We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fifteen minutes taxi ride from Penrith.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

A nice little place to stay for your excursions into the Lake District. Rooms were well maintained and clean. As I am 6 foot 3, I found the double bed a bit small, but had a good night sleep after the previous night wine tasting and dinner! Breakfast was very nice indeed. We were lucky with fantastic weather to make the whole stay and reunion with old friends a most pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adelera2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing and it was certainly an excellent wine tasting! Delighted too that you all enjoyed your dinner so much - it was a jolly occasion!
As you mention, being so close to Penrith makes TSH an ideal place from which to explore both the Lake District and the Dales too, so hope we'll see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

First time here. Lovely old house, very well maintained. Congenial hosts and pleasant staff. But, the standout is the new chef's performance in the restaurant- definitely more innovative, beautifully presented and carefully produced than its historical two rosette rating would suggest. Easily the equal of a number of three rosette, four star country house hotels in my experience, and therefore extremely good value.
Great location and base from which to explore the beautiful countryside that benefits from being slightly less famous than the adjacent Lake District.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

A big thank you from Jack! Really good of you to take the time to review and we're delighted you enjoyed your experience of TSH - hope to see you again on your travels. We are certainly in the perfect location for a Scotland stopover and many of our guests stop on the way north or south to make the journey more memorable. Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Yet another relaxing and refreshing stay at TSH. Julie and Paul are always so welcoming and all the staff go out of their way to make us feel at home. New chef Jack has produced some very innovative and tasty dishes and to enjoy a lovely meal overlooking the spring garden was just such a treat! Nothing is too much trouble here and it certainly shows. A great place to meet and catch up with our very good friends. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 has an excellent walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wenallt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much and we're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at TSH again! Our new chef, Jack, has certainly come up with some interesting menus and, you're right, now that the evenings are getting longer, dining in our restaurant whilst it's still light is wonderful!
Hope to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

As a company we've used Temple Sowerby as a venue for several off site meetings. Julie and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful - so far as even allocating regular guests their favourite rooms! The venue is absolutely stunning, organisation is fantastic and I can't fault them!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlottecaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

20 yrs since I last visited this little hotel, so slightly anxious as had no idea what was awaiting us. Well I had no need to worry - what a gem of a place!
A very warm welcome on a very wet and windy evening from the helpful staff, lovely clean, cosy room with Molton Brown toiletries, and after a relaxing bath and change we headed downstairs to the cosy lounge for a drink by the roaring fire.
Canapés served while waiting for dinner, followed by the best meal we have had in years. Absolutely delicious!
A quiet, comfortable night and excellent breakfast.
Planning on a return visit next year. Certainly not going to leave it another 20yrs this time!!
Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FJHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

We'll hold you to that, 20 years is far too long! Thank you for reviewing, and for such glowing praise too! Our staff will be delighted, particularly Jack, the Chef - his menus are certainly creating a lot of interest amongst our guests. See you back for more soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Sowerby
10.2 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.4 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
10.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Roundthorn Country House
16.4 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
420 reviews
12.6 km away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Temple Sowerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Price Range: RM703 - RM853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Daniel combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure!Call us direct for best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing