We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch”
Review of Salvo's

Salvo's
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti! Salvatore Dammone opened Salvo's Restaurant in 1976. After celebrating over 40 years in business, Salvo's still remains one of the most innovative Italian restaurants in the region serving contemporary Italian food in an informal relaxed atmosphere, a simple consistent formula which has kept thousands of fantastic customers coming back for more. The second generation of the Dammone family are today continuing the traditions of Salvo's and as always look forward to providing you with the welcome and service Salvo's prides itself on.
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Very last minute decision to go out for a light lunch. Ordered a selection of starters including a board with meats, cheeses, crispy very thin breads etc, some arancini, prawn and calamari. It was all hot and delicious. We didn’t have a pud but there was a good choice on offer. Good staff and great service, we’ll be back!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Excellent food as usual which is always easily the best food in Headingley (and possibly Leeds). The staff are lovely. Always give the daily specials a go too as the chef really knows what they are doing with them.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank THinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Wish it hadn't taken me so long to discover Salvo's! My family visited on a weekday evening and couldn't fault the place. We ate the arancini balls and caprase salad for starters, which were served beautifully. For mains we had carbonara, lasagna and pescatore pasta dishes - the lasagna was rated 5/5 and as one of the best lasagna ever eaten! The pescatore pasta also contained plenty of prawns. The lemon mousse was presented beautifully and the ice cream was delicious. All food arrived very quickly and staff were very friendly. Can't wait to visit again!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank AimeeH514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

What a fantastic place. I've been coming here since I was a kid and it's still brilliant. Food is so delicious and the staff are very attentive and welcoming. Only wish I'd take some pics of the food to post. My wife had the lamb it looked incredible and she said it tasted as good!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank willbb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Went today and chose Salvo's because it has a great reputation for nice food. We thought we'd choose somewhere that you can bank on however this time it wasn't great at all.

To start, Arancini and also the Frito Misto. The Arancini was really lovely I'd definitely recommend those. The King Prawns on the Frito Misto were overcooked but the veg in it was nice.

We both chose the Belly Pork with Nduja for the main. The Tenderstem was nicely cooked, had a nice char on it but the Belly Pork was very dry. The jus didn't have a nice taste. We both left the Belly Pork and the waiter asked if everything was ok and I mentioned it and he removed the wine from the bill. We had 3 glasses of wine in total so roughly £18 was taken off.

Our daughter had a Bolognese and then ice cream for dessert which she enjoyed.

I'm not sure how prawns and belly pork can be that poor considering that they're quite easy things to cook.

The waiting staff were good, attentive without being overbearing and didn't fuss over the belly pork issue, just got on with making amends which was good because we don't like raising complaints.

Just a bit gutted to have a birthday meal which wasn't anywhere near the quality I've been served previously at Salvo's.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CJMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvo's also viewed

 

Been to Salvo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.