We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hessischer Hof(Melsungen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
27
18
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
18
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

It's very little hotel, small room but comfortable for one person.
The staff are very friendly and speaks good English.
Don't skip breakfast as it's one of the best
There nice walking places around the hotel and it's very quiet area

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Guli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

The rooms are dated, as if in arriving in the 70's show, but we had a pleasant stay. The dinner, restaurant, bar were nice, the location at walking distance of train station. We'll keep Sonnenhof in mind when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiDe1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Stayed for one night in this hotel. The rooms were good and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice. But the best in this hotel is the staff. They were kind to switch the room for us at 10:30 PM because we needed 2 separate beds, helped us with registerring our german sim card. And a small gift bags with water, candies and apples were so neat.
I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andriy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Austria. Eventhough we arrived late, we were welcomed ever so friendly. The rooms were convenient and very clean. Breakfast met our expectations. Not to forget the Macciato, which was lovely! The price being more than acceptable, it was great value for money!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Majella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I've stayed in a double room at the Hotel Sonnenhof in Melsungen for 1-night during a business trip.

The location of the hotel is quite nice, up on a hill with a great view over Melsungen. The hotel is only about 15 minutes away (by foot) from the train station.
The small city center is only 10 minutes away by foot. Don't be fooled by the little amount of shopping opportunities! The shops are great and have lots to offer! Same for the restaurants! It's worth checking out!

The hotel building itself is mostly renovated and the interior is modern, clean and cozy.
My room had a big double bed, a small flat screen TV and a desk with a coffee/tea maker and complementary tea/coffee and water. The bathroom had a good size and included a bath tub with shower. There was free wifi internet in the whole building with a good connection.

The staff was very friendly! All of them, no matter what time of the day. They were helpful and attentive. I am traveling quite a lot and stay at many hotels, but this service team has impressed me with their authentic friendliness and professionalism.

Breakfast was small but absolutely enough and the price-offer ratio was good. There was jam, cheese, meat, cold cuts, fruit, yogurt, milk, fresh bread and rolls, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, and any coffee specialty and tea. Again, small but I'd say that no one would have to leave the room hungry again.

All in all, the hotel is great for a short business trip stay or even for a long weekend trip to explore Melsungen and the area around. It's certainly worth a trip! The area is beautiful and I'm sure there is lots to see.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews