We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average food but not Excellent”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were staying elsewhere in Thorpeness for the weekend and chose to eat at The Dolphin on Saturday evening. The Inn is a very pleasant and comfortable venue similar in many ways to several others along the coast here that cater to the corduroy and Boden clad professional middle class weekenders who flock to Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, Walberswick and Southwold throughout the year. We had popped in earlier in the evening to book and were offered either a 6:30pm or 9pm sitting. We elected for 9pm and turned up a little earlier, we were shown to our reserved table in the window and ordered. I had chicken Liver Pate to start and my partner the smoked Salmon. The Chicken Liver Pate was presented really nicely in spring top jar toasted bread and chutney on the side, unfortunately the chicken liver pate was very mild in taste to the point of blandness and also very cold as if straight from the fridge, so a little disappointing. My Partner’s smoked salmon had a good taste but a rather slimy texture which spoilt it a little for her and she was surprised that the salmon was not accompanied by any bread.
We both ordered fish and chips as a main course which was presented nicely, the chips in a little bowl and the cod an un-battered grilled piece of fillet sitting on a mixture of peas and capers. There were signs of lack of attention to detail in the cooking of the cod, the tail end of my piece having folded under during the cooking process leaving part of the fish uncooked. The fish was also incredibly salty, I wasn’t sure if this was accounted for by the char gilled surface of the cod which could have been painted in Anchovy butter prior to grilling or by the chef being a little heavy handed in the seasoning, not inedible but enough for both of us to comment and to mar our enjoyment of the fish.
In summary then a perfectly decent place to eat, comfortable bar and dining area, good friendly bar and waiting staff, food looked good and presented well, certainly above the average but let down by the taste and lack of attention to detail so only four rather than five out of five on this occasion but will try again next time I find myself in this part of the world

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 200,911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

An excellent meal and friendly service by a nice open fire.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

When you vist a seaside pub for lunch on a Thursday in early February and there is hardly a (indoor) seat available, it's obvious the owners are doing doing most things right. The welcome & service were very good, the facilities were spotlessly clean, the blazing fire was just what was needed to warm away the chills of a bracing seafront walk & the real ale was of good quality.
Lunch when it arrived was hot & wholesome - but in honesty the food was a little disappointing when compared to the rest of our 'experience'. With just a little more effort & attention to detail in that area - I would have happily rated the Dolphin 'excellent' - as it is I feel slightly let down, which is a pity. Would I visit again - certainly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have visited The Dolphin before and always been impressed with the staff and the food but my experience of the place over the Christmas period was beyond my expectations. On Christmas Eve there was a bonfire and carol singers and the garden area was rammed with perhaps 400 people. Obviously getting served inside wasn't easy with so many customers in the Christmas mood but the staff worked tirelessly and remained in good spirits. Once the crowds thinned they even found time to serve dinner to a good number of people. There was no drop in quality of the food even though they must have been stretched.

It was the perfect place to spend a Christmas Eve as it seemed that the pub had drawn the entire local community together. There was a great family atmosphere and I will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgedge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I, the significant other and two friends (staying in Aldeburgh for a long weekend) ate at the Dolphin inn on the Saturday night of 12th November.

No problem booking the night before.

We had a lovely meal: fish cakes, homemade chicken liver pate and duck salad for starts, Skate, steak and one of the best burgers with blue cheese and bacon followed.

Really excellent, well executed food served with cheer. Good wine on offer (2 bottles red, sunk)

We found ourselves last in the bar at the end of the evening and when we asked for a taxi, we were told we'd get a lift. And we did! One of the staff drove us all the way home back to Aldeburgh and wouldn't accept any payment or a tip.

Overall, a lovely night out and outstanding service and friendliness. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MattCooke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
2.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
680 reviews
0.6 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
3.0 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,045 reviews
10.7 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
743 reviews
11.2 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range: RM482 - RM765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing