We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Torridge House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torridge House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Appledore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2015

A group of girlfriends stayed here for a few wonderful days in June. Everything about our stay was memorable and excellent. Penny did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and fun, and her breakfasts are legendary ... most definitely the best 'full english' we have enjoyed anywhere... with a luxurious fresh fruit salad, freshly laid eggs from her chickens with the brightest orange yolks imaginable, homemade bread and preserves, which set us up for the whole day.
Penny has a lot of local knowledge, which she is happy to share, and her recommendations for days out and meals were all excellent.
It didn't matter that there is no car park outside the front door, as the local car park is only a few minutes walk away, and is very inexpensive.
The free wifi works very well, and the selection of books and music in our rooms was a lovely addition. The TV lounge for residents is very comfortable and cosy.
We can certainly recommend Torridge House for a stay in the Appledore area - and we will be back for another visit before too long.
Thank you Penny for making us all feel so welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated, very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2015

Appledore is a lovely village, with narrow streets and limited parking. Torridge House is on one of those narrow streets, so we had to drop our bags and then park. But it is very central, and parking is nearby. We were able to walk to anywhere in the village.
We were welcomed into the comfy lounge by Penny with tea and lovely home made fruit bread.
The whole house is very tastefully and distinctively decorated, and has a relaxed feel. Not that we wanted one, but our room did not have a TV - there was one in the lounge though. Instead we had a CD player and a selection of CDs that was worth exploring. Wifi worked well, which was just as well because Appledore doesn't seem to have any 3G reception. Unlike many B&Bs, the shower was powerful and a decent size.
Breakfasts were superb.... Fresh fruit salad, home made bread, excellent (and large) cooked breakfast plus croissants and pastries. No need for lunch!
Thanks to Penny and the team for a lovely stay (and sorry for leaving with your key!)

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. Penny is a great host, makes a fantastic breakfast and rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Additional treat is the lovely garden. Torridge House is situated in the centre of the village, but still quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarryRaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Torridge House is a great B&B tucked just a few strides away from Appledore's glorious quay front. The building itself is amazing rammed top to bottom with character and quirky personality.

Penny is a great host and very accommodating, she has bags of information about the local area and is always happy to share. She clearly has a great eye for piecing together a theme for Torridge House which exudes boho chic.

The breakfast is always very tasty and locally sourced. Our room was very tidy and tastefully decorated.

Highly recommended - we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robc883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family and friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The bird room was so nice and clean with hand painted trees and birds on the wall with beautiful antique furniture, there was even an iPod dock which you don't see in the major hotels! Penny couldn't have been more helpful, she was always on hand and very friendly and welcoming and cooked one of the most amazing breakfasts. In fact the best full English I've ever had using home made bread, marmalades, locally sourced ingredients etc, we will defiantly come back again here when we're in Appledore, since this hotel is perfectly located for the local shops and around 5 minutes walk downhill to the beach, cafes and restaurants. I can't even find a bad thing to say about out entire stay, even the weather was good (for February)!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Torridge House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torridge House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Bude Street, Appledore, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Appledore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appledore
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Torridge House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing