We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Eaux Tranquilles
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cartier(Quillan)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Chaumiere(Quillan)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pierre Lys(Quillan)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les Arcades(Limoux)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
59
18
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
18
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhost chrisevening mealaudeconversationfrancepeace
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Aptly named, the stay here provided the best night's sleep of the trip. Lulled by the sound of the river Aude and the Armagnac provided by the proprietor, Chris (a true HOST!) we slept like logs.

Breakfast was sumptuous and plentiful and the other guests a real delight in the conversation provided (with Chris as moderator - kept the ball rolling, as it were!)

The town of Quillan was interesting and the setting in the Pyrenees foothills, stunning. Off the beaten path but well worth seeking it out! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were upstairs and, aside from a creaky floor, heard nothing other than the river all night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and I hope you will come back and see us again. Don't forget your fishing rod for a spot of fly fishing on our river next time. Hope the rest of your stay in France was equally as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay whilst we continued our search for a property to buy in Quillan area and we booked Les Eax Tranquilles having read very favourable reviews on the internet. We arrived at an idealic location by the river and were greeted by Chris our host and chambre owner. Chris is a great bloke who helped make our stay and property search a great one. We'd hoped for an English speaking host who could advise us on all the workings of the French system in buying and maintaining a French property as well as advice on places to visit as a way of making this a bit of a holiday. He was most helpful and always gave of his time willingly.
Our room was lovely. Clean and tidy with its own en suite and cleaned every day to a high standard as well as a linen change mid week. It had tea/coffe making facilities and Chris was more than happy for us to help ouselves to extra coffee if we neede it. The extensive grounds to the house are well provided with seating areas, loungers and tables. The free wifi is excellent allowing for a good signal well beyond the walls of the house for those who like to use their IPADS whilst sipping a G&T by the river.
We ate in on 4 nights in the pleasent company of Chris and the other guests which made a nice end to each day. Local restaurants in the area have fairly average and unispiring menus at high prices and we felt the food at Les Eaux Tranquilles was excellent value for money. Breakfast was typically French croissants, pan aux chocolat, toast, cereal fruit juice etc which was more than adequate for our needs.
Funnily enough all the other guests present were like us dog owners and loved the company of the two resident dogs Max and Paddy. If you dislike dogs I would advise you to look elsewhere as they are very much a part of the house. They are well behaved and clean but they are what they are!
There is a good selection of fiction and non fiction books in the reception area and Chris is happy to let the guests borrow them.
All in all we had a lovely and uncomplicated holiday as a reuslt of our stay here and would not hesitate to rebook if we were visiting this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, much appreciated.

Glad I was able to help with some tips on buying a property down here, I am sure you will find your 'dream home'.

It was nice of you to put my cooking above that of all the 20 plus restaurants in the area, a great compliment indeed. I should say however that I am not a chef just a cook but the food is always fresh and bought on the day which is why I ask for 24 hours notice. If you're loking for beautifully presented exotic meals then don't eat here. On the other hand if you like good honest regional grub and lots of it then please feel free to join my table.

Anyway thanks again, I really hope to see you both again in the future. Good luck with the house hunting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Minus:

Walls between rooms are likely to consist of cardboard -> you really hear everything from the other guests. Breakfast very poor -> jam + 2 slices of bread and 2 pastries + juice and coffee. Thats it ... If you don not ask for anything else, you don't get it. No possibility to eat a descent meal in the area -> you have to go to Perpignan which is 90 km away ... Nice view of the river in the garden +.... the local landfill on the other side. No TV or radio (alarm) provided in the room. Terrace needs to be refurbished. (raining through the roof during rainfall) You will be checked by the owner on the Internet (LinkeIn in my case).Owner Chris mixes (unsolicited) in conversations at breakfast. (wich our fellow lodgers didnt not well like also). Local village is a ride through for people on their way to Spain. Nothing to do in village in evenings, but a local pub.

Plus:

Rooms clean but small. Coffee and thee facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose, walls be still of cardboard...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarioHaaltert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

I guess if I didn’t get TV, mini-bar, clock radio, music and super soundproofed rooms when I booked a hotel I would think it pretty grime as well. The thing is you didn’t book a hotel you booked a private house (Chambres d’Hôtes) which is quite different.

We are register with the Department of Tourism and inspected (every year), there are strict regulations which include sharing your breakfast and dinner with your guests (among many other rules). If you infringe these rules you can be fined (up to 30,000 Euros in some cases).
I cannot understand why you chose us. No interest in the normal things people come to see or do, just here on business. I also can’t understand why when doing business in Spain (as you claimed) you would stay so far away (we are at least 1:30mins from the Spanish border).
As to your comments on eating well there are 20+ restaurants within 4km of us, they can’t all be bad. I did try to help you but you declined saying that your car had a GPS and you had an IPad ! I would have suggested, had you allowed me to, that you visited the Tourist Office in Quillan, they would have given you a list.

The fact you mention ‘Landfill site’ shows you never did any research before your visit. A quick look on Google Earth would show that there is no such thing here. We are inside an area designated by the UN as a “place of outstanding natural beauty” and they defiantly would not allow such a thing.

At the end of the day you got it wrong and having realised that you have looked for somebody to blame. I would strongly recommend that next time you spent a bit of time researching where you are going to stay with relation to where you are having you business meetings and defiantly ensure you are staying in a hotel and not a Chambres D’Hôtes especially if you want all those things you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed one night in April 2013 and one night in May 2013 on our way to and from Spain. The name of the property is most appropriate as it is set in a beautiful and quiet spot with only the sound of the river to be heard at night.
We would definitely recommend Les Eaux to others and we hope to stay again ourselves some time soon, hopefully for longer next time to give us a chance to explore the area a little.
The host was extremely welcoming to us and our dogs. Travelling with two dogs, it was great to be able to let them run around with Paddy and Max (the host's two dogs) in the lovely big garden - they all got on like a house on fire!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Lavender Room is particularly impressive and afforded us sufficient room for the dogs without tripping over them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueNose s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, it was great fun having you and your dogs here to stay. Paddy and Max, well Paddy really, enjoyed running round the garden and having fun. Max is always laid back and loves a cuddle. Hope to see you again and for longer. Perhaps we can go up to the lakes for a nice walk with the dogs, Paddy loves the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Again, we had a great time at your place. Last year I titled 'As you like it', and all the positive aspect I mention are still true. Your beautiful garden and the possibility to have a quiet picnic near at the river after a long hike through the country are great - especially as some space in a fridge is provide so that drinks are nice and cool. Breakfast and dinner are served on a veranda overlooking the garden, and especially when you book dinner, you can be sure to get into conversation with Chris (the host) and the other guests. He is well informed on nearly every topics and able to 'break the ice' if you don't know anybody. As he is English it didn't matter so much, that I can hardly speak French.
We stayed for a week and enojyed every minute of our stay. Maps and advice on places or markets to visit are provided. The rooms are cleaned and the bed is made every day (which can't be taken for granted in Southern France). There are no problems with parking: the car is safe in the garden beside the house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zweiWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you once again for your review. It as great to see you again and good to know our standards are not slipping. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews