We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great cottage, great location, great holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sinbad Cottage

Sinbad Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sinbad Cottage
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Sinbad Cottage
Living Room
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
View to the Quay
Courtyard dining
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Walk to the Burrows
Royal North Devon Golf Club
The walk along the Quay
Award winning Deli
Go cycling along the Tarka Trail
Indulge in cream tea at Susies
Go surfing at Westward Ho!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christina...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great cottage, great location, great holiday!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really loved this cottage great space for us and our 2 dogs, kitchen well equipped with central heating, nicely finished throughout and clean and tidy, appledore is a lovely area and a great base to explore! visit instow, westward ho!, the tarka trail, the seagate pub and many more,
Not able to park next to the house as on a very narrow pedestrian only street but big carpark 2mins walk away £16 for 7 days and can pay via mobile. We would defiantly go back.
Also be aware no signal or wifi, had to retreat to the pub to research next days activities! good excuse to go to the pub!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wifi/mobile signal
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great cottage in a lovely part of the world”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit and we were keen to share it with our daughter. The cottage is just what we needed for a short break in Appledore. The weather was really cold so we were very glad of the effective central heating, the constant hot water and the cosy flame effect fire in the evenings. The cottage is well equipped with "good stuff" including crisp white bedding and fluffy towels. It is ideally situated up a quaint little alleyway close to several good pubs and eating places. Parking is a slight challenge but we always managed to find a spot on the nearby front. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being curled up by the fire and having a rare lie in in the comfortable bed.
Liked least: Not having WiFi - but life does go on without it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lee s
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect little cottage in a perfect little village”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Sinbad cottage is a wonderful, modern, clean property that the owners have really finished to the high specifications but still remaining quaint. Can't think of a bad thing to say. From the owners communications to the honest reviews it had exceeded our expectations. There is no broadband or wife which is a blessing in itself, and my mobile coverage was limited at best but this added to our "drop off the planet" experience.
The dog friendly house and village is not exaggerated as all pubs and restaurants encouraged owners and dogs with treats(beer and bonios). A short journey gets you to Instow opposite or there is a very cheap ferry and long sandy beech to exercise the hounds.
Locals are very friendly and will advise on the best places to visit.
Well and truly recommended. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful house
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend at Sinbad Cottage. A lovely little cottage being very well equipped in the heart of Appledore. Spotlessly clean. Our first time in Appledore and we loved it. Nice little pubs and a fab cream tea at Suzie's. Friendly locals. Would recommend Sinbad Cottage and Appledore. Already looking at when we can come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammySal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cute little cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at Sinbad Cottage. It was comfortable, well equipped and clean, with crisp bed linen and fluffy towels. Dogs are welcome, and we took ours, and it was lovely that there was a water bowl and some doggie snacks provided. The enclosed yard is small but totally secure to let the dog out safely. Also there is washing up cloths, liquid, dishwasher tablets and soap all provided, along with tea and coffee which is very helpful when you arrive late and tired! There are plenty of DVDs, games and books provided too.

You can't get your car to the cottage, so you have to carry/wheel luggage from about 30yds away, and the stairs are pretty steep - neither of these comments are complaints in any way, simply information that may be useful for future visitors.

All in all a very pleasant stay in a sweet cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing