We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Arms Hotel(Temple Sowerby)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$382
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
164
24
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
24
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housespa bathlake districtcountry house stylememorable staycosy loungeour room was spotlessly cleanon arrivalwelcoming hotelboutique hotelovernight stoproaring firecomfortable nightlovely houseexcellent hostskings armsnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

First time here. Lovely old house, very well maintained. Congenial hosts and pleasant staff. But, the standout is the new chef's performance in the restaurant- definitely more innovative, beautifully presented and carefully produced than its historical two rosette rating would suggest. Easily the equal of a number of three rosette, four star country house hotels in my experience, and therefore extremely good value.
Great location and base from which to explore the beautiful countryside that benefits from being slightly less famous than the adjacent Lake District.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

A big thank you from Jack! Really good of you to take the time to review and we're delighted you enjoyed your experience of TSH - hope to see you again on your travels. We are certainly in the perfect location for a Scotland stopover and many of our guests stop on the way north or south to make the journey more memorable. Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Yet another relaxing and refreshing stay at TSH. Julie and Paul are always so welcoming and all the staff go out of their way to make us feel at home. New chef Jack has produced some very innovative and tasty dishes and to enjoy a lovely meal overlooking the spring garden was just such a treat! Nothing is too much trouble here and it certainly shows. A great place to meet and catch up with our very good friends. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 has an excellent walk in shower.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wenallt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much and we're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at TSH again! Our new chef, Jack, has certainly come up with some interesting menus and, you're right, now that the evenings are getting longer, dining in our restaurant whilst it's still light is wonderful!
Hope to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

As a company we've used Temple Sowerby as a venue for several off site meetings. Julie and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful - so far as even allocating regular guests their favourite rooms! The venue is absolutely stunning, organisation is fantastic and I can't fault them!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlottecaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

20 yrs since I last visited this little hotel, so slightly anxious as had no idea what was awaiting us. Well I had no need to worry - what a gem of a place!
A very warm welcome on a very wet and windy evening from the helpful staff, lovely clean, cosy room with Molton Brown toiletries, and after a relaxing bath and change we headed downstairs to the cosy lounge for a drink by the roaring fire.
Canapés served while waiting for dinner, followed by the best meal we have had in years. Absolutely delicious!
A quiet, comfortable night and excellent breakfast.
Planning on a return visit next year. Certainly not going to leave it another 20yrs this time!!
Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FJHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

We'll hold you to that, 20 years is far too long! Thank you for reviewing, and for such glowing praise too! Our staff will be delighted, particularly Jack, the Chef - his menus are certainly creating a lot of interest amongst our guests. See you back for more soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had a wonderful one night stay at TSH. Our room was spotlessly clean with a very well appointed bathroom. The spa bath is terrific. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant and both agreed that having eaten in many Lake District restaurants that the quality of the food at TSH must make it one of the best around. TSH is a hidden gem and well worth a visit. The food and service are faultless. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely bathroom and great views
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RickandKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

What a lovely review, thank you so much! I've passed your kind comments on to all the staff, who work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay. In particular, our Chef Jack Bradley has been with us just 3 months and his food is certainly outstanding, so this is great feedback thanks. Hopefully see you again soon for dinner and thanks again for taking time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews