We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Arms Hotel(Temple Sowerby)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
163
24
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
24
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housespa bathlake districtcountry house stylememorable staycosy loungeour room was spotlessly cleanon arrivalwelcoming hotelboutique hotelovernight stoproaring firecomfortable nightlovely houseexcellent hostskings armsnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the first time at the end of last year en route from the south to Scotland. It is in a superb location - easy to reach from main motorway but so peaceful and relaxing after a long journey! Hosts ( Paul & Julie) were welcoming and helpful not only during our stay but at booking with clear travel directions! Restaurant dinner was excellent - as was freshly cooked to order breakfast next morning. We are very much looking forward to our next stay!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Borizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review and, like yourselves, many of our guests take a night's refuge from the rigours of motorway driving! We're a very handy spot for that....I'll pass on your kind comments to our chef, Jack, and delighted you enjoyed breakfast too, a very important meal that is too often neglected by hotels! We look forward to seeing you again when your on your travels, or even for a short break here? Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

A nice little place to stay for your excursions into the Lake District. Rooms were well maintained and clean. As I am 6 foot 3, I found the double bed a bit small, but had a good night sleep after the previous night wine tasting and dinner! Breakfast was very nice indeed. We were lucky with fantastic weather to make the whole stay and reunion with old friends a most pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adelera2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing and it was certainly an excellent wine tasting! Delighted too that you all enjoyed your dinner so much - it was a jolly occasion!
As you mention, being so close to Penrith makes TSH an ideal place from which to explore both the Lake District and the Dales too, so hope we'll see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

First time here. Lovely old house, very well maintained. Congenial hosts and pleasant staff. But, the standout is the new chef's performance in the restaurant- definitely more innovative, beautifully presented and carefully produced than its historical two rosette rating would suggest. Easily the equal of a number of three rosette, four star country house hotels in my experience, and therefore extremely good value.
Great location and base from which to explore the beautiful countryside that benefits from being slightly less famous than the adjacent Lake District.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

A big thank you from Jack! Really good of you to take the time to review and we're delighted you enjoyed your experience of TSH - hope to see you again on your travels. We are certainly in the perfect location for a Scotland stopover and many of our guests stop on the way north or south to make the journey more memorable. Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Yet another relaxing and refreshing stay at TSH. Julie and Paul are always so welcoming and all the staff go out of their way to make us feel at home. New chef Jack has produced some very innovative and tasty dishes and to enjoy a lovely meal overlooking the spring garden was just such a treat! Nothing is too much trouble here and it certainly shows. A great place to meet and catch up with our very good friends. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 has an excellent walk in shower.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wenallt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much and we're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at TSH again! Our new chef, Jack, has certainly come up with some interesting menus and, you're right, now that the evenings are getting longer, dining in our restaurant whilst it's still light is wonderful!
Hope to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

As a company we've used Temple Sowerby as a venue for several off site meetings. Julie and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful - so far as even allocating regular guests their favourite rooms! The venue is absolutely stunning, organisation is fantastic and I can't fault them!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlottecaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews