We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dharamsala & McLeodGanj”
Review of Hotel Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wood Castle
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My parents visited in March-2017 and stayed in Wood Castle for three days in a Deluxe Room. The room was exactly the same as described on MakemyTrip website. It was a compact room with a beautiful view to the mountains. Hotel lacks in toiletries such as soap, shampoo, and toothpaste. There is no electric kettle in a room which should be provided keeping in view the mountain terrain and chilly weather conditions. Hotel food is average. The staff was kind and helpful. The hotel is approx. 20 mins. walk from Mcleodganj Bus stand. A decent budget hotel and a value for money. It can be picked.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the mountains. Try to choose rooms on a higher floor to have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Owner at Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for your feed back we will improve all those things. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

I liked this hotel (it was booked as part of an organised tour). The proprietor/staff were very accessible along with being extremely helpful.
The weather was very unpredictable therefore the room took some time to warm up (I left the air con on heater all night). I agree with previous comments regarding a kettle in the room it would have been nice.
However all that taken into account the view from my room was absolutely breath taking so my opinion the lack of a kettle was a small price to pay. The management were happy to bring a flask of warm water to your room upon request.
I breakfasted two mornings and the selection of food was very good, I would say there was something for all palates (the porridge was very good as was the Tibetan bread).
Yes I would recommend this hotel because it provided all the necessities also it was clean, plenty of hot water, decent food but as mentioned before fantastic views.

Room Tip: Would think all rooms have an excellent view but mine facing the mountains was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, General Manager at Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for your feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I stayed at the hotel for three nights sometime between Christmas and New Year's eve 2016. It was an absolutely wonderful stay.The place is on Jogiwara road, approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the Mcleodganj Bus stand and a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre.

Its a new property, and thus pretty state of the art considering it is in the mountains. There is running hot water, an LCD TV with HD channels, wifi etc. The rooms(other than the Standard ones) also have air-conditioners (which could be needed, given that even the hills turn slightly warm in the summers sometimes).

The standard room that I stayed in was exactly as described on the travel websites (goibibo is where I booked from) and the hotel's website. It was a compact and extremely cosy room. It did not have a view/balcony and the wifi was intermittent (I was aware of both these facts at the time of booking - the standard rooms do not have wifi, you can get good access to the same while in the common areas or if staying in any of the other rooms).

The management and the staff are simple and helpful folks. The owner himself has a pretty hand-on approach and is available for any advice/suggestion that you may need at all times. Received valuable tips regarding the hike to triund from the gentleman.

The only reason I am not giving the place a five star rating is because there are certain minor short-comings that I would like addressed - one is the lack of toiletries provided. I was only provided a soap and nothing help. The other is that there is no electric kettle in a room. The same becomes a bit of a necessity in the mountains in the winter, because water turns freezing cold within minutes of being kept in the open.

That aside, this is a wonderful hotel with good food, fantastic views (besides the standard rooms), value for money and great staff - one that I would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone going to Mcleodganj.

Room Tip: If you're in the standard room without wifi, the right side of the bed catches wifi intermittent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pranjal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Manager at Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

So many thanks for your feed back and we will improve more quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I stayed in Wood Castle for more than two months . The rooms are big, clean and have a beautiful view to the mountains. As it was the first running days of this new hotel, there were water problems, that were solved once addressed . The staff was friendly, gave good service and was kind and helpful!! I definitely recommend !!!

Room Tip: When choosing a room on a higher floor , you have less stairs to climb up to the street.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Noayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Owner at Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Spanking new property. Great view except for the standard rooms. 10 minutes walk from the bus stand. Has car parking place, a rarity in Mc Leodganj. Nice people. The folks are new to running a hotel but i am sure they will improve. Mr Pasang the owner is a sweet chap.

Room Tip: All but the standard rooms have fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bhusnur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Owner at Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thanks sir your reccoment and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.7 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
3.3 km away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
112 reviews
3.5 km away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
444 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wood Castle

Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: RM69 - RM241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Wood Castle 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Mcleod Ganj, on one of the best views of mighty Dhauladhar Ranges, right next to the seed cafe, lies the Hotel Wood Castle, most famous for its easy-going staff, breathtaking view and vacation you’ll never forget… The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Main Market and the famous His Holiness Dalai Lama Dalai Lama’s Temple. Getting away for holidays at Mcleod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing