We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
283
221
86
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
221
86
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool orangutan sanctuary standard chalet walking distance sun bear rustic charm outdoor shower plunge pool restaurant area jungle view nice balcony visiting sepilok stayed longer labuk bay stayed here for nights breakfast was included proboscis monkeys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2020

We loved our stay at the Sepilok Forest Edge Resort. We were in the superior chalet, which was beautifully decorated and far more spacious than we needed. I absolutely loved the outdoor bathroom (we had an indoor one as well!) The resort is in a great location in the jungle, within walking distance to Sepilok Orangutan and Sun bear conservation centres. It was well maintained and beautiful surroundings. The resort has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Breakfasts aren't that great, but evening meals were good.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chimptrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

The resort is super convenient to the Sun Bear Sanctuary and the Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre. We had no trouble getting Grabs at any stage to go further afield. We stayed in the superior chalet, and it was well appointed and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including helping us get a treasured possession home which was left behind in our room. The setting is very peaceful. The restaurant food provides a good range of options and at reasonable prices. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank peta_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

Nothing better than relaxing on the resort restaurant deck and watching the evening sky and listening to the sounds of the jungle after a great day at the Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and going out to the very entertaining proboscis monkeys at the late afternoon session at Labuk Bay. Cold drinks and an excellent menu based on local ingredients capped off a great day away from the 'hustle and bustle' of downtown Sandakan! Nice rooms and very helpful resort staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

We left this “resort” with mixed feelings. Initially, we had a very positive first impression and were so pleased with the friendly, thoughtful staff who welcomed us. Our cabin was clean and cosy, with a very cool indoor/outdoor washroom. The restaurant area has a large open deck which overlooks a lake. At night the lights give the whole resort area a very warm, welcoming glow. This is a very easy and convenient jumping-off place for various jungle adventures and tours.
However, we soon came to find that the menu was deceptive in its descriptions. Most dishes were not at all what we expected.
The strangest moment was Christmas Day - most of the restaurant area was closed off for a private party hosted by the owners of the resort. We as guests all felt oddly intrusive, unwelcome, and uncomfortable, a very unhappy feeling to have on Christmas. Finally, when checking out we were rudely charged 10 ringgit for a broken pillow which was broken when we checked in. This was a very negative final interaction and really spoiled our visit.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Weeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Amazing location near the the main attractions. You are in the middle of the jungle but still feel safe and looked after. The staff is very friendly. Thank you.
The main restaurant serve. Ice affordable food.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 585luigip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews