We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering cottagefirst classwe loved our staycouple of nightselaineroomy
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Once again we experienced a fantastic welcome and fabulous hospitality. I cannot rate this B&B highly enough. They know the local area extremely well and were able to offer us excellent advice on where to visit. The room and bed is extremely comfortable, some times, too much! It is the best stocked bathroom for toiletries I have ever seen, you don't need to take anything extra, so helps greatly for weight especially when flying. We shall be returning again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Our experience with this B & B seems to be so different from other reviewers it does beg the question whether they are homophobic...We pre-booked as we were attending a funeral the next day. Over the phone we had explained that we would be arriving at between approximately between 6 - 7pm and in addition had arranged that they would cook us an evening meal. However they knew that one of us would have to go back out and would return to eat at 9pm (at the latest).

We drove approx 400 miles from Glasgow having dealt with multiple work commitments & an unexpected trip to the garage on the other side of town. Arriving in the local neighbourhood we decided it would be simpler just to sort with what we had to do there and arrive at the b & b without one of us to having to go back out again.

We arrived at 8:30 pm and saw the porch light go on. How nice we thought - they're coming out to welcome us!

Au contraire...the proprietress opened the door and began to admonish us without even greeting us. She said that she and her husband had been sitting for an hour and a half unable to eat as they had been waiting to eat with both of us. Her tone was very angry and critical. Taken aback we said we were sorry for the inconvenience but it had not been our understanding of the arrangement. Afterwards we both wondered why they hadn't just eaten instead of waiting on two strangers (who had been expecting to eat in a guest dining room by ourselves anyway). At the time though we were both just stunned by her rudeness and unpleasant, unfriendly tone. One of us said to her that people socially and at work have all sorts of misunderstandings and difficulties but if they want to resolve them productively then they take a different, warmer approach and tone. She paused briefly as if hearing something that confused her and continued with her diatribe. There were other unpleasant moments as she mispronounced one of our (asian) names in a disparaging way (despite having it's spelling re-clarified in an earlier email)...and showed no compassion when one of us reminded her we were going to a funeral in a slightly quavery voice but continued to berate us for not phoning her...etc etc. We drove to a nearby small town and booked into the comparative anonymity of a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
12  Thank YoshiK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Great welcome, a lovely room with a brilliant view and superb breakfast. The recommendation to have dinner in the bistro next door resulted in a really enjoyable evening with great food. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at this property and its no exaggeration to say that it was a gem The bed was so comfortable and the food out of this world The hosts Elaine and Brian could not do enough for us Clean comfy and welcoming

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed if you choose the bed and breakfast We will certainly go back again if we are in the area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed the one night on route to Lands End, and Elaine and Brian made a weary cyclist feel very welcome.

The room was perfect, and the bed comfortable.

I'd have no problem recommending Monarch House to family or friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews