We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Jardin des Gorges(Belvianes et Cavirac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Envolee(Belvianes et Cavirac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
La Riviere Lune Chambre d'Hote(Belvianes et Cavirac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Templiere(Belvianes et Cavirac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
59
18
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
18
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhost chrisaudeconversationfrancepeace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Our second trip to the beautiful Languedoc area of France and Les Eaux Tranquilles. In June 2015, we were welcomed to the home of Chris, our host for 2 weeks holiday. He looked after us way beyond the requirements of traditional B&B and in the most picturesque setting within the majesty of the French Pyrenees. We recently returned from our second holiday (June 2016) at Les Eaux Tranquilles and it was so good we have booked again to return September (2016). Trip Advisor list this as a Hotel. It is not and Chris states quite clearly, that he runs this as a 4 bedroom B&B. That said, it really is a most sublime B&B, perhaps the best you are likely to stay in anywhere! Furthermore, Chris will cook you an wonderful evening meal, if you give him a day or so notice! We would highly recommend Les Eaux Tranquilles, but book well in advance as others have caught on!
We have stayed in rooms Lavender (nice and cool in Summer) and Sauge ( wonderful views of Pyrenees and river around the garden) and both are very well appointed, tastefully decorated and have huge ensuite bathrooms. Genuinely we could not fault either of them and that was for 14 and 10 days respectively. Chris has 4 rooms to let, 3 are of considerable size and as we found at least two are more than spacious enough to use as a base for two weeks holiday. I am led to believe that the 4th room is smaller, but still suitable for a few nights stay for a couple. Check his availability to get the best rooms. Regardless of your sleeping quarters you will receive a courteous welcome and excellent breakfast from a very informed host. It really is the perfect base to explore the whole historic area and if it is cloudy in the mountains, do as we did and head to the Med coast, its only an hour! Fantastic and best of both worlds!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms Lavender and Sauge and both are very well appointed, with huge ensuite bathrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

The owner Chris cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and is extremely helpful in virtually every aspect of your visit. We were only there for a week but seriously wished we could have just extended our stay it was so relaxing. His evening meals are extremely good value and very relaxed, his continental breakfasts very generous and left us full most of the day. I would highly recommend this chambe d'hote and would without hesitation book again

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian1960-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the dinners. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We had a wonderful stay here:
Very comfortable rooms, great bed, proper pillows, tea and coffee facilities, clean and modern bathroom, shutters to ensure a good sleep.
Fantastic location, close to beautiful sights and just off a good road, yet so calm and tranquil in the garden, on the terrasse, in the rooms.
Excellent WIFI througout the house.
Extremely generous breakfast.
And a host who cannot do enough for you - very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and who does his best to make sure his guests have as great a stay as possible. It being a beautiful evening, he suggested we picnic in the garden and provided all utensils etc, and offered that if we wanted to buy beers at the supermarket he would be happy to exchange them for cold ones. So kind.
Finally, when we had to defer our reservation by a day he was very happy to accommodate us without any fuss.
If you are lucky enough to be in the area, this is a highly recommended stay!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Thanks for the excellent review and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Lovely location, great knowledgeable host, We had the best possible sleep ever as with shutters on windows and far enough from the main road with pretty secure gated parking. And plenty of croissants etc for breakfast. What more could you ask for. Will definitely use again.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank wickedwayne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thank you for your review. I hope you will return for another stay. Enjoyed the chat and banter very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We found Les Eaux Tranquilles while looking for a stop off on our way to Spain in Mid October 2013, Chris and the dogs gave us a warm welcome and showed us to the lavender room, great bed and furniture in the room with the added bonus of having tea and coffee making facilities which we utilised straight away.
We had asked for dinner and so after a short rest we went in for drinks and then had duck breast flambéed in front of us, the crème brulee were also flambéed later. After dinner we continued having drinks on the patio.
Breakfast was a relaxed affair and was served in the dining room with Chris offering good advise for our trip on to Spain. We had sufficient to eat and there was more than enough bread, and pastries available, don't be scared to ask for more!!! We hope to make it back next year. All the best and thanks Chris.

Room Tip: If you want a bath choose the Lavender room, huge room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Les Eaux Tranquilles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Many thanks for your review, I hope the rest of your holiday was equally enjoyable. Please come and visit us again.

The room you chose (Lavender) has just been completely redecorated with nice warm mediterranean colours and has had writing desk added for those who like to use their laptop or sit and write letters etc. New photos will be added to our website soon once Pat has finished 'dressing' the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews