We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Jardin des Gorges(Belvianes et Cavirac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Envolee(Belvianes et Cavirac)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
La Riviere Lune Chambre d'Hote(Belvianes et Cavirac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Templiere(Belvianes et Cavirac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
59
18
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
18
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhost chrisaudeconversationfrancepeace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We had a wonderful stay here:
Very comfortable rooms, great bed, proper pillows, tea and coffee facilities, clean and modern bathroom, shutters to ensure a good sleep.
Fantastic location, close to beautiful sights and just off a good road, yet so calm and tranquil in the garden, on the terrasse, in the rooms.
Excellent WIFI througout the house.
Extremely generous breakfast.
And a host who cannot do enough for you - very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and who does his best to make sure his guests have as great a stay as possible. It being a beautiful evening, he suggested we picnic in the garden and provided all utensils etc, and offered that if we wanted to buy beers at the supermarket he would be happy to exchange them for cold ones. So kind.
Finally, when we had to defer our reservation by a day he was very happy to accommodate us without any fuss.
If you are lucky enough to be in the area, this is a highly recommended stay!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Thanks for the excellent review and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Lovely location, great knowledgeable host, We had the best possible sleep ever as with shutters on windows and far enough from the main road with pretty secure gated parking. And plenty of croissants etc for breakfast. What more could you ask for. Will definitely use again.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank wickedwayne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thank you for your review. I hope you will return for another stay. Enjoyed the chat and banter very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We found Les Eaux Tranquilles while looking for a stop off on our way to Spain in Mid October 2013, Chris and the dogs gave us a warm welcome and showed us to the lavender room, great bed and furniture in the room with the added bonus of having tea and coffee making facilities which we utilised straight away.
We had asked for dinner and so after a short rest we went in for drinks and then had duck breast flambéed in front of us, the crème brulee were also flambéed later. After dinner we continued having drinks on the patio.
Breakfast was a relaxed affair and was served in the dining room with Chris offering good advise for our trip on to Spain. We had sufficient to eat and there was more than enough bread, and pastries available, don't be scared to ask for more!!! We hope to make it back next year. All the best and thanks Chris.

Room Tip: If you want a bath choose the Lavender room, huge room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appletonmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Many thanks for your review, I hope the rest of your holiday was equally enjoyable. Please come and visit us again.

The room you chose (Lavender) has just been completely redecorated with nice warm mediterranean colours and has had writing desk added for those who like to use their laptop or sit and write letters etc. New photos will be added to our website soon once Pat has finished 'dressing' the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Aptly named, the stay here provided the best night's sleep of the trip. Lulled by the sound of the river Aude and the Armagnac provided by the proprietor, Chris (a true HOST!) we slept like logs.

Breakfast was sumptuous and plentiful and the other guests a real delight in the conversation provided (with Chris as moderator - kept the ball rolling, as it were!)

The town of Quillan was interesting and the setting in the Pyrenees foothills, stunning. Off the beaten path but well worth seeking it out! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were upstairs and, aside from a creaky floor, heard nothing other than the river all night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and I hope you will come back and see us again. Don't forget your fishing rod for a spot of fly fishing on our river next time. Hope the rest of your stay in France was equally as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay whilst we continued our search for a property to buy in Quillan area and we booked Les Eax Tranquilles having read very favourable reviews on the internet. We arrived at an idealic location by the river and were greeted by Chris our host and chambre owner. Chris is a great bloke who helped make our stay and property search a great one. We'd hoped for an English speaking host who could advise us on all the workings of the French system in buying and maintaining a French property as well as advice on places to visit as a way of making this a bit of a holiday. He was most helpful and always gave of his time willingly.
Our room was lovely. Clean and tidy with its own en suite and cleaned every day to a high standard as well as a linen change mid week. It had tea/coffe making facilities and Chris was more than happy for us to help ouselves to extra coffee if we neede it. The extensive grounds to the house are well provided with seating areas, loungers and tables. The free wifi is excellent allowing for a good signal well beyond the walls of the house for those who like to use their IPADS whilst sipping a G&T by the river.
We ate in on 4 nights in the pleasent company of Chris and the other guests which made a nice end to each day. Local restaurants in the area have fairly average and unispiring menus at high prices and we felt the food at Les Eaux Tranquilles was excellent value for money. Breakfast was typically French croissants, pan aux chocolat, toast, cereal fruit juice etc which was more than adequate for our needs.
Funnily enough all the other guests present were like us dog owners and loved the company of the two resident dogs Max and Paddy. If you dislike dogs I would advise you to look elsewhere as they are very much a part of the house. They are well behaved and clean but they are what they are!
There is a good selection of fiction and non fiction books in the reception area and Chris is happy to let the guests borrow them.
All in all we had a lovely and uncomplicated holiday as a reuslt of our stay here and would not hesitate to rebook if we were visiting this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, much appreciated.

Glad I was able to help with some tips on buying a property down here, I am sure you will find your 'dream home'.

It was nice of you to put my cooking above that of all the 20 plus restaurants in the area, a great compliment indeed. I should say however that I am not a chef just a cook but the food is always fresh and bought on the day which is why I ask for 24 hours notice. If you're loking for beautifully presented exotic meals then don't eat here. On the other hand if you like good honest regional grub and lots of it then please feel free to join my table.

Anyway thanks again, I really hope to see you both again in the future. Good luck with the house hunting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews