We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Backpackers Hostel(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Anupam Resort(McLeod Ganj)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$23
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pink House(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$18/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bloom BnB(McLeod Ganj)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Backpackers Inn(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bella Heights(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bogdo House(McLeod Ganj)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
5
14
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
14
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscare takerstandard roombeautiful view of the mountainsshort cutopen terracecomfortable roomsbus standmain marketjogiwara roadsanjayshortcuttoiletriessoappremiumconspropertymcleodganj
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 28 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I liked this hotel (it was booked as part of an organised tour). The proprietor/staff were very accessible along with being extremely helpful.
The weather was very unpredictable therefore the room took some time to warm up (I left the air con on heater all night). I agree with previous comments regarding a kettle in the room it would have been nice.
However all that taken into account the view from my room was absolutely breath taking so my opinion the lack of a kettle was a small price to pay. The management were happy to bring a flask of warm water to your room upon request.
I breakfasted two mornings and the selection of food was very good, I would say there was something for all palates (the porridge was very good as was the Tibetan bread).
Yes I would recommend this hotel because it provided all the necessities also it was clean, plenty of hot water, decent food but as mentioned before fantastic views.

Room Tip: Would think all rooms have an excellent view but mine facing the mountains was amazing
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, General Manager at OYO 6962 Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks for your feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I stayed at the hotel for three nights sometime between Christmas and New Year's eve 2016. It was an absolutely wonderful stay.The place is on Jogiwara road, approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the Mcleodganj Bus stand and a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre.

Its a new property, and thus pretty state of the art considering it is in the mountains. There is running hot water, an LCD TV with HD channels, wifi etc. The rooms(other than the Standard ones) also have air-conditioners (which could be needed, given that even the hills turn slightly warm in the summers sometimes).

The standard room that I stayed in was exactly as described on the travel websites (goibibo is where I booked from) and the hotel's website. It was a compact and extremely cosy room. It did not have a view/balcony and the wifi was intermittent (I was aware of both these facts at the time of booking - the standard rooms do not have wifi, you can get good access to the same while in the common areas or if staying in any of the other rooms).

The management and the staff are simple and helpful folks. The owner himself has a pretty hand-on approach and is available for any advice/suggestion that you may need at all times. Received valuable tips regarding the hike to triund from the gentleman.

The only reason I am not giving the place a five star rating is because there are certain minor short-comings that I would like addressed - one is the lack of toiletries provided. I was only provided a soap and nothing help. The other is that there is no electric kettle in a room. The same becomes a bit of a necessity in the mountains in the winter, because water turns freezing cold within minutes of being kept in the open.

That aside, this is a wonderful hotel with good food, fantastic views (besides the standard rooms), value for money and great staff - one that I would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone going to Mcleodganj.

Room Tip: If you're in the standard room without wifi, the right side of the bed catches wifi intermittently.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pranjal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Manager at OYO 6962 Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

So many thanks for your feed back and we will improve more quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I stayed in Wood Castle for more than two months . The rooms are big, clean and have a beautiful view to the mountains. As it was the first running days of this new hotel, there were water problems, that were solved once addressed . The staff was friendly, gave good service and was kind and helpful!! I definitely recommend !!!

Room Tip: When choosing a room on a higher floor , you have less stairs to climb up to the street.
Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Noayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Owner at OYO 6962 Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Spanking new property. Great view except for the standard rooms. 10 minutes walk from the bus stand. Has car parking place, a rarity in Mc Leodganj. Nice people. The folks are new to running a hotel but i am sure they will improve. Mr Pasang the owner is a sweet chap.

Room Tip: All but the standard rooms have fantastic view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bhusnur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasang T, Owner at OYO 6962 Hotel Wood Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thanks sir your reccoment and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews