We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location for nature lovers!”
other travellers have booked this property
The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The View
Crossing Cottage
Thorpeness
Scallop shell sculpture, Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
belwaters...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location for nature lovers!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Crossing Cottage is ideally situated surrounded by peaceful countryside, various footpaths, ample bird life and the odd snake for company!! It is within a ten minute walk of the golf course and all the other amenities in Thorpeness - including the Kitchen @ The Emporium which serves wonderful coffee and the biggest scones you'll ever see!!
The house is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. Perfect for an escape but still within easy reach of all of Suffolk's coastal delights!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Hi Bel thank you for taking the time to review Crossing Cottage in Thorpeness. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the house comfortable and well equipped. At Aldeburgh Coastal we look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to return to Suffolk.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caltzie
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So peaceful, location very good and lovely walks”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful peaceful, very well equipped house. Catered for all our needs even had football nets, slide etc and table tennis. Great for families of all ages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clogstuff
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spacious child friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for a catch-up with friends as we were visiting from NZ. A mix of adults and young children, but at no time did the place seem crowded. The house is big and airy with spacious rooms. Note: No upstairs bathroom, all facilities are on the lower floor, but it wasn't a problem for us. The garden has a fantastic outlook with BBQ area and swings/slide for the children to play on. Rural outlook but still close to the village, a short walk beside the golf course to get to the Meare, and/or easy drive to get to the beach. Do ask for a map showing the location of the place as directions can be confusing if you're not familiar with the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Rural setting just outside the village, large garden with play area for children
Liked least: The directions were not very helpful and it took a while to find the place, a map showing the location would have been useful.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindaandm...
letchworthgardencity
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We managed to get a last minute 4 night stay with Aldeburgh Coastal cottages at Crossing Cottage near to Thorpeness. It slept 9 and the location was amazing, only a short drive off the main road this cottage stands on its own with beautiful views over the marshes. The silence is deafening! Our son & girlfriend joined us for a couple of nights and we took along our daughter's dog. We hired bikes for 24 hours and went off roading to Thorpeness and Aldeburgh. The weather was absolutely gorgeous. We had a bbq one evening on the patio, ate out in Aldeburgh and Thorpeness too. There is a full sized table tennis table and various board games too. The cottage had everything we needed although a few more Sun lounges would be needed if there was a house full. Staff at the letting agents were very helpful and easy to deal with.

Would love to go back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of property and plot
Liked least: Quite a lot of flies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional house and beautiful area”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a large group of 7 adults and two children for a week over Christmas. The house was stunning, very high standard of furnishings and such a well equipped kitchen! There was a small 'snug' which was perfect for the children and the large open plan living areas were fantastic for the group. Plenty of wood provided and all very clean. Right by some lovely woods and walks to thorpeness and aldeburgh as well as a small climbing frame and swing for the children on site!

Wonderful place to stay and highly recommend.

We only had one problem on occasion, we ran out of hot water but if you used the boost on the heating, it solved the problem easily.

Many thanks and happy new year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings, logfire, lovely kitchen
Liked least: Heating occasionally, but easily solved
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Dear Laura
Happy New Year to you too!
Many thanks for a great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us, and loved Crossing Cottage as much as we do - it really is a fab place for a family gathering.
We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Kindest regards
Angela
Aldeburgh Coastal Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing