We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Christmas Retreat”

Review of Well Cottage

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Woodburner in the living room Well Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Living room
Woodburner in the living room
Well Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen with seating for 4+
Double bedroom with king-size bed
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
The well in the undercroft
White Horse at Westbury
Feeding the deer at Longleat
View north from Cley Hill (NT)
Scuba Diving at Vobster Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
victorHig...
high peak
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirt, black and green mould are all acceptable to the owners of this cottage.”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When is dirt, mould and grime acceptable?
Apparently when its in a 400 year old cottage - according to the owners. Who are still happy to charge almost £100 a night, but not to clean under the sofa behind the beds, or the windows.
Lets be clear; this cottage could be delightful. Its in a lovely Somerset village, has a great log burning stove and is well equipped. There's wifi and a free phone, enough plates, mugs and bowls to feed a small army.
But I, for one, would swop all this for clean floors, a shower head and bath splashback that didn't have black mould growing on them, light fittings without cobwebs, someone elses chocolates under the sofa ( and lots of em ), windows that you could actually see through, and just the general feeling that every time you opened a cupboard you were going to get a nasty surprise.

All of this review is completely true , I have photos to prove it.
Next time I need somewhere to stay in Beckington I'll go to the Travel Lodge just around the corner. It might not be 400 years old but at least it will be clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
It is very important to us that Well Cottage is always cleaned to a very high standard. We immediately offered to rectify the cleanliness issues, but the offer was declined.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah2358
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet Christmas Retreat”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a wonderful three days at Well Cottage over Christmas. The cottage is lovely, very cosy yet spacious rooms, with everything you need provided. We enjoyed the fireplace in particular and did a lot of cooking - the kitchen is great (although proper chopping boards would be useful!). The local farm shop sells great produce and Bath is very close by. The owners had thoughtfully provided a small Christmas tree, which was very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richtea70...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beckington!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our week in Well Cottage, in the picturesque village of Beckington. Really great location for many attractions - Bath, Longleat, Wookey Hole and even the Dorset Coast. Cottage was very well equipped, lovely furnishings - just perfect. There was a gorgeous log burner in the lounge, of which we did not need to use but are tempted to go back in the winter!!
Good value pub down the road - walking distance. The cottage was a great place to relax after exploring the surrounding areas.
Parking very easy too - always right outside the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra P
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage located in a pretty village convenient for Frome and surrounding area. The cottage is extremely well-equipped and very comfortable with bags of character. My only suggestion would be for a lighter weight duvet for the Summer months - it was warm weather and the duvet was very heavy but then we sleep under a 4.5 tog for most of the year so perhaps others would not mind it so much! Beckington has a lovely little cafe/deli called Mes Amis and also has the White Row farm shop on the doorstep, both excellent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macburner
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Period perfection”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful old cottage with super modern faciities. Stone floors and wooden beams but with a good standard modern kitchen and bathroom. We spent two nights here in order to attend a funeral so did not look at local interests but the area appears to offer many oportunities. We were very late booking as we did not have much time to arrange a stay but Carolilne was very helpful and managed to short cut the booking and payment process. I can highly recommend this cottage and if we have to tavel again toi this area we will certainly stay again. ::Neil::

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of the place and experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing