We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average food but not Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Above Average food but not Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were staying elsewhere in Thorpeness for the weekend and chose to eat at The Dolphin on Saturday evening. The Inn is a very pleasant and comfortable venue similar in many ways to several others along the coast here that cater to the corduroy and Boden clad professional middle class weekenders who flock to Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, Walberswick and Southwold throughout the year. We had popped in earlier in the evening to book and were offered either a 6:30pm or 9pm sitting. We elected for 9pm and turned up a little earlier, we were shown to our reserved table in the window and ordered. I had chicken Liver Pate to start and my partner the smoked Salmon. The Chicken Liver Pate was presented really nicely in spring top jar toasted bread and chutney on the side, unfortunately the chicken liver pate was very mild in taste to the point of blandness and also very cold as if straight from the fridge, so a little disappointing. My Partner’s smoked salmon had a good taste but a rather slimy texture which spoilt it a little for her and she was surprised that the salmon was not accompanied by any bread.
We both ordered fish and chips as a main course which was presented nicely, the chips in a little bowl and the cod an un-battered grilled piece of fillet sitting on a mixture of peas and capers. There were signs of lack of attention to detail in the cooking of the cod, the tail end of my piece having folded under during the cooking process leaving part of the fish uncooked. The fish was also incredibly salty, I wasn’t sure if this was accounted for by the char gilled surface of the cod which could have been painted in Anchovy butter prior to grilling or by the chef being a little heavy handed in the seasoning, not inedible but enough for both of us to comment and to mar our enjoyment of the fish.
In summary then a perfectly decent place to eat, comfortable bar and dining area, good friendly bar and waiting staff, food looked good and presented well, certainly above the average but let down by the taste and lack of attention to detail so only four rather than five out of five on this occasion but will try again next time I find myself in this part of the world

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 200911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    62
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
49
98
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

An excellent meal and friendly service by a nice open fire.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

When you vist a seaside pub for lunch on a Thursday in early February and there is hardly a (indoor) seat available, it's obvious the owners are doing doing most things right. The welcome & service were very good, the facilities were spotlessly clean, the blazing fire was just what was needed to warm away the chills of a bracing seafront walk & the real ale was of good quality.
Lunch when it arrived was hot & wholesome - but in honesty the food was a little disappointing when compared to the rest of our 'experience'. With just a little more effort & attention to detail in that area - I would have happily rated the Dolphin 'excellent' - as it is I feel slightly let down, which is a pity. Would I visit again - certainly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have visited The Dolphin before and always been impressed with the staff and the food but my experience of the place over the Christmas period was beyond my expectations. On Christmas Eve there was a bonfire and carol singers and the garden area was rammed with perhaps 400 people. Obviously getting served inside wasn't easy with so many customers in the Christmas mood but the staff worked tirelessly and remained in good spirits. Once the crowds thinned they even found time to serve dinner to a good number of people. There was no drop in quality of the food even though they must have been stretched.

It was the perfect place to spend a Christmas Eve as it seemed that the pub had drawn the entire local community together. There was a great family atmosphere and I will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgedge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I, the significant other and two friends (staying in Aldeburgh for a long weekend) ate at the Dolphin inn on the Saturday night of 12th November.

No problem booking the night before.

We had a lovely meal: fish cakes, homemade chicken liver pate and duck salad for starts, Skate, steak and one of the best burgers with blue cheese and bacon followed.

Really excellent, well executed food served with cheer. Good wine on offer (2 bottles red, sunk)

We found ourselves last in the bar at the end of the evening and when we asked for a taxi, we were told we'd get a lift. And we did! One of the staff drove us all the way home back to Aldeburgh and wouldn't accept any payment or a tip.

Overall, a lovely night out and outstanding service and friendliness. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattCooke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
3.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
3.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 km away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
9.7 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
10.7 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Property: The Dolphin Inn
Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price range (per night): RM363 - RM713
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing