We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I stayed here at the end of June and had a super time. The room I had at the front of the hotel was spacious and airy, spotless and very well appointed with a comfy bed and stylish en-suite. I ate in the award winning restaurant overlooking the croquet lawn, where the guests were entertained by a family of small ducklings, and I had one of the most delicious starters I think I have ever had. Nowadays in hotels, one always seems to have to wander around a breakfast buffet, but not here. Breakfast, again in the restaurant, was chosen off the menu, and all was fresh and hot, setting me up for the day ahead.
The owners were very welcoming and happy to chat as they personally attended on their guests. This place is a real gem, ideal for an overnight stay when heading up to Scotland from the south, as I was.

Room Tip: Talk to Mr and Mrs Evans about what you'd like.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 9sjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it's much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, particularly the food which is always a highlight! The entertainment provided by the ducks is totally free of charge - an added bonus! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Temple Sowerby House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the first time at the end of last year en route from the south to Scotland. It is in a superb location - easy to reach from main motorway but so peaceful and relaxing after a long journey! Hosts ( Paul & Julie) were welcoming and helpful not only during our stay but at booking with clear travel directions! Restaurant dinner was excellent - as was freshly cooked to order breakfast next morning. We are very much looking forward to our next stay!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Borizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review and, like yourselves, many of our guests take a night's refuge from the rigours of motorway driving! We're a very handy spot for that....I'll pass on your kind comments to our chef, Jack, and delighted you enjoyed breakfast too, a very important meal that is too often neglected by hotels! We look forward to seeing you again when your on your travels, or even for a short break here? Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

A nice little place to stay for your excursions into the Lake District. Rooms were well maintained and clean. As I am 6 foot 3, I found the double bed a bit small, but had a good night sleep after the previous night wine tasting and dinner! Breakfast was very nice indeed. We were lucky with fantastic weather to make the whole stay and reunion with old friends a most pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adelera2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for reviewing and it was certainly an excellent wine tasting! Delighted too that you all enjoyed your dinner so much - it was a jolly occasion!
As you mention, being so close to Penrith makes TSH an ideal place from which to explore both the Lake District and the Dales too, so hope we'll see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

First time here. Lovely old house, very well maintained. Congenial hosts and pleasant staff. But, the standout is the new chef's performance in the restaurant- definitely more innovative, beautifully presented and carefully produced than its historical two rosette rating would suggest. Easily the equal of a number of three rosette, four star country house hotels in my experience, and therefore extremely good value.
Great location and base from which to explore the beautiful countryside that benefits from being slightly less famous than the adjacent Lake District.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

A big thank you from Jack! Really good of you to take the time to review and we're delighted you enjoyed your experience of TSH - hope to see you again on your travels. We are certainly in the perfect location for a Scotland stopover and many of our guests stop on the way north or south to make the journey more memorable. Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Yet another relaxing and refreshing stay at TSH. Julie and Paul are always so welcoming and all the staff go out of their way to make us feel at home. New chef Jack has produced some very innovative and tasty dishes and to enjoy a lovely meal overlooking the spring garden was just such a treat! Nothing is too much trouble here and it certainly shows. A great place to meet and catch up with our very good friends. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 has an excellent walk in shower.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wenallt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much and we're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at TSH again! Our new chef, Jack, has certainly come up with some interesting menus and, you're right, now that the evenings are getting longer, dining in our restaurant whilst it's still light is wonderful!
Hope to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Sowerby
10.2 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.4 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
8.6 km away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
895 reviews
16.4 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
412 reviews
34.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Temple Sowerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Price Range: RM686 - RM850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Daniel combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure!Call us direct for best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing