We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meriton Suites North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$174
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carnarvon Lodge(Kirribilli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
156
139
39
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
139
39
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomglenferrie lodgecircular quayno liftshort walkbreakfast was excellentshared facilitiescoffee making facilitiestrain stationlovely gardenopera housemilson's pointmobility issuessingle roomvending machinetop floorsmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed at Glenferrie for one night midweek- we wanted to explore Kiribilli and have a close base to go back to.

We were both on a budget- so after trawling through dodgy looking motels for around the same price we were surprised to find something that looked so great.

We weren't disappointed when we arrived- the building is beautiful with a great outdoor seating area and garden. It would be perfect to share a bottle of wine in!

The rooms are a decent size with a shared bathroom- we found the bathrooms were nearly always empty and kept clean.

The only small issue we had was the noise from the air con unit. It did keep us up for a while- but we just turned it off and used to fan in the end which was sufficient.

The location is great for exploring- only 10 minutes from Milsons Point station to the hotel. In the evening we had a pleasant walk to the bars and restaurants. The views are spectacular as you can see the whole of Sydney Harbour including the Opera House and Bridge.

Helpful and friendly staff when we checked in- cannot complain!

I was sad to leave this place after just one night and hope to return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abbiejacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Abbie Jackson,

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review. I am really happy you had a pleasant stay and that we did not disappoint. I am going to check on the AC in your room as it should be silent and I suspect it may be a faulty unit which I'll ensure gets fixed. Again thank you for coming to stay and we hope that you come back again soon.

Sincerely

JC Branch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We visited as a family with parents, two daughters and a grandmother attending a wedding in Sydney. The reception was at Luna Park so Glenferrie Lodge was ideal as a base. The lodge is superb; old style with basic but comfortable and very clean rooms, a great full breakfast included in our two day stay. It is very convenient to ferries and within walking distance of the railway station. Day parking and after hours street parking can be difficult but not impossible to find - a matter of chance. That and the shortage of rooms with an ensuite (we had shared facilities which were ok), a steep staircase to upstairs rooms and some creaky wooden floors would be the only shortcomings. We would definitely return if looking for accommodation in this part of Sydney.

Room Tip: Room 50 is a twin room without ensuite located adjacent to an outdoor sitting area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benningsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Glenferrie Lodge was a key part of a fantastic visit to Sydney. Great, tucked-away location in beautiful residential Kirribilli with short walks to spectacular views. Easy access to everything via F5 Kirribilli Wharf ferry and if you miss a particular boat you have the F4 service from Milson's Point, as well as the north south train line. Great ambiance and atmosphere. Super, super helpful staff. Rooms very clean; beds very comfortable. Rooms can be small but it wasn't an issue for us. Nice selection of restaurants and small grocers also about 10min walk away.

Room Tip: It's a heritage building, so no elevators. Talk with the front desk staff by phone they'll help you find the right room type.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SERUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for 5 nights. The lodge was lovely with great dining area out outside area. Rooms were well equipped and bathrooms very modern and clean. Good location next to ferry port to get to the main parts of the city.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Glenferrie Lodge is located on a nice quiet street in Kirribilli. The ferry to Circular Quay is less than 5 minutes walk away. It was kind of cool for us taking the ferry going to Circular Quay because the harbor scenery is so awesome! Staff are very helpful and courteous. Linens are very clean. Bed is very comfortable. Although we chose a bedroom with shared bathroom, it wasn’t really inconvenient. The bathrooms were very near our room. Breakfast buffet has several choices. The place has a garden in the back where guests could relax and children could play. Only thing is there’s no lift because the building is a heritage site. But the staff helps carry the luggage up the stairs. Will definitely come back to stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stregine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Stregine,

It's wonderful to read your review. I am genuinely happy you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast, room and staff to be pleasant. And of course our location is pretty good. I also love catching the ferry into town. it's one of the best bargains around as you get a mini tour of the best sites on the harbour all for the cost of a ticket.

I am sorry we don't have an elevator we are in a heritage building that makes it very difficult to install an elevator. We look forward to you coming back again to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews