We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Promotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Promotel
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our way down to the Dordogne.
We found it easily and there was ample parking. We then hunted round for a while trying to get into reception which was shut.
It turned out that they had sent an email telling us that reception was shut and enclosing a code to let us in. By the time we'd found that the receptionist had arrived.
Our room was on the third floor and the lift was tiny but worked.
Our room was ok if a little dated with two big beds ample for us and the two boys, a separate toilet and separate bathroom (shower).
The hotel is close enough to walk to the Loire and then into town (maybe 20 mins).
It was a very hot day (34°C) and there was no air conditioning in the room. We could open the windows but with no air moving it was a very uncomfortable night. The beds were also very firm.
At this price point you'd hope for air conditioning and a rather better state of decoration.
You could certainly do worse but I'd avoid it during hot weather.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Website is very misleading. This property is not set in parkland. It has a patch of grass outside. Not a particularly nice part of town. No one else seemed to be staying in the hotel so it was a strange feeling not see a single other guest. Asked for a low room but were put on the highest floor. Basic beyond basic room. Couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank HJBWESTSUSSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed here overnight. Rooms were clean, comfortable and everything worked. Easy to access by car and there was plenty of good parking. Reception staff friendly. Unfortunately wifi was broken when we visited, but these things happen and a repair man was in attendance when we checked out which suggests it was being resolved quickly. We would stay here again.
If you want a nice meal, we ate just down the road at Restaurant Les Terrasses de Loire. Very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller111130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

After calling in they waited for us at late arrival before leaving the reception desk. Parking was good, room and bed were comfortable. Breakfast was ok. All in all an enjoyable stay at a very competitive price. Wifi was free and worked flawlessly. We also walked to the Loire from the hotel which was just down the road and very pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JochenVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a night at this property during our trip to Loire valley. The hotel is clean, the owner at the front desk is friendly and the hotel provides free parking, which was what we were looking for. The hotel is located about 30 minutes walk from the center. There are nice views of roof tops from hotel rooms but, as in many building in France, there is no air conditioning. We happened to stay during one hot summer night and couldn't sleep that well even with a window completely open. Wi-Fi worked well and the speed was acceptable.
Overall, good affordable choice, but keep in mind absence of a/c if you're staying during summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank From207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Braye
3.0 km away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
746 reviews
2.7 km away
Mercure Orleans Centre
Mercure Orleans Centre
#4 of 31 in Orleans
796 reviews
4.8 km away
Novotel Orleans Saint Jean de Braye
Novotel Orleans Saint Jean de Br...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-de-Braye
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
411 reviews
2.8 km away
Brit Hotel Orleans St Jean de Braye – L’Antares
Brit Hotel Orleans St Jean de Br...
#2 of 2 in Saint-Jean-de-Braye
75 reviews
1.1 km away
Sejours & Affaires Jeanne d'Arc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promotel

Address: 117 rue du Faubourg de Bourgogne, 45800 Saint-Jean-de-Braye, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loiret > Saint-Jean-de-Braye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-de-Braye
Price Range: RM297 - RM394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Promotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Promotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing