We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant trip, grumpy boat man” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilim Karst Geoforest Park

Kilim Karst Geoforest Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tanjung Rhu Beach and Mangrove Forest Boat Tour in Langkawi...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Kuah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant trip, grumpy boat man”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Got in a small boat and first went to a dock to walk through the bat cave, which was interesting. Then boat to the floating fish farm where you can feed some of the fish. After this went and saw some monkeys one of whom jumped onto our boat, so keep hold of your bags. Watched the Brahimy kites feeding which was lovely but we were moved on too quickly in my opinion. Saw a few rock formations then went to a beach which was a bit dirty. After this we went for lunch, which was included in our trip and was small but pleasant. The boat guy was really grumpy throughout, barking at us what we were seeing and glaring if we asked a question. He did in fact leave us at lunch with no explanation whereby a different boat had to be arranged to take us back.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank gemma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    427
    86
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2015

ride on the open sea...with so many islands / archipelagos... also getting to see the point where Kilim River drains into the Andaman Sea... with the Mangrove forests covering both the coasts of the river... and ride against the river to get the feel of upstream view of river and the forest... also our ancestors... the monkeys welcoming us cant be explained in words.... Kids will love it... and remember it forever to carry it forward as they grow...

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank SarithaKshatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average cheating experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015

Except the bat cave, I felt this visit was not worth it. The bat cave was really good, especially to see how the calcium deposits gets formed, and how the caves look from the inside. But apart from that, the other visits (crocodile cave, fish farming, eagle feeding, open sea, etc.) are not worth it. The trip that I took was for 120 minutes, but they covered it in about 100 minutes and said that the time fixed is max 120 minutes.

Instead of this, you better take the island hopping (RM60 per person if taken on a group basis or RM320 if you charter a boat) trip, where you'll visit the pregnant lady mountain & lake (good for people who are trying to conceive and have not been successful - both of you just drink some water and you might get a child soon), eagle feeding, and also swimming at a private beach. Amazing experience.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank NithyaShrinidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Magnificent Eagles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2015

Kilim Geoforest Park is nice place to see Batcave, Eagle feeding as well Mangrove forest. The most rememberable thing was the Eagle feeding. Those Eagles are magnificent and majestic and the feeding process was very naturally arranged (we did not throw any food for the birds). In our opinion there is no need to buy tickets from vendors in Cenang (or other areas), since those are mainly middle mans. If you use the vendor it is highly likely that there is boat full of people with you. As an alternative you can rent taxi for a day or less and just drive up to Kilim Jetty. In Kilim Jetty you can have a boat trip with fixed fee per person. We saw main things with in an hour tour and we would not recommend longer than 2 hour tour, since you can see the main things within an hour anyways. We were there at 8:30 and we ended up having the whole boat just for the two of us.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lomalaiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“River Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2015

Our group hired a boat to go for a 2 hour cruise, we had a great time. Our guide was helpful with good English but the attractions were great!

We saw the Bat Cave, the Eagle Feeding, cheeky monkeys, and the feed stingray at the Fish Farm.

It was well worth the money. Our friends had done the same trip last year and had no hesitation about doing the same cruise again this time around

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilim Karst Geoforest Park also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Kilim Karst Geoforest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing