We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A perfect way to spend Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Datai Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Datai Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Datai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect way to spend Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort should be on everyone's bucket list!
Everything about our stay was perfect. We had a warm welcome on arrival, the hotel was beautifully kept, and let's just say we were extremely well fed. The resort is surrounded by nature with amazing trees, flowers and a private beach. If you are a fan of wildlife you will not be disappointed, I believe we saw every species of monkey, bird, lizard, and butterfly on this island. I'm not sure if it was because we were there in December but we were extremely grateful for the lack of mosquitoes.
The hotel did a wonderful job celebrating the holidays. They had lovely decorations, carolers, and a delicious Christmas dinner, even Santa made a quick visit.
There are plenty of activities on the island. We went horse riding, took the cable car to the peak and had an amazing view of the island, visited the seven wells waterfall, and took a boat tour through the mangroves. On Christmas Day we took a semi private cruise on the Naga Pelangi, a sailboat that took us to the coast of Thailand and back with a delicious lunch.
This resort was a true paradise and I believe that everyone and anyone would have an amazing time.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bronwyn I,

It is truly gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for selecting The Datai Langkawi as your home away from home over Christmas.

I am very happy to read through your fantastic review about our property and the services you have experienced while staying with us. I am also happy to learn that you liked the location of the resort being in the rainforest allowing you to enjoy the wildlife.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    231
    64
    25
    18
See reviews for
428
1,292
45
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely fab, love the rainforest feel, yet total lux. Fantastisk beach, outstanding personal and great food. Does not feel as big as it is. Many animals! Great Yoga. Great rooms, food -- what not to like ? Feels private even if quite big. we lived in one of the villas close to sea with own pool. Great with big kids. It will be interesting to see who it all looks after the big rebuild and closing. 2 things I hope will be better then, bigger gym and new sailing etc gear at the beach!

Room Tip: if you like beach -- live closer to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sanna S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of The Datai experience as well as the wildlife that surrounds our resort.

I will pass your comments back to the team and they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments.

Kindest regards,

Arnaud Girodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from a news years holiday here with husband and two children (7 and 9) and we all agree we have had the very best holiday ever and can't think where else we've been that's so wonderful as the Datai. The setting is wonderfully peaceful and the staff and F and B offering are first class. I was a bit concerned as there is no kids' club here but there is so much for them to do in a very secure environment, it wasn't a problem and there were enough other children to hang out with at the beach side pool. When your children aren't been totally indulged by the delightful members of staff, they can go and find Jonathan and his lovely assistant in their rainforest hut or wandering on the beach for a pre planned or totally impromptu nature/beach science session which is so kid friendly that my two were enthralled. The children can just roam around which in this day an age is an unexpected privilege and delight. Babysitting was very forthcoming ( even when at 6 pm on New Year's Eve we suddenly decided we should get a sitter , it was arranged at the drop of a hat - lovely ladies from house keeping come and do it - a big hit with the children). What's lovely about the hotel is that on the whole, your fellow guests are very civilised, discreet people from all different countries and backgrounds - no big show offs etc but seem genuinely appreciative of the fact that we are all lucky to be able to experiencing the Datai and it's amazing offering. Most guests are polite and on New Year's Eve (fantastic party btw) everyone was making friends and dancing away. This is what I love about the place. It seems to bring out the best in everyone! It's fascinating to see one certain nationality,who shall remain nameless, slightly ruffling this wonderful atmosphere. These people need to either start smiling and be polite and considerate to fellow guests and members of staff or please find another hotel. They don't even seem to be enjoying themselves which is totally impossible unless your insane !! There are plenty of places where a Gucci bikini with a Louis Vuitton beach bag and a Chanel cap with look just thing when sported with a mahogany mullet - but this is NOT the place. Less is more and such shows of vulgarity in dress sense and behaviour would be appreciated in many other establishments but please not here. Get those miserable countenances out of my line of vision because I am trying to enjoy the view! Which is spectacular .....

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillsidefarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Hillsidefarmers,

Thank you for choosing The Datai Langkawi as your home away from home. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay with us over the New Year festivities, and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found the service, quality of our product as well as food offerings to be of a very high standard.

I will pass your kind words of appreciation to the rest of the team who I am sure will be pleased to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one especially Jonathan and Mukhriz who are indeed wonderful with the kids.

On behalf of the team, once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It's difficult to express how special The Datai is. It was a first visit for us and from the moment of arriving until our departure we were made welcome and very much "at home". The quality of the hospitality and service was exceptional without at all feeling forced; I did feel the staff wanted us to have the best experience possible. The setting is simply beautiful. A variety of restaurants made eating a pleasure over the days; a pristine beach on the bay made lazing on the chairs compulsory; guided walks with Irshad grounded our good time in the realities of our environment - yes it is beautiful but it must be respected and cared for. I look forward to a return visit someday soon.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SydneyPaul,

Thank you for choosing The Datai Langkawi as your home away from home and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed The Datai hospitality as well as the rainforest experience and the team took great care of you during your stay with us. I will certainly share your feedback with the team and they will pleased to hear this. Irshad's walks are indeed an experienced not to be missed.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back for more memorable moments.

Kindest regards,

Arnaud Girodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Datai and although a few years after our first one, we still felt that we were visiting a special resort.
The complex of a main hotel wing and a number of forest and beach villas is surrounded by an extraordinary rainforest which in its vast majority is still as unspoilt as you can get.
The main hotel is at the top of the forest with views towards the tree canopy and the white sanded private beach.
Dotted among the trees are villas some with private pools and a few directly facing the beach.
The rainforest is teaming with life and it's a joy to walk although the access can be a bit challenging, buteverything is accessible with the free buggies which are only a call away and will take you anywhere in no time.
The restaurants are excellent and a good mixture of cuisines both local and international.
Also the spa is worth a visit with its open air treatment villa in the middle of the rainforest.
The staff are exceptional, friendly and always pleased to help. I believe they are the best asset the resort has.
Our only remark we would have is that the villas do need a major refurbishing including the small plunging pool in ours which quite honestly was totally uninviting and was never used by us. I know that monkeys roam around messing up outside but a murky pool wasn't their doing.
Having said that, one of the two resort pools is exclusively for adults but even more, the beach is one of the nicest ones in south east Asia and we spent our time there.
It is kept immaculate by the staff and you will always get a lounger.
The resort is unique with fantastic staff and breathtaking location, so we hope to be back after the renovations are completed which will start in September 2017 with the resort closed till around the mid 2018.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear OTT12,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for selecting The Datai Langkawi as your home away from home.

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed The Datai hospitality and the spa as well as the rainforest experience.

I am very pleased to hear that our team took great care of you while you were here and they are indeed the true assets of the resort aside from the tranquil location.

I would also like to thank you the points raised for our improvement which I do appreciate and will look into these areas.

On behalf of the team, once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Datai
5.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
1.0 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
15.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
17.4 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 102 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
15.1 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Datai Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Datai Langkawi

Property: The Datai Langkawi
Address: Jalan Teluk Datai, Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Datai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Datai
Price range (per night): RM1,838 - RM8,022
Hotel Class:5 star — The Datai Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Datai Langkawi is situated on the northwest tip of the island Langkawi in Malaysia. Located in a 10 million year old rainforest and overlooking the tranquil Datai Bay, awarded by National Geographic as one of the Top 10 beaches worldwide, the iconic property enchants with mesmerizing nature, visionary architecture, luxury and bespoke service. It's 54 rooms, 40 villas, 16 suites and 14 beach villas offer views of the surrounding nature. The award-winning dining outlets pay homage to the exotic flavours and culinary tradition of the region. Leisure facilities include two swimming pools; an award-winning spa and Els Club Teluk Datai - the most scenic 18-hole golf course in Southeast Asia designed by the golf legend Ernie Els. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Datai Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Datai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Datai Langkawi
The Datai Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing