We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt really good”
Review of On The Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
On The Reef
Ranked #7 of 11 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2014

I spent a very beautiful, relaxing and peaceful weekend in this place. The view is perfect, the room (#2) is fine and clean, beach towels available, hot water when I needed.
Ricardo, the owner is very friendly, full of suggestions and tips how to spend a good vacation, where to go to try the best food. He took me for a ride by his own car to visit the village and show me the beaches, restaurants, diving...Thanks, really. It is not everywhere you can find somebody like you
No breakfast available (I had friends spending nights in the nerby Hotel Sta Catalina and it was the same) but fresh coffee (and fresh papaya) was ready when I woke up.
Wifi is available and free but is not easy to get the signal, it is a problem all around the area, there are few places providing connection.
If you decide to go to Sta Catalina you're not looking for a luxury 5* hotel w/SPA, it is simply not the right place. But On the Reef is a very good solution.
I definitively do reccomend the hotel; if 2 ask for room #2, if more than 2 ask for room #1, spectacular view in the morning when you wake up...
And give you time to spend half an hour, maybe more, on the hammocks in the patio with view on the see...cool!!! (maybe you'll be lucky and Ricardo will offer you a good cocktail)
Again Ricardo, thanks a lot, it was a pleasure to meet you.
We'll see again shortly

Room Tip: #2 up to 2 people, #1 from 2 to 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianpaolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited in August 2014 and had an excellent trip. This is the closest spot to stay to surf the main break. The accommodation was very clean and all amenities worked with now problems, and I felt it was good value for money. The views are unreal and after a big session you can chill out on the deck and watch all the action while you recharge for another session.

Ricardo and the staff were fantastic. Super helpful and took us on a free tour when we arrived of the area to point out the best spots to eat and other spots to surf. They were more than happy to answer all our questions about the area and also helped us organising boat trips to secret spots and with much needed transfers from panama city.

Will definitely visit again for another hassle and stress free surf trip. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Ask for the loft with a view of the break. You watch all the action while lying in bed, amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyoti_Choi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Thanks Ricardito - we had an amazing trip. The place was in the best spot for access out to La Punta break with amazing views, a cool breeze and plenty of hammocks to relax in.
The rooms are great with AC, cable, nice bathrooms and hot water.
Ricardito was a great host and showed us around town and pointed out the best spots to eat/ drink and a few of the local characters.
Although the lineup can get very busy, there were plenty of waves for everyone. Ricardito also helped us organise a boat trip out to a break on one of the local islands which was epic.
A buddy on the trip had a surfing accident and needed medical attention - thanks to Ricardito and his connections; he got the best attention available in Panama and got him in good shape to get home in one piece.
Recardito sits pretty deep out the back and charges the bomb sets pretty hard –everyone can hear him when he get pumped about the surf.
I would definitely recommend this pace for a holiday whether to surf, dive or just relax - I hope to get back there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I liked everything about this place. I came with my girlfriend and good thing I pick this spot as all the other places where packed with surfers. We liked the set up of the deck right on the Point. The lady in charge took good care of us. Ac, cable tv and hot water where all working. Surf was great! Very cool spot, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with Hamacas!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have just returned home from a short stay in Santa Catalina. I wanted to be near the point (main surf spot in Santa Catalina). This place blew my mind. It is located right in front of the famous wave. You dont even have to get up in the morning to check the swell - you can hear the waves breaking from your room.
The rooms are clean, showers and all other technical stuff works fine, which is not a given in this area. And they serve great breakfast :-)
Will be back soon..

Thanks to Ricardo !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busy_n_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Catalina hotels
0 km away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
478 reviews
0 km away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0 km away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 24 in Santa Catalina
145 reviews
0 km away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 11 in Santa Catalina
70 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 11 in Santa Catalina
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Reef

Address: Calle al Estero | Follow Signs After Coming Up to Hotel Area, Santa Catalina, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range: RM 313 - RM 576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ocean front suites are the only rooms of their kind in Catalina. On The Reef is right in front of the Point. We are right at the end of the famous reef at the best possible location. 24 hour security at the gate and a guests only policy keeps our property very quiet and private. Lots of hammocks on private niches in a tropical setting gives further oceanfront privacy to our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your On The Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Reef Hotel Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing