after your gear for you, setting it up, cleaning etc. The dive sites are very close to the resort, mainly within 15 minutes. This is an advantage to staying on the island, as opposed to staying on the mainland near to Manado. One very nice touch on the boat is fresh water, tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits available after every dive. The diving is mainly very beautiful coral walls, dropping to 60m. The visibility is very good (30 metres plus). The usual range of reef fish, turtles, nudibranch can be seen. We also saw two sharks, black tip and white tip, a mobula ray, bargibanti and pontohi pygmy seahorses. Currents are a bit bizarre, you can find yourself at 20m drifting one way, you will ascend to 15m and drift the other way.

The resort is mainly focused on divers, there is little for non divers to do, no pool to lounge around, though one is under construction. The local village is fifteen minutes walk away and worth a visit, if only to see the cemetery!!!

The resort will arrange a massage by a local person for roughly $10US, if you want a lovely spa experience visit the Spa in the The Village hotel next door, though this will be closer to UK prices, and the beer is more expensive!! My wife had a relaxing massage and a facial in truly relaxing and luxurious surroundings and was very impressed.

We would thoroughly recommend Two Fish (ignore the review in the Lonely Planet, that review is not what we saw at all).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and i stayed at Two Fish for 6 nights during which time we did 12 dives. The staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful. We didn't want to leave!

The grounds were impeccably clean and well maintained. We loved the garden!

We were very happy to see that the majority of staff employed at Two Fish were locals.

The diving around Bunaken Island was, for us, on par with Mabul and Sipdian!! Such healthy walls!! We saw eagle rays, reef sharks, lots of green and hawksbill, giant trevally, napoleon wrasse, dog toothed tuna, soo many differetn types of reef fish.......amazing!!

Our dive guide was very professional, knowledgable and the dive gear and equipment was well maintained.

You can't go wrong with Two Fish!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed two weeks on Twofish. It was the fourth time I visited Bunaken for diving but the first time I stayed at Twofish.
Good room, great service, very good dive boats.
I go back to Bunaken next week and staying for two weeks
For the first time when I go back to a place I will stay at the same resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rundis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was my second time staying at Two Fish Bunaken. I have stayed at Two Fish Lembeh as well.

Two Fish Bunaken is the perfect dive resort. It's simple and no fuss which is all you need for a dive holiday because the focus is on the diving. The dive facilities are first rate as are the staff. The food is excellent and the staff make an effort to try to include something local on the menu everyday so that guests get to experience something new.

Its a very well run resort and the fact that you can so easily transfer to their Lembeh resort makes it very attractive.

Two Fish is great value for money and is ideally located on Bunaken island as opposed to some dive resorts which are located on the mainland. Its fantastic that some of the best dive sites are less than 5 minutes away (and there was even a whale shark on the house reef a couple of weeks ago).

I'll be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
2.1 km away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 km away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.3 km away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.1 km away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Fish Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Fish Divers Bunaken

Property: Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island 95113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price range (per night): RM88 - RM176
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cosy resort based on Bunaken Island, characterised by:• Beach-side accommodation - wooden cottages with cooling fan, HOT water showers and large balconies with hammocks.• Other resort amenities include 18m swimming pool; 24 hour electricity; relaxing area; beach café; FREE wifi internet; book swap facility.• Small &Personal with really friendly staff.• European management – owned and managed by Tina and Nigel, who have been living & diving on Bunaken for more than 10 years.• No crowds - maximum 20-22 divers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Fish Divers Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island
2 Fish Divers Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing