We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Paganakan Dii is simply amazing. The staff are friendly and ridiculously helpful. We travelled with our own car and with all the pot holes, floods etc we suffered a puncture. We didn't even need to ask as a member of staff spotted our flat tyre and changed it for us!

The accommodation is breathtaking with showers outside overlooking the jungle aka Eden. Great vibe, lovely food and an abundance of tours offered.

Go!

Room Tip: Deluxe Ridge Hut with own bathroom and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarobellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    154
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
73
240
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at Paganakan Dii in December 2011 and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a private room that had a balcony overlooking the jungle, with a shower / toilet that was semi outside so it had a view overlooking the jungle as well.The rooms were comfy enough but are basically wooden huts, dont expect 5* luxury.
The location is slightly farther away from the orangutan sanctuary than some other hotels but they do offer a free shuttle service in time for the feedings and are happy to arrange private transport at other times for a small charge (less than a private taxi).
The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped us to arrange the next part of our journey on the Kinabangan River as well as a morning out to the probosis sanctuary (we would definitely recommend doing this if you have time!!)
The food on offer was fairly limited, but was all very nice and the daily specials were delicious!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Paganakan Dii was such a great place to stay. We stayed in both the dorms and the huts during our stay. While both were great, I have to say, if you have the money to splurge for the ridge huts- do it. So worth it to have your own porch to hang out on and just enjoy your surroundings. There are also many public places- the sun deck, the hammocks, the main lodge- for you to sit and read or take a nap or talk with other travelers

The staff was amazing. We got in during the evening and hoped to book a tour for the next day. We flipped through some brochures while waiting for our food at dinner time and once we decided what we wanted to do they had everything booked and set for the next day before we finished dinner. And speaking of dinner- everything we ate there was delicious and reasonably priced. Since everyone eats dinner at the same place around the same time it was a good opportunity to catch up with other travelers and hear all the cool stuff they did that day.

I will definitely be referring this place to any of my friends who plan on visiting Sabah.

Room Tip: The ridge huts look out over the trees and have open air showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMiss29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The website is a little misleading and presents Paganakan Dii as an idyllic tropical getaway. It may have been such when it first opened but it's now somewhat underwhelming. It's not hard to visualise how it looked originally but the woodwork is faded, the weather having taking it's toll, and the fixtures/fittings could do with a spring clean. Alas, it feels distinctly uncared for and given that I found it overpriced. The setting is quite pretty if a little difficult to get to without your own transport. Food was average and unfortunately they charge for the bad coffee. Our chalet was a bit musty though the bed was comfortable and the mosquito net welcome. The shower didn't work and despite trying they were unable to get the hot water running. Staff were efficient and generally friendly. It could be really good if it was better maintained and cleaner. That siad I'd rate it more highly as is if the price was more in keeping with what is currently on offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondo_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed in Paganakan Dii for a night after arriving in Sandakan at around 8.10pm at night (planning to leave at 9am the next day). As of such I did not want to spend too much money on accomodation that I would barely be in. I booked a longhouse bunk for RM 30 (which included breakfast) for this purpose.

The longhouse dorm was fine - to my surprise when I arrived at the dorm at 9-ish the lights were off and everyone was sleeping wtihout any fans! I was shocked that the longhouse did not have any AC or fans as it was really humid! However, upon further investigation, it turns out that the longhouse dorm does have fans - it just wasn't switched on.

The people there were really friendly, and helpful. The breakfast which was included in the rate was okay - self service coffee, toast, eggs and sausage. There was also free transfers to Sepilok Orang Utan Centre and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. I saw on the board that there were also transfers to the Labuk Probisicis Sanctuary for RM 30 per person on the shuttle.

Overall, I found the place reasonable for RM 30 for an overnight stay for a first timer to Sandakan who wants to be near Sepilok. Maybe I will try the actual private rooms next time to see how they are.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
4.1 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
590 reviews
4.1 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
21.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
524 reviews
21.1 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
319 reviews
4.4 km away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Property: Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Address: Mile 14 | Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sepilok
Price range (per night): RM64 - RM172
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paganakan Dii is the perfect retreat to experience Nature in its most serene and natural state. Built on a site high above the surrounding foliage, the combination of cool longhouses and cosy duplex chalets makes for an experience worth a thousand images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing