We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view. Spacious. Friendly staffs”
Review of Lake Kenyir Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Kenyir Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuala Berang
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I came here in 2010 and was disappointed with the faulty aircond, how dirty and dusty the room was but my recent May trip (for triathlon) change a LITTLE bit of my perspective.
Crowd - i prefer to come during peak season (for triathlon/company family day) as the place can be quite spooky at night. Otherwise, get a room near the main building. If you are lucky enough, you get to see family of wild boars passing nearby the room.
Baggy - the baggy is always helpful to carry you and your stuff around and this is important unless you plan to hike the little hills of the resort. The staffs are very friendly. Ample space to park the cars.
Food - we had lunch at the restaurant facing the swimpool. Average, resort-price. Dinner is always good. Always remember that the nearest town is Kuala Berang and it is about 40km away.
Room and toilet - I always remember how big the room was and the toilet is almost half the size of the room itself. This time, the room was clean, the bedsheet is newly changed, and looked okay. No bath tub, just hot shower with make up table and mirror. But I had a moment when I was alone on the toilet seat, mr. Ratatouille decided to say hi from under the closet space. Had a scary moment for a while. When my husband looked for it, it was gone. Aircond was working fine, no funny sound like last time.
Hotel phone - the hotel phone is not working, cable unattached and useless even when we try to connect it. Phone operators are out of service in most part of the hill. We couldn't really keep in touch with other friends so you better request for rooms near to each other (within walking distance) if you are coming in group.
So far, I'd say the place is average with affordable price.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Ann_Sedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Lake Kenyir Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015

Started off as a charm but as years goes by, this place has lots its charm.
Lack of overall maintenace, and other amenities makes this place as boring as its surroundings.
Safety is especially lacking at the lake area where one can wander off and not return without anyone knowing.
Mosquitoes and bugs are a plenty!

Room Tip: Bring your own bug/insect spray if u REALLY need to stay here
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Baldwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

I stayed here recently for the triathlon. Needed a good night's sleep but instead was kept awake by the sound of a rat squeaking and IN my room. The place is beautiful or rather WAS, and i wish someone would take it over and maintain it properly.

The air-conditioning barely works, and the electricity tripped constantly. Worst of all was the fact that the main lobby where the restaurants were were up a hill which we needed to climb from our room! Calling the buggy/coach meant waiting AGES before anyone showed up. Of course, the lack of cleanliness was the worst part. If I wasn't in such a rush to leave, I'd have made a complaint and demanded my money back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karthini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here which thankfully we located the place by our trusted gps...as road signs are somewhat lacking. Rustic place with individual chalets facing the beautiful serene lake. Rooms are spacious n clean; bathroom is quite huge too but fittings are rather aged. We had simple dinner the first night (decent) n breakfast was mediocre....but thanks to influx of corporate functions we enjoyed the 'buffet breakfast' on 2nd day!! Must haggle with staff for good rates for lake-island tours, which was quite enjoyable. Unfortunately the pool was unusable while we're there otherwise it'd be great to have a dip n look out towards the massive lake.
Unable to find any Chinese eateries at nearby Kuala Berang though...so had to settle for KFC for dinner...!!??

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

The man made lake seems very inviting when we both glance thru the images in internet. A peaceful place to be but boring. Not much sightseeing or place to look and see. We drove out to get some snacks and drink but there wasnt any no provision shop or restaurants. Seriously! The spacious room is a bonus but interior wise not very well maintain. A night stay is more than sufficient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jazsa6272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Kenyir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Kenyir Resort

Address: Pengkalan Gawi | Tasik Kenyir, Kuala Berang 21700, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Hulu Terengganu District > Kuala Berang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuala Berang
Price Range: RM566 - RM1,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Kenyir Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Kenyir Resort, Taman Negara Terengganu is a subsidiary of Glenmarie Properties and a member of DRB-HICOM formerly known as Lake Kenyir Resort & Spa. It was opened in 1996, August 26th and designed to take full advantage of its strategic location beside Lake Kenyir. Lake Kenyir Resort, Taman Negara Terengganu is a four-star resort spreads across 70 acres of land and fronts Malaysia's largest lake and the largest man-made lake in South East Asia spanning over 260, 000 hectares. This private resort, inspired by Terengganu traditional architecture, is enveloped in lush tropical forest and by the beautiful lake which enhances that complete tranquil resort vacation, offering travellers a relaxing and exiting exotic nature's experiences. As a result, the resort was voted and selected as The Best Lake Resort by The Best of Malaysia Travel Awards 2007, Expatriate Lifestyle. ACCOMMODATION Lake Kenyir Resort, Taman Negara Terengganu hosts 136 wooden villas and designed to blend within its natural surroundings. The villas are categorised as Garden View Villas or Lake View Villas and our spectacular Honeymoon Villa that is designed to capture that special romantic moment in time with your new partner. FUN AND ADVENTURES ACTIVITIES Lake Kenyir has many trips & tours, in-door and outdoor activities to enjoy from the islands and the exciting highlights surrounding the lake partake in fishing, trekking, caving, night safari, teambuilding, photography and all that nature provides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Kenyir Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Kenyir Hotel Kuala Berang
Lake Kenyir Resort And Spa
Lake Kenyir Resort Terengganu, Malaysia - Kuala Berang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing