We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bideford)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One End House(Appledore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
78
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and bhouse is beautifulspent two nightscotton sheetsshort walklovely conservatorynorth devonsitting roomthe en suite bathroomhomely feeltea and homemade cakea stones throwcooked breakfastcomfortable bedyogurtstayed longerstay there again
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Appledore is a lovely village, with narrow streets and limited parking. Torridge House is on one of those narrow streets, so we had to drop our bags and then park. But it is very central, and parking is nearby. We were able to walk to anywhere in the village.
We were welcomed into the comfy lounge by Penny with tea and lovely home made fruit bread.
The whole house is very tastefully and distinctively decorated, and has a relaxed feel. Not that we wanted one, but our room did not have a TV - there was one in the lounge though. Instead we had a CD player and a selection of CDs that was worth exploring. Wifi worked well, which was just as well because Appledore doesn't seem to have any 3G reception. Unlike many B&Bs, the shower was powerful and a decent size.
Breakfasts were superb.... Fresh fruit salad, home made bread, excellent (and large) cooked breakfast plus croissants and pastries. No need for lunch!
Thanks to Penny and the team for a lovely stay (and sorry for leaving with your key!)

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. Penny is a great host, makes a fantastic breakfast and rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Additional treat is the lovely garden. Torridge House is situated in the centre of the village, but still quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarryRaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Torridge House is a great B&B tucked just a few strides away from Appledore's glorious quay front. The building itself is amazing rammed top to bottom with character and quirky personality.

Penny is a great host and very accommodating, she has bags of information about the local area and is always happy to share. She clearly has a great eye for piecing together a theme for Torridge House which exudes boho chic.

The breakfast is always very tasty and locally sourced. Our room was very tidy and tastefully decorated.

Highly recommended - we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robc883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family and friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The bird room was so nice and clean with hand painted trees and birds on the wall with beautiful antique furniture, there was even an iPod dock which you don't see in the major hotels! Penny couldn't have been more helpful, she was always on hand and very friendly and welcoming and cooked one of the most amazing breakfasts. In fact the best full English I've ever had using home made bread, marmalades, locally sourced ingredients etc, we will defiantly come back again here when we're in Appledore, since this hotel is perfectly located for the local shops and around 5 minutes walk downhill to the beach, cafes and restaurants. I can't even find a bad thing to say about out entire stay, even the weather was good (for February)!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We returned to Torridge House for a birthday weekend in Appledore. Left the car for free on Friday and and didn't go near it until Sunday evening. We had booked the Bird Room again and had a very peaceful, comfortable night. Breakfast was as before excellent, all freshly cooked with eggs straight from the hens in the garden. We've already booked our next visit. Thank you Penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated and different and all comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews